apologies for possible topic-necromancy, but I do think my question belongs in this topic.I have another Commandeer question: what happens if you Commandeer someones Buried Alive? Will it work in the desired way, i.e. I (as the Commandeer-caster) get to put creatures in my G.Y.? Or do I get the choice of which creatures (if any) will be 'buried alive' in my opponents G.Y?
I did check out the Oracle-text of both cards, but that got me more confused:
CommandeerColor= Blue Type= Instant Cost= 5UU CS(R)
Text (CS+errata): You may remove two blue cards in your hand from the game rather than pay ~this~'s mana cost. ; Gain control of target noncreature spell. You may choose new targets for it. (If that spell is an artifact, enchantment, or planeswalker, the permanent comes into play under your control.) [Oracle 2008/04/01]
- You cannot remove this card since it is in the stack already when you are choosing cards to pay the cost. [Coldsnap FAQ 2006/06/14]
- Even though you control the spell, it goes to its owner's graveyard. [Coldsnap FAQ 2006/06/14]
- After you gain control of the spell, references to "you" in the card text refer to you and not the former controller. [Coldsnap FAQ 2006/06/14]
- You do not have to change the targets, but you can. If you do change them, the new targets must be legal. If you don't change them, they can remain illegal. [Coldsnap FAQ 2006/06/14]
Buried AliveColor= Black Type= Sorcery Cost= 2B WL(U)/OD(U)
Text (OD): Search
your library for up to three creature cards and put them into
your graveyard. Then shuffle
your library.
- You can look in your library and then choose to find any number from zero to three creatures after you look at it. [D'Angelo 2000/12/07]
- You do not have to find all three creature cards if you do not want to. You can choose to find zero, one, or two instead. See Rule G19.4. [D'Angelo 2001/07/14]
So, Oracle says Commandeer changes all instances of "You" in the targeted spell on the stack to "You" as the caster of Commandeer. So do you as the owner of Commandeer get to put creatures in your GY, or get to choose the creatures that will be put in to the GY of the owner of Buried Alive?
I think the latter is true, but I would like to hear what you guys have to say about it
