TheManaDrain.com
September 12, 2025, 01:14:39 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: At the beginning of your upkeep...  (Read 1257 times)
Nantuko Rice
Basic User
**
Posts: 206



View Profile
« on: January 12, 2006, 12:39:20 pm »

Happened during a extended playtesting with buddies:

I have "Ichorid A" in my graveyard and a Pyschatog.

At the beginning of my upkeep...
(1) I put "Ichorid A" on the stack
(2) I also discard "Ichorid B" during the beginning of my upkeep
(3) Is it still considered at the beginning of my upkeep so I can put "Ichorid B" on the stack too?

I told him it was too late, and he should've discard "Ichorid B" sooner. But he wanted to do it this turn to give tog +1/+1 of course. Thanks.
Logged
49 Cents
Basic User
**
Posts: 591


Von Dutch


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2006, 12:58:01 pm »

That isn't possible. Beginning of upkeep ins't a phase, it's a trigger. So the triggers have already occurred, so you're right.
Logged

Team TDC: The man with a new idea is a fool. Unless the idea turns out to be a succes.

www.BeNeLegacy.nl - For all your Legacy
Dante
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1415


Netdecking better than you since newsgroup days

wdicks23
View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2006, 01:36:17 pm »

That isn't possible. Beginning of upkeep ins't a phase, it's a trigger. So the triggers have already occurred, so you're right.

Just to clarify further on what 49 cents said, here's the relevant rules sections:

Quote
303. Upkeep Step

303.1. As the upkeep step begins, any abilities that trigger at the beginning of that upkeep step and any abilities that triggered during the turn’s untap step go on the stack. (See rule 410, “Handling Triggered Abilities.�) Then the active player gets priority and players may play spells and abilities.

Quote
410.2. Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered ability’s trigger event, that ability triggers. When a phase or step begins, all abilities that trigger “at the beginning of� that phase or step trigger. The ability doesn’t do anything when it triggers but automatically puts the ability on the stack as soon as a player would receive priority. The ability is controlled by the player who controlled its source at the time it triggered. It has the text of the ability that created it, and no other characteristics.

So by the time either player has priority (i.e. to discard using Tog), the "beginning of upkeep" triggered abilities are already on the stack (meaning more can't go on because "beginning of upkeep" has passed).
Logged

Team Laptop

I hate people.  Yes, that includes you.
I'm bringing sexy back
Nantuko Rice
Basic User
**
Posts: 206



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2006, 11:48:20 am »

can spells or abilities be used during the untap step?

for instance, can a player discard ichorid to tog (to give it +1/+1) during the untap step and then bring back the discarded ichorid at the beginning of the upkeep?
Logged
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2006, 11:59:47 am »

No. No player has priority until the upkeep step, AFTER all "At the beginning of your/each player's upkeep" triggered abilities are on the stack (in APNAP order). Only then does the active player get priority, and he or she needs that to play abilities such as Psychatog's.
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.286 seconds with 19 queries.