TheManaDrain.com
September 21, 2025, 03:00:25 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Dredge  (Read 1699 times)
Ben Kossman
Basic User
**
Posts: 201



View Profile
« on: January 05, 2006, 01:12:50 pm »

Do the cards from Dredge go into the graveyard in the order they were in at the time they are milled or does the player
get to view all the cards being dredged at once and decide the order in which their placed in the graveyard? I'm asking
because I'm working on a Dredge/Ashen Ghoul/Nether Shadow deck and I remembered someone mentioning something
about getting to choose the order in which cards go to the graveyard via mill effects. Thanks.
Logged

"To truly be safe, we must kill everyone."
George Jacques Danton; Committee of Public Safety
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2006, 01:35:02 pm »

When multiple cards go to the graveyard from another zone simultaneously, those cards' owner gets to choose the order. It works the same for dredge, Buried Alive, Hymn to Tourach, and Wrath of God.
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
Kasuras
The Observer
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 323



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2006, 02:00:20 pm »

When multiple cards go to the graveyard from another zone simultaneously, those cards' owner gets to choose the order. It works the same for dredge, Buried Alive, Hymn to Tourach, and Wrath of God.

What other zones does this apply to? Since it apperantly doesn't work for cards going to the hand.
Logged

Ye weep, unhappy ones; but these are not your last tears!
-Frankenstein, -Mary Shelley.

Lasciate ogne speranza, voi ch'intrate.
-The Divine Comedy, -Dante Alighieri
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2006, 05:07:39 pm »

What do you mean? You can rearrange the order of cards in your hand however you choose. People do this all the time and seem to constantly find new and more annoying ways to do it!
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
Godder
Remington Steele
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 3264


"Steele here"

walfootrot@hotmail.com
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2006, 05:17:36 pm »

Quote from: Kasuras
What other zones does this apply to? Since it apparently doesn't work for cards going to the hand.

Unlike other multiple effects, drawing multiple cards is resolved one card at a time e.g. Ancestral Recall is resolved as "Draw a card. Draw a card. Draw a card." If something like Future Sight is revealing the top card of a library, all the cards drawn will be revealed as you go, but otherwise it's unlikely to really affect much.

It applies to the RFG zone e.g. cards like Ashes to Ashes, Dust to Dust or Final Judgement remove multiple cards simultaneously. In that case, the order in which they are placed in the RFG zone is at the player's discretion.
Logged

Quote from: Remington Steele
That's what I like about you, Laura - you're always willing to put my neck on the line.
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2006, 07:35:21 pm »

When multiple cards go to the graveyard from another zone simultaneously, those cards' owner gets to choose the order. It works the same for dredge, Buried Alive, Hymn to Tourach, and Wrath of God.
What other zones does this apply to? Since it apperantly doesn't work for cards going to the hand.
When multiple cards are returned to your hand from play or from the graveyard, this applies. Like Godder said, you only draw cards from your library one at a time, so this never has a chance to apply there.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
Mind_under_Matter
Basic User
**
Posts: 69

trojanoline63
View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2006, 07:45:20 pm »

It does affect cards going to the hand when the effect reads "put" such as on FOF.
Logged

So in conclusion, creatures are bad. Play blue cards instead.
-Dr. Sylvan
habragg
Basic User
**
Posts: 19


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2006, 03:40:52 pm »

What about Bazaar and dredge?

If I activate Bazaar with 2 Darkblasts in the graveyard, can I dredge up the first and then decide if I want to dredge the second?
Logged
Khahan
Basic User
**
Posts: 454


View Profile Email
« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2006, 04:01:51 pm »

What about Bazaar and dredge?

If I activate Bazaar with 2 Darkblasts in the graveyard, can I dredge up the first and then decide if I want to dredge the second?

Yes you may do this. Bazaar allows you to draw 2 cards. The games sees this as 'draw 1 card, draw 1 card.'

So, you draw the first card, but instead dredge the darkblast.  You now get to draw the second card, but instead dredge the darkblast. Keep in mind, you'll still have to discard 3 cards.

Logged

Team - One Man Show.   yes, the name is ironic.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.031 seconds with 20 queries.