TheManaDrain.com
September 28, 2025, 01:14:42 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: New interesting utility creature!  (Read 6138 times)
Guli
Basic User
**
Posts: 1763


View Profile
« on: April 07, 2007, 05:50:17 am »

I catched this on the rumor section of mtg.

Yixlid Jailer

 {1} {B}

Creature - Zombie Wizard
Cards in Graveyards lose all abilities.
2/1
Uncommon

Seems like our friend Wretch will find himself some competetion.

Only 1 thoughnes but hoses dredge (darkblast),flashback (lava dart), ichorid (omg this deck is really having a hard time after extirpate now this?)
Is easier to cast can be splashed. These are some quick remarks. Anybody know if it also hoses static effects like Wonder?

Post what you think!  Smile
Logged

Khahan
Basic User
**
Posts: 454


View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2007, 06:47:34 am »

I catched this on the rumor section of mtg.

Yixlid Jailer

 {1} {B}

Creature - Zombie Wizard
Cards in Graveyards lose all abilities.
2/1
Uncommon

Seems like our friend Wretch will find himself some competetion.

Only 1 thoughnes but hoses dredge (darkblast),flashback (lava dart), ichorid (omg this deck is really having a hard time after extirpate now this?)
Is easier to cast can be splashed. These are some quick remarks. Anybody know if it also hoses static effects like Wonder?

Post what you think!  Smile

If thats the proper wording, then yes, it hoses wonder and its ilk.  Competition for wretch? I dont think so.  I think wretch is the 1 creature I hate seeing most.  The jailer hoses 1 deck. Wretch stops any deck that uses the graveyard.
Logged

Team - One Man Show.   yes, the name is ironic.
diopter
I voted for Smmenen!
Basic User
**
Posts: 1049


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2007, 10:02:43 am »

Hoses Recoup, too.
Logged
Glix
Basic User
**
Posts: 113


lordglix@hotmail.com glixhasyou
View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2007, 10:09:29 am »

Um... Why hasn't anyone mentioned it hosed f'in ban Yawgmoth's Will?

Regardless, it will likely see limited play.  2/1 creatures for 1B aren't terribly hard to get rid of, and things like lelyine, grunt, and wretch are usually better.  It does devestate Ichorid, though, so if you have a lot in your meta, consider it.
Logged

Glix has you...
Vegeta2711
Bouken Desho Desho?
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1734


Nyah!

Silky172
View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2007, 01:45:50 pm »

Probably because the way it's worded it won't hose Yawg's will.
Logged

Team Reflection

www.vegeta2711.deviantart.com - My art stuff!
BreathWeapon
Basic User
**
Posts: 1554


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2007, 04:41:15 pm »

Jotun Grunt is too little too late against Ichorid, if this creature stops Ichorid as soon as it resolves, then it deserves some serious consideration in its SB (it's 2/1, so it can replace Pithing Needle, Tormod's Crypt, Leyline of the Void or Planar Void and still be sided in against other Fish decks).

I'll take 4
Logged
brianpk80
2015 Vintage World Champion
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1333



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2007, 05:58:54 pm »

Yixlid Jailer

 {1} {B}

Creature - Zombie Wizard
Cards in Graveyards lose all abilities.
2/1
Uncommon

The way it's worded in the spoiled version is very ambiguous.  I'm surprised they'd print an uncommon that opens up so many rules quagmires.  What happens if Volrath's Shapeshifter copies a creature in the graveyard?  It becomes a vanilla X/X with "no abilities"?  Or do the abilities survive because the Shapeshifter itself is not in the graveyard?  Gaea's Blessing?  Animate Dead? 

It would be hard to expect casual players to understand that this card [self-evidently] doesn't affect Yawgmoth's Will but does affect dredging Life from the Loam.  I'll wait to see how it's worded in its final form before making any judgments on it.

