TheManaDrain.com
November 12, 2025, 04:02:22 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: LED and Corpse Dance  (Read 1273 times)
The Cisco Kid
Basic User
**
Posts: 41


View Profile
« on: October 21, 2006, 05:52:02 pm »

Can I play a reanimation spell like Corpse Dance with no target in my graveyard and respond by saccing a Lion's Eye Diamond, which would then put a creature in the yard? I know it's probably a dumb question and doesn't work, but I don't trust myself to know for sure. Thanks.

Lion's Eye Diamond
0
Artifact
Sacrifice Lion's Eye Diamond, Discard your hand: Add three mana of any one color to your mana pool. Play this ability only any time you could play an instant.

Corpse Dance
2B
Instant
Buyback 2 (You may pay an additional 2 as you play this spell. If you do, put this card into your hand as it resolves.) Return the top creature card from your graveyard to play. That creature gains haste. Remove the creature from the game at end of turn.


Such questions belong in the Rules forum. Additionally, please include Oracle wordings of cards for rules questions.
-Godder
« Last Edit: October 21, 2006, 05:57:10 pm by Godder » Logged

Only the heroic and the mad follow mountain goat trails...
Godder
Remington Steele
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 3264


"Steele here"

walfootrot@hotmail.com
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2006, 06:07:56 pm »

If the reanimation spell/ability doesn't target, then it's a legal play. If it does target, then a legal target must be named on announcement of the spell/ability, and if there is no legal target available, you can't play the spell/ability.

For example, Reanimate targets the creature card you intend to return to play, so requires a legal target to be available, or you can't play Reanimate. Corpse Dance doesn't say anything about targetting, so it can be played, even with an empty graveyard, because you determine the creature card to put into play on resolution of the spell, not while playing it. Discarding your hand to LED with Corpse Dance on the stack will then give you a creature (presumably) to put into play. This trick also works with Shallow Grave & Goryo's Vengeance, and cards like Necromancy (the erratum issued to this card makes the reanimation effect a triggered ability that triggers when the card comes into play, not while it's on the stack as a spell).
Logged

Quote from: Remington Steele
That's what I like about you, Laura - you're always willing to put my neck on the line.
forests failed you
De Stijl
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2018


Venerable Saint

forcefieldyou
View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2006, 12:52:31 pm »

I believe you could also use Animate Dead to do this, as Animate Dead now has a triggered ability to target when it comes into play.
Logged

Grand Prix Boston 2012 Champion
Follow me on Twitter: @BrianDeMars1
parallax
Basic User
**
Posts: 318


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2006, 01:02:50 pm »

Yes. This trick works with both Corpse Dance and Animate Dead/ Dance of the Dead/ Necromancy. None of these cards target while they are on the stack. Corpse Dance will return the top creature card of your graveyard when it resolves.

Note that LED mana cannot be used to pay for Corpse Dance or any of the enchantments.
Logged

How about choosing a non-legend creature? Otherwise he is a UG instant Wrath of Frog.
forests failed you
De Stijl
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2018


Venerable Saint

forcefieldyou
View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2006, 02:19:37 pm »

If Exhume says "each player chooses" that would be another possible card for that style of deck.
Logged

Grand Prix Boston 2012 Champion
Follow me on Twitter: @BrianDeMars1
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.033 seconds with 19 queries.