TheManaDrain.com
October 31, 2025, 10:28:53 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Questions/confusion on standstill  (Read 2086 times)
Nevermore
Basic User
**
Posts: 16


View Profile
« on: September 11, 2007, 05:09:23 pm »

Standstill
Card type: Enchantment
Casting cost: 1U
Oracle text: When a player plays a spell, sacrifice Standstill. If you do, each of that player's opponents draws three cards.

Hi, I have been using standstill for a while but I have some scenarios that have been causing some confusion for me
I looked on SCG judge rulings about standstill and I still dont fully understand how it works.

Take a scenario where standstill is in play by me, player A
Player B plays a spell, standstill triggers, then priority passes to me.
If I play a spell with standstill on the stack, then the other guy gets to draw 3 cards before my spell resolves and I dont get to draw anything.

Can this work, and this is how ive been playing with standstill:
I have standstill in play -
Player B cast a spell, which I want to counter, standstill triggers, priority passes
Can I then do nothing, let standstill resolve, draw 3 cards, then counter the spell, or do I not have oppurtunity to do this because I passed back priority?

Another confusing situation involves stifle and trick bind
Stifle - instant
Casting cost: U
Card text: Counter target activated or triggered ability. (Mana abilities can't be countered.)

Trickbind
Card type: Instant
Casting cost: 1U
Card text: Split second <i>(As long as this spell is on the stack, players can't play spells or activated abilities that aren't mana abilities.)</i><br>Counter target activated or triggered ability. If a permanent's ability is countered this way, activated abilities of that permanent can't be played this turn. <i>(Mana abilities can't be targeted.)</i>

I was playing a game online, and I had standstill in play.
My opponent played a spell, standstill triggered, and the he claimed he is trickbinding/stifle the standstill.  Does that work based on priority, and also because he plays a spell, standstill triggers , he plays trickbind/stifle on the first trigger, but before trickbind/stifle resolves doesnt a second standstill trigger go, and then depending on the answer to my first question I either draw 3 cards or can draw 3 cards and play another spell without fear of standstill? 
Also I have "trickbind/stifle", because I wonder if this will only work with trickbind and not stifle?

I hope this did not get too confusing,
Thanks


Logged
Shock Wave
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1436



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2007, 05:29:00 pm »

Can this work, and this is how ive been playing with standstill:
I have standstill in play -
Player B cast a spell, which I want to counter, standstill triggers, priority passes
Can I then do nothing, let standstill resolve, draw 3 cards, then counter the spell, or do I not have oppurtunity to do this because I passed back priority?

You will still have the opportunity to counter the spelll, as you will regain priority after the Standstill trigger resolves.

Landstill essentially would not function as an archetype if after having your Standstill broken, you did not have the opportunity to play any further spells.


Quote
I was playing a game online, and I had standstill in play.
My opponent played a spell, standstill triggered, and the he claimed he is trickbinding/stifle the standstill.  Does that work based on priority, and also because he plays a spell, standstill triggers , he plays trickbind/stifle on the first trigger, but before trickbind/stifle resolves doesnt a second standstill trigger go, and then depending on the answer to my first question I either draw 3 cards or can draw 3 cards and play another spell without fear of standstill? 
Also I have "trickbind/stifle", because I wonder if this will only work with trickbind and not stifle?

Casting Trickbind or Stifle with a Standstill trigger on the stack, provided the Standstill has not been sacrificed (it is sacrificed on resolution of the trigger), will create another Standstill trigger. You cannot Stifle or Trickbind a Standstill to effectively prevent a player from drawing 3 cards.
Logged

"Far better it is to dare mighty things, to win glorious triumphs even though checkered by failure, than to rank with those poor spirits who neither enjoy nor suffer much because they live in the gray twilight that knows neither victory nor defeat." 
- Theodore Roosevelt
Nevermore
Basic User
**
Posts: 16


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2007, 09:59:07 pm »

Thanks!
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.029 seconds with 18 queries.