-BPK
Logged

"It seems like a normal Monk deck with all the normal Monk cards.  And then the clouds divide...  something is revealed in the skies."
freakish777
Basic User
**
Posts: 513



View Profile Email
« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2007, 09:36:43 pm »

Yixlid Jailer

 {1} {B}

Creature - Zombie Wizard
Cards in Graveyards lose all abilities.
2/1
Uncommon

The way it's worded in the spoiled version is very ambiguous.  I'm surprised they'd print an uncommon that opens up so many rules quagmires.  What happens if Volrath's Shapeshifter copies a creature in the graveyard?  It becomes a vanilla X/X with "no abilities"?  Or do the abilities survive because the Shapeshifter itself is not in the graveyard?  Gaea's Blessing?  Animate Dead? 

It would be hard to expect casual players to understand that this card [self-evidently] doesn't affect Yawgmoth's Will but does affect dredging Life from the Loam.  I'll wait to see how it's worded in its final form before making any judgments on it.

-BPK

I see no problem with the way it's worded.  Creatures in graveyards don't have abilities (ie, a creature doesn't have flying in any other zone other than in play, you can't have something like "Return target creature card with flying from your graveyard to your hand" that's nonsense).  Cards do.

Shapeshifter becomes a copy of the card (ie, as though it were in play). 

Essentially this card hoses the following:

Flashback
Dredge
Returns to some other zone (Hammer of Bogardan, Ichorid, Blood Speaker, etc)
Cards with "Goes to graveyard abilities" (Gaea's Blessing, Academy Rector, Gamekeeper, Rancor, etc, cards can only be in one zone at a time, these cards have a triggered ability when it is in the graveyard and specifically came from a different zone, these triggered ability now no longer exist)
Incarnations (Anger, Wonder, etc)
Haunt (see above)
etc
Logged

brianpk80
2015 Vintage World Champion
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1333



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: April 07, 2007, 10:15:22 pm »

Freakish,

The issue really isn't whether or not you and I or the rest of The Mana Drain can figure out what the card does.  Most of us here get what the card is trying to accomplish.  The issue I see is that the text provided will be confusing for new and intermediate players, as well as some experts who will need to know its interaction with several cards that lend themselves to mulitple reasonable interpretations, like the Volrath's Shapeshifter example I listed above.  This is especially bizarre for a card printed in the uncommon slot.  Given the card's text we're seeing may either be false or the product of a rough translation, I wouldn't be surprised to see it become more user friendly.

-BPK
Logged

"It seems like a normal Monk deck with all the normal Monk cards.  And then the clouds divide...  something is revealed in the skies."
BreathWeapon
Basic User
**
Posts: 1554


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: April 07, 2007, 10:45:55 pm »

It has the same translation in Russian; there's nothing confusing about the card, if people can't reference an online Q&A about something this obvious, I'd suggest Yu-Gi-Oh.

I fear having to explain Worldgorger Dragon a lot more than this card.
Logged
Khahan
Basic User
**
Posts: 454


View Profile Email
« Reply #10 on: April 07, 2007, 11:02:36 pm »



Cards with "Goes to graveyard abilities" (Gaea's Blessing, Academy Rector, Gamekeeper, Rancor, etc, cards can only be in one zone at a time, these cards have a triggered ability when it is in the graveyard and specifically came from a different zone, these triggered ability now no longer exist)

I don't believe this is correct. The card (say for example su chi   when this goes to the graveyard add 4 to your mana pool) has the ability while its in play and the trigger event is the zone change to the graveyard. It does not have the ability while its in the graveyard.   So the new 2/1, with the wording posted, would NOT hose 'goes to the graveyard' zone change triggers.

Remember, all static abilities only work in the 'in play' zone by default. They work/exist in another zone only if the text states they do.
Logged

Team - One Man Show.   yes, the name is ironic.
brianpk80
2015 Vintage World Champion
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1333



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: April 07, 2007, 11:05:49 pm »

It has the same translation in Russian; there's nothing confusing about the card, if people can't reference an online Q&A about something this obvious, I'd suggest Yu-Gi-Oh.

Again, it's not a question of whether you and I understand this card.  Most of us here probably do.  To imagine that it wouldn't confuse less hardcore players however is unrealistic.  Casual players aren't interested in looking for online Q&A's in the middle of their weekly or bi-weekly game or two of Magic.  That's doesn't mean they are lazy, stupid, or better suited for Yu-Gi-Oh.  

