TheManaDrain.com
October 31, 2025, 05:49:08 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: "Manlands" and summoning sickness  (Read 5379 times)
Ephraim
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2938


The Casual Adept

LordZakath
View Profile
« on: July 22, 2007, 12:25:23 pm »

If I recall correctly, if you animate Mishra's Factory on the turn that it came into play, you can not subsequently tap it to boost itself.  I was able to find rules explaining this for creatures but I was not able to find a reference to a rule that clarifies that it also applies to creatures that were not creatures and, therefore, not subject to the "summoning sickness" rule at the time that they came into play.  Is there a rule that specifically clarifies this matter?  (I was looking for a rules reference against a Landstill player earlier and I could not find one.)
Logged

Did you know that Red is the color or art and music and passion? Combine that with Green, the color of nature, spiritualism, and community and you get a hippie commune of drum circles, dreamcatchers, and recreational drug use. Let's see that win a Pro Tour.
Anusien
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 3669


Anusien
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2007, 12:39:33 pm »

Quote
Summoning Sickness (Informal): The term "summoning sickness" is an informal term which describes a creature's inability to attack or to use activated abilities that include the tap symbol when it has come under a player's control since the beginning of that player's most recent turn. See rule 212.3f. See also Haste.

Quote
212.3f. A creature's activated ability with the tap symbol in its activation cost can't be played unless the creature has been under its controller's control since the start of his or her most recent turn. A creature can't attack unless it has been under its controller's control since the start of his or her most recent turn. This rule is informally called the "summoning sickness" rule. Ignore this rule for creatures with haste (see rule 502.5).
Logged

Magic Level 3 Judge
Southern USA Regional Coordinator

Quote from: H.L. Mencken
The urge to save humanity is almost always a false front for the urge to rule.
Ephraim
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2938


The Casual Adept

LordZakath
View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2007, 06:12:24 pm »

I was afraid that's all there was.  Those rules cover what "everybody knows" and if you understand them thoroughly, it's clear that they also apply to animated manlands that you haven't controlled since the beginning of the turn.  Unfortunately, this guy's argument was that because it was a land when it came into play, it won't suffer from summoning sickness, even when animated.  I don't think pointing those him to those two rules would have done the trick.  I'm going to see if the old Saturday School archives have anything on this...

Jackpot!

From Saturday School #22, Saturday, 05 April, 2003:
Quote
Q:  Can Mishra's Factory activate and attack the first turn it comes into play? I say it's still a land, so it wouldn't have summoning sickness, but my friend says I could not because it turns into a creature, therefore having summoning sickness. Who's right?
--J. Warren

A: All cards have “summoning sickness,” but it only affects creature. Once Mishra's Factory becomes a creature, all rules that apply to creatures apply to it. So if the card came into play this turn – regardless of whether it was a creature then – it's not allowed to attack.
Logged

Did you know that Red is the color or art and music and passion? Combine that with Green, the color of nature, spiritualism, and community and you get a hippie commune of drum circles, dreamcatchers, and recreational drug use. Let's see that win a Pro Tour.
Hell of a Hat
Basic User
**
Posts: 30


Wasted Wizard.

He11+of+a+Hat
View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2007, 03:17:33 pm »

Quote
Summoning Sickness (Informal): The term "summoning sickness" is an informal term which describes a creature's inability to attack or to use activated abilities that include the tap symbol when it has come under a player's control since the beginning of that player's most recent turn. See rule 212.3f. See also Haste.

Quote
212.3f. A creature's activated ability with the tap symbol in its activation cost can't be played unless the creature has been under its controller's control since the start of his or her most recent turn. A creature can't attack unless it has been under its controller's control since the start of his or her most recent turn. This rule is informally called the "summoning sickness" rule. Ignore this rule for creatures with haste (see rule 502.5).

Wait now I'm confused.  Doesn't that mean that if you take a creature with Control Magic or the like that it will 'regain' summoning sickness?  (and wow, this is actually relevant as my friend uses those with URBana)
Logged

Team Junkbox: two dudes with our junk in a box.
parallax
Basic User
**
Posts: 318


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2007, 04:44:10 pm »

Wait now I'm confused.  Doesn't that mean that if you take a creature with Control Magic or the like that it will 'regain' summoning sickness?  (and wow, this is actually relevant as my friend uses those with URBana)

That's what happens. If you Control Magic someone's creature, it has summoning sickness until it starts the turn under your control.
Logged

How about choosing a non-legend creature? Otherwise he is a UG instant Wrath of Frog.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.13 seconds with 20 queries.