TheManaDrain.com
December 29, 2025, 12:11:36 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Dark Confidant and Fire/Ice  (Read 3156 times)
Killane
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 799

I am become Death, the destroyer of Worlds


View Profile
« on: May 28, 2010, 04:28:40 pm »

How much damage, and why?

Edit: Please excuse the poor quality of the inital question - I was on my phone and did not have the patience to type out the full question because I am texting-challenged, but it was immediately relevant.

Those who already provided the answer were, of course, correct- How much damage does one take from flipping Fire/Ice (or any split card, really)?
« Last Edit: May 28, 2010, 07:10:53 pm by Killane » Logged

DCI Rules Advisor
_____________________________ _____
Are you playing The Game?
vassago
Basic User
**
Posts: 581


phesago
View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2010, 04:44:51 pm »

I am assuming you're talking about how you'd take from flipping fire/ice?

If so, it's four damage, or loss of life.

If you're asking about how much damage to deal to it with fire, one to him and one to the face is the answer.

Very Happy
Logged

Quote from: M.Solymossy
.... "OMGWTFElephantOnMyFace".
Delha
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1271



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2010, 05:21:00 pm »

From the Comp Rules:

Quote
708.5. An effect that asks for a particular characteristic of a split card while it’s in a zone other than the stack gets two answers (one for each of the split card’s two halves).
Example: Infernal Genesis has an ability that reads, “At the beginning of each player’s upkeep, that player puts the top card from his or her library into his or her graveyard. He or she then puts X 1/1 black Minion creature tokens onto the battlefield, where X is that card’s converted mana cost.” If the top card of your library is Assault/Battery when this ability resolves, the game sees its converted mana cost as “1, and 4.” You get five creature tokens.
Logged

I suppose it's mostly the thought that this format is just one big Mistake; and not even a very sophisticated one at that.
Much like humanity itself.
ELD
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1462


Eric Dupuis

ericeld1980
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2010, 10:39:48 pm »

A similar question came up with counterbalance and Fire/Ice at my legacy event this week.  They knew that flipping it with bob was 4 damage, so they incorrectly thought it countered as 4 for Counterbalance. 

I prefer to remember it as 2+2 loss of life, or the CMC being 2 and 2.  People tend to get confused when the shortcut it to 4.  Just a tip that keeps it straight in my mind.  

Edit:  Added "incorrectly" to clarify that fire/ice is not 4 cmc for CB. 
« Last Edit: June 11, 2010, 10:42:37 am by ELD » Logged

unrestrict: Freedom
honestabe
Basic User
**
Posts: 1113


How many more Unicorns must die???


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2010, 06:42:45 am »

A similar question came up with counterbalance and Fire/Ice at my legacy event this week.  They knew that flipping it with bob was 4 damage, so they thought it countered as 4 for Coutnerbalance.

I prefer to remember it as 2+2 loss of life, or the CMC being 2 and 2.  People tend to get confused when the shortcut it to 4.  Just a tip that keeps it straight in my mind. 

Its my understanding if you flip a double card with CB, that you get to chose one of the individual spells.  I was looking it up the other day, but i might have misread
Logged

Quote
As far as I can tell, the entire Vintage community is based on absolute statements
  -Chris Pikula
ELD
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1462


Eric Dupuis

ericeld1980
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2010, 10:40:54 am »

That is basically correct.  You don't actually get to choose which half of the split card that is used for counterbalance though.  Both sides are applied.  If either is the same CMC, then the spell is countered. 
Logged

unrestrict: Freedom
Clariax
Global Moderator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 428


Clariax
View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2010, 10:43:48 am »

Its my understanding if you flip a double card with CB, that you get to chose one of the individual spells.  I was looking it up the other day, but i might have misread

There is no choice involved, the effect will simply use both numbers.  In the case of Counterbalance, it asks the question "Does the CMC of the revealed card equal the CMC of the spell?"  If you flip Boom//Bust, the CMC of the revealed card will be 2 and 6, so if the CMC of the spell that triggered it is 2 or 6, the answer will be "yes," and the spell will be countered.  If the CMC of the spell is 2, you cannot reveal Boom//Bust then choose to use the 6 and not counter the spell.
Logged

Aaron Cutler
DCI L2
Cleveland, Ohio
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.083 seconds with 18 queries.