-BPK

Logged

"It seems like a normal Monk deck with all the normal Monk cards.  And then the clouds divide...  something is revealed in the skies."
freakish777
Basic User
**
Posts: 513



View Profile Email
« Reply #12 on: April 08, 2007, 12:43:35 am »

...

you're making this harder than it is.  Explaining it to newer players is simple.  Cards can have Static Abilities, Activated Abilities, or Triggered Abilities.  If a card in the graveyard has one of these, it loses it.

Static -> Riftstone Portal
Triggered -> Ichorid
Activated -> Shard Phoenix

Just compare these cards to cards that have Static, Triggered and Activated Abilities that aren't in graveyards (Sinew Sliver, Ninja of the Deep Hours, Prodigal Sorcerer respectively, which conveniantly are all creatures so you can compare to Humble for older players).

Seriously what's hard to understand/explain about it?

Lastly, it's not like the Future Sight FAQ isn't going to address this card in detail.  Wizards will do their job of making sure things are "clean."



Cards with "Goes to graveyard abilities" (Gaea's Blessing, Academy Rector, Gamekeeper, Rancor, etc, cards can only be in one zone at a time, these cards have a triggered ability when it is in the graveyard and specifically came from a different zone, these triggered ability now no longer exist)

I don't believe this is correct. The card (say for example su chi   when this goes to the graveyard add 4 to your mana pool) has the ability while its in play and the trigger event is the zone change to the graveyard. It does not have the ability while its in the graveyard.   So the new 2/1, with the wording posted, would NOT hose 'goes to the graveyard' zone change triggers.

Remember, all static abilities only work in the 'in play' zone by default. They work/exist in another zone only if the text states they do.
 

I'm not sure what you're getting at with the Static Abilities thing, this isn't part of the "Goes to Graveyard" part right?  Seeing as how those are triggered abilities.

You're likely right on the zone-change triggers. 

Logged

Methuselahn
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1051


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: April 08, 2007, 12:49:50 am »

This card looks like it was meant to be in the block that follows the block with dredge in it.

For vintage, if the card would indeed stop dredge, Ichorid is in more trouble.
Logged
policehq
I voted for Smmenen!
Basic User
**
Posts: 820

p0licehq
View Profile WWW
« Reply #14 on: April 08, 2007, 02:29:32 am »

At first I read it and was really scared, but then I realized it doesn't really have a spot in most decks. Players would just put it in the sideboard of U/B/W fish, right?

I mean, yeah, it sucks to be a bye in that match-up in addition to Leyline decks, but I think that if it gets bad, it'll just be a point for Ichorid to work more on the transitional sideboard or play mana with answers.

-hq
Logged
BreathWeapon
Basic User
**
Posts: 1554


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: April 08, 2007, 11:30:50 am »

At first I read it and was really scared, but then I realized it doesn't really have a spot in most decks. Players would just put it in the sideboard of U/B/W fish, right?

I mean, yeah, it sucks to be a bye in that match-up in addition to Leyline decks, but I think that if it gets bad, it'll just be a point for Ichorid to work more on the transitional sideboard or play mana with answers.

-hq

SB Massacre with MD B/U or B/G manabase, retaining Serum Powder and discarding the Dread Returns, Sutured Ghoul, Dragon's Breath combo and Nether Shadow, Shambling Shell creatures for disruption and Ashen Ghoul is one possible approach. Regaining 7 cards in the SB and 14 cards in the MD should allow the deck to slow down and address the opponent, a turn 3 clock just can't out race Pithing Needle, Tormod's Crypt, Extirpate, Leyline of the Void, Planar Void, Yixlid Jailer and all of the other cards this deck has to face.

Old Ichorid killed on turn 4-5, that's not that far behind current Ichorid.

On the bright side, Ichorid gets a new 0 cost black card in Future Sight.
Logged
brianpk80
2015 Vintage World Champion
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1333



View Profile
« Reply #16 on: April 08, 2007, 04:10:59 pm »

Not much to add, but I'll reiterate what I said one more time to clear up ambiguity.

