TheManaDrain.com
October 12, 2025, 06:09:33 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Question on Plague Sliver  (Read 1178 times)
undertaker229
Basic User
**
Posts: 9


View Profile Email
« on: September 27, 2006, 06:44:11 am »

Question: The "juzam" Sliver reads:

Cost:  2BB
Card Type: Creature - Sliver
P/T: 5/5
Rules Text (Oracle): All Slivers have "At the beginning of your upkeep, this creature deals 1 damage to you."

Does this means if my opponent plays an sliver, would an 1 extra damage be dealt to him or to me? (making it worse than Juzam)

Thanks

Logged
Harlequin
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1860


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2006, 07:17:48 am »

Because the ability is given to the other slivers, each sliver will deal 1 damage to his or her controller.

So I control say 2 Muscle Slivers, and you control 1 Juzam Sliver I would effective have:

4/4 - "this creature deals 1 damage to (me) durring (my) upkeep"
4/4 - "this creature deals 1 damage to (me) durring (my) upkeep"

And you would have:

7/7 - "this creature deals 1 damage to you durring your upkeep"

So durring my upkeep I would be delt 2 total damage, and durring your upkeep you would be delt 1 damage.


If I controlled all 3 slivers, then I would take 3 damage.  This is why the card is actually better in Non-Sliver decks.  With 2 of these Juzam Slivers out you have:

5/5 - "this creature deals 1 damage to you durring your upkeep" and "this creature deals 1 damage to you durring your upkeep"

5/5 - "this creature deals 1 damage to you durring your upkeep" and "this creature deals 1 damage to you durring your upkeep"

Meaning you take a total of 4 damage (not 2).  Because each sliver gives the other sliver its ability.
Logged

Member of Team ~ R&D ~
undertaker229
Basic User
**
Posts: 9


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2006, 07:42:53 pm »

Thanks!

Nevertheless, it can work well as a non expensive juzam... but i would change the text for

All Slivers have "At the beginning of your upkeep, this creature deals 1 damage to its controller."
Logged
Apollyon
Basic User
**
Posts: 395


/lurk

52734318 i52734318
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2006, 08:33:09 pm »

"You" always refers to the controller of the spell/permanent.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.028 seconds with 18 queries.