|
Lybydose
|
 |
« on: November 10, 2006, 11:51:19 am » |
|
How exactly does this work when it comes to abilities that trigger off playing a spell?
For example:
Erayo's Essence Legendary Enchantment Whenever an opponent plays a spell for the first time in a turn, counter that spell.
Wipe Away Split second (As long as this spell is on the stack, players can't play spells or activated abilities that aren't mana abilities.) Return target permanent to its owner's hand.
Tidespout Tyrant Whenever you play a spell, return target permanent to its owner's hand.
Say I have an Erayo's Essence in play, and my opponent plays Wipe Away as his first spell for the turn. Does the essence triggerand counter the Wipe Away? Does the Wipe Away resolve, then the essence attempt to trigger with no legal target?
Say instead I have Tidespout Tyrant in play and I'm the one that plays the Wipe Away. Does Tidespout's trigger activate? If so, when does it resolve in relation to the Wipe Away?
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
parallax
|
 |
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2006, 12:32:01 pm » |
|
Split second has no effect on triggered abilities.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
How about choosing a non-legend creature? Otherwise he is a UG instant Wrath of Frog.
|
|
|
|
Lybydose
|
 |
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2006, 05:30:11 pm » |
|
Split second has no effect on triggered abilities.
It has no effect and they trigger and resolve normally, or it has no effect on triggered abilities, so they don't trigger?
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
Godder
|
 |
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2006, 07:02:01 pm » |
|
They trigger and go on the stack normally.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
That's what I like about you, Laura - you're always willing to put my neck on the line.
|
|
|
Fubar
Basic User
 
Posts: 168
Sanatorium Rector
|
 |
« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2006, 09:56:35 pm » |
|
I had a judge rule that split second only works when the 'counter' comes from a "conterspell" or ability, but never a trigger; which would prob. be like the flipped Erayo.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
The Shaming of the True
|
|
|
|
Khahan
|
 |
« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2006, 10:48:34 pm » |
|
I had a judge rule that split second only works when the 'counter' comes from a "conterspell" or ability, but never a trigger; which would prob. be like the flipped Erayo.
"judge rules" only pertain to that particular event. Split second is pretty clear: As long as this spell is on the stack, players can't play spells or activated abilities that aren't mana abilities There are 2 things players cannot do while a spell with split second is on the stack: 1. Play a spell. Any spell. You cannot do it. 2. Activate non-mana activated abilities. The card text rules of split second say nothing at all about the effect of static abilities, special actions (such as turning a face down creature face-up), or triggered abilities.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Team - One Man Show. yes, the name is ironic.
|
|
|
Fubar
Basic User
 
Posts: 168
Sanatorium Rector
|
 |
« Reply #6 on: November 11, 2006, 07:50:23 pm » |
|
This might seem noob, but am I correct in thinking when your opponent playes a split second card (ie. trickbind) and that spell is on the stack, I can still respond with activations, counters, instants etc. because the trickbind has not fully resolved?
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
The Shaming of the True
|
|
|
|
parallax
|
 |
« Reply #7 on: November 11, 2006, 08:01:36 pm » |
|
No. The whole point of split second is that you cannot play spells or activated abilities while the spell is on the stack. That's what "As long as this spell is on the stack, players can't play spells or activated abilities that aren't mana abilities." means.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
How about choosing a non-legend creature? Otherwise he is a UG instant Wrath of Frog.
|
|
|
Komatteru
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 783
Joseiteki
|
 |
« Reply #8 on: November 12, 2006, 01:02:46 am » |
|
This might seem noob, but am I correct in thinking when your opponent playes a split second card (ie. trickbind) and that spell is on the stack, I can still respond with activations, counters, instants etc. because the trickbind has not fully resolved?
You can't play any spells or abilities during the middle of the resolution of a spell regardless of...anything.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
Khahan
|
 |
« Reply #9 on: November 12, 2006, 07:19:58 am » |
|
This might seem noob, but am I correct in thinking when your opponent playes a split second card (ie. trickbind) and that spell is on the stack, I can still respond with activations, counters, instants etc. because the trickbind has not fully resolved?
You can't play any spells or abilities during the middle of the resolution of a spell regardless of...anything. You can play mana abilities and take special actions such as flipping over a face down creature. You just can't play spells and you can't use activated abilities (unless they are mana abilities).
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Team - One Man Show. yes, the name is ironic.
|
|
|
|
Toad
|
 |
« Reply #10 on: November 12, 2006, 01:22:21 pm » |
|
You can't play any spells or abilities during the middle of the resolution of a spell regardless of...anything. Word of Command 
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
jro
|
 |
« Reply #11 on: November 12, 2006, 04:03:24 pm » |
|
You can't play any spells or abilities during the middle of the resolution of a spell regardless of...anything. Word of Command  And Panglacial Wurm. And you can play mana abilities during the resolution of a spell or ability if that spell or ability asks for a mana payment.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
EnialisLiadon
Basic User
 
Posts: 379
I like cake.
|
 |
« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2006, 07:27:16 pm » |
|
We had a similar thing come up in a multiplayer game at our local shop. I was playing wizard tribal against u/b random cards.dec. I cracked a fetch, he trickbinded (or Trickbound?). I then flipped Willbender to redirect Trickbind to Willbender's own triggered ability. There was some arguing, but we arrived at the conclusion that flipping morphed creatures doesn't use the stack and split second has nothing on triggered abilities. (though if anything about that is wrong, please correct me)
The obvious moral to this story is that Willbender is the answer to both Wipe Away and Trickbind in t1.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|