1. I am not personally confused by this card and would not expect many TMDers to find it confusing.
2. I do believe it lends itself to some confusing interactions with other graveyard oriented cards.
3. For casual players, the distinction between why this affects Loam but not Regrowth isn't necessarily self-evident.
4. A card with potential for confusion like this in the uncommon slot struck me as unusual, though not impossible.
5. Therefore, I questioned the veracity of the spoiler.

I wouldn't be surprised if it were entirely accurate, but a few of these considerations made me reluctant to accept it 100% initially. 

-BPK
Logged

"It seems like a normal Monk deck with all the normal Monk cards.  And then the clouds divide...  something is revealed in the skies."
ErkBek
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 974

A strong play.

Erk+Bek
View Profile Email
« Reply #17 on: April 08, 2007, 04:24:28 pm »

This card is really solid. I think it could find a home in a new URBana fish build.
Logged

Team GWS
freakish777
Basic User
**
Posts: 513



View Profile Email
« Reply #18 on: April 08, 2007, 11:17:24 pm »

3. For casual players, the distinction between why this affects Loam but not Regrowth isn't necessarily self-evident.

Not confusing in the slightest...  Regrowth is not in your graveyard (it's on the stack while it's resolving), LftL is...

Quote
4. A card with potential for confusion like this in the uncommon slot struck me as unusual, though not impossible.

It's an expert level set... expect a few stray confusing things at uncommon.  I mean this really doesn't affect Limited that much other than to shut off Flashback cards, which is very simple to understand for new players that are just going to have some fun drafting.  If you're a newer player and going to have some fun in Constructed, you should still have a good grasp on the rules before going to tournaments.
Logged

brianpk80
2015 Vintage World Champion
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1333



View Profile
« Reply #19 on: April 09, 2007, 04:57:44 am »

3. For casual players, the distinction between why this affects Loam but not Regrowth isn't necessarily self-evident.
Not confusing in the slightest...  Regrowth is not in your graveyard (it's on the stack while it's resolving), LftL is...

The essence was that the target card is in the graveyard.  I should have chosen Yawgmoth's Will because it's a better example. 

Quote
Quote
4. A card with potential for confusion like this in the uncommon slot struck me as unusual, though not impossible.
It's an expert level set... expect a few stray confusing things at uncommon.  I mean this really doesn't affect Limited that much other than to shut off Flashback cards, which is very simple to understand for new players that are just going to have some fun drafting.  If you're a newer player and going to have some fun in Constructed, you should still have a good grasp on the rules before going to tournaments.

Fair enough.  The card isn't entirely unbelievable, but the factors I listed above were those that led me to approach it with hesitation.   

-BPK
Logged

"It seems like a normal Monk deck with all the normal Monk cards.  And then the clouds divide...  something is revealed in the skies."
Khahan
Basic User
**
Posts: 454


View Profile Email
« Reply #20 on: April 09, 2007, 07:23:43 am »

Aside from being easier to cast than many other gy hosers, I just don't see how this is better than:

1. Withered wretch: Both cost 2, but this isn't double black. However, if wretch is removed, the cards it nailed are still rfg'd. If this is removed (echoing truth, trike, chain of vapor) the cards are still in the gy.

2. Tormod's crypt: Its a 2/1 beater but crypt is free. And there is the same problem as wretch. When this is gone, so are its effects

3. Leyline of the void: If its in your opening hand, void is obviously better. If you draw it, this is easier to cast and is a 2/1 beater. But once its removed, well...I think I covered that.




At best its the 4th best graveyard hate.  But then consider that this does not hose dragon. It does nothing against welder. It does not stop storm combo or even slow it down.  The cards listed above affect all those decks plus any deck this may affect.  If I'm choosing a hoser for  a tournament, I'm choosing the one that efficiently hits the most archetypes. Again, this falls short.
Logged

Team - One Man Show.   yes, the name is ironic.
Harlequin
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1860


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: April 09, 2007, 07:30:22 am »

I highly doubt that this card will see competative vintage.  It doesn't stop:
- Welder
- Salvager
- Gaea's Blessing
- and ofcourse Yawgmoth's will.

Even if you combined it with Ground Seal ... you still have a huge gaping whole over Yawg.  So even if you were running Ground Seal + Jailor, then you would still need to run something like Extract to get will.  Now were looking a 3 card combo (all off color) to accomplish the same objective that could be obtained by ... tormod's crypt or planar void?

I will give it the "It's got feet" arguement.  Any hoser with feet is always worth considering, because it can serve the purpose of win condition -and- hoser.  In a 3 color deck, this might be better than wretch ... but why not just run planarvoid?
Logged

Member of Team ~ R&D ~
BreathWeapon
Basic User
**
Posts: 1554


View Profile
« Reply #22 on: April 09, 2007, 09:32:54 am »

Withered Wretch is BB, Yixlid Jailer is 1B, the difference between 1B and BB in U/w/b is tremendous. Tormod's Crypt is an artifact with an activation cost, Yixlid Jailer is a creature with a static ability, one doesn't work under a Null Rod, the other does work under a Null Rod. The card isn't in the SB to stop Yawgmoth's Will, altho' it can stop Recoup, it's in the SB to stop Ichorid, and instead of using 4 slots on Leyline of the Void, Planar Void or Tormod's Crypt, you can can use 4 slots on Yixlid Jailer and still have a SB card that can be brought in for the Fish mirror.

The best comparison is Yixlid Jailer vs Planar Void, and Fish can't afford to SB in either against Control, Dragon can win thru' a Planar Void and that leaves Combo, which doesn't care if Fish keeps it off Yawgmoth's Will.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2007, 09:37:08 am by BreathWeapon » Logged
Greistal
Basic User
**
Posts: 18



View Profile WWW
« Reply #23 on: April 11, 2007, 04:18:34 pm »

I highly doubt that this card will see competative vintage.  It doesn't stop:
- Welder
- Salvager
- Gaea's Blessing
- and ofcourse Yawgmoth's will.

It does stop Gaea's Blessing, according to Laurie Cheers:

Quote
But there are some more interesting cases. So, for those that enjoy these little puzzles, let's go exploring. Yixlid Jailer is in play. A spell returns Golgari Brownscale from your graveyard to your hand. Do you gain 2 life?

Click here to see the answer when you're ready.

No, you don't. If a card is moving from a zone that's visible to everyone (e.g. in play or in a graveyard) into one that's hidden (e.g. a library or hand), we check for triggered abilities while it's visible. At that point, Golgari Brownscale has no abilities and can't trigger

Yixlid Jailer is in play, and a spell puts the top card of your library into your graveyard. It turns out to be Gaea's Blessing. Do you shuffle your graveyard into your library?

Click here to see the answer when you're ready.

No, you don't, for the same reason: If a card moves from a hidden zone into a visible one, again we check for triggered abilities while the card is visible. Gaea's Blessing can only trigger while it's in the graveyard - but it doesn't have the ability there. Guerrilla Tactics also gets shut down this way.

For the same reason, it does stop Krosan Tusker's cycling trigger.

Greistal
Logged

The focus of white magic is on Healing, Protection and the Chivalrous arts of war
lordmayhem
Basic User
**
Posts: 153


Wrath of the Emperor

mark_mintoff@hotmail.com
View Profile Email
« Reply #24 on: April 12, 2007, 05:20:23 pm »

@brianpk:



Believe it.  Razz
Logged
xycsoscyx
Basic User
**
Posts: 112


Death is only the beginning...

10886322 xycsoscyx@hotmail.com xycsoscyx xycsoscyx
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #25 on: April 13, 2007, 02:16:34 pm »

Psch, like we can really believe a card that Wizards themselves has shown?!?  Preposterous, I fall fake, no way would they make that card, even though they've already shown the card itself!  Very Happy
Logged
mox apricot
Restricted Posting
Basic User
*
Posts: 38

zaxxon8566
View Profile Email
« Reply #26 on: April 17, 2007, 07:03:53 pm »

I’m sure this card will be boarded in a lot of fish builds, only thing better in fish than when a card does something that nearly kills a game zone, is when its conveniently attached to a beater.
Logged

"bitchwork for secretaries"- jim Chapson
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.423 seconds with 20 queries.