liontruth
Basic User
 
Posts: 21
100% Pure Power
|
 |
« on: November 21, 2010, 11:39:18 am » |
|
I played Tendrils of Agony w/ 9 copies and my life total is 2 then my opponent plays Misdirection. Do I survive? I know I would, but someone in the group says no, he said "because at the point you reach 0 life you lost already" but I reasoned out that "state base effects will be check after the resolution of the spell" so imo during the resolution of ToA I will go to 0 life then back to 2 life then SBE will be check. I lost that game  sad This is where I got my reasoning 104.3b If a player's life total is 0 or less, he or she loses the game the next time a player would receive priority. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.) 704.4. Unlike triggered abilities, state-based actions pay no attention to what happens during the resolution of a spell or ability. Example: A player controls a creature with the ability "This creature's power and toughness are each equal to the number of cards in your hand" and casts a spell whose effect is "Discard your hand, then draw seven cards." The creature will temporarily have toughness 0 in the middle of the spell's resolution but will be back up to toughness 7 when the spell finishes resolving. Thus the creature will survive when state-based actions are checked. In contrast, an ability that triggers when the player has no cards in hand goes on the stack after the spell resolves, because its trigger event happened during resolution. Hope you could help me
|
|
|
Logged
|
Team AFTERMATH
|
|
|
silvernail
|
 |
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2010, 06:11:12 pm » |
|
You've already got the relevant rules text cited - you are correct you will live.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
MaximumCDawg
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 2172
|
 |
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2010, 01:06:26 pm » |
|
Why is that? Isn't each copy of Tendrils a separate event on the stack? Don't players get priority after each copy resolves? So, as long as the Misdirecting player hits the Tendrils copy that is first in line to resolve, doesn't the Misdirecting player win?
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Delha
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 1271
|
 |
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2010, 01:31:33 pm » |
|
Why is that? Isn't each copy of Tendrils a separate event on the stack? Don't players get priority after each copy resolves? So, as long as the Misdirecting player hits the Tendrils copy that is first in line to resolve, doesn't the Misdirecting player win? Even if your opponent Misdirects 500 of your Tendrils copies back to you, it won't be lethal. Since you still control the Tendrils, you lose 2 and gain 2 during resolution of any given copy, meaning your life total balances itself out each time. That said, assuming you were thinking Commandeer rather than MisD, I made the same error when I first read this thread.
|
|
|
Logged
|
I suppose it's mostly the thought that this format is just one big Mistake; and not even a very sophisticated one at that.
Much like humanity itself.
|
|
|
MaximumCDawg
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 2172
|
 |
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2010, 01:39:25 pm » |
|
Why is that? Isn't each copy of Tendrils a separate event on the stack? Don't players get priority after each copy resolves? So, as long as the Misdirecting player hits the Tendrils copy that is first in line to resolve, doesn't the Misdirecting player win? Even if your opponent Misdirects 500 of your Tendrils copies back to you, it won't be lethal. Since you still control the Tendrils, you lose 2 and gain 2 during resolution of any given copy, meaning your life total balances itself out each time. That said, assuming you were thinking Commandeer rather than MisD, I made the same error when I first read this thread. Oh, I see what you mean; Misdirection does not change the controller of each Tendrils copy, so regardless of who is targeted by each copy, the original caster will gain 2 life during each resolution. Is that right?
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Delha
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 1271
|
 |
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2010, 08:08:35 pm » |
|
Oh, I see what you mean; Misdirection does not change the controller of each Tendrils copy, so regardless of who is targeted by each copy, the original caster will gain 2 life during each resolution. Is that right? Yep.
|
|
|
Logged
|
I suppose it's mostly the thought that this format is just one big Mistake; and not even a very sophisticated one at that.
Much like humanity itself.
|
|
|
Cruel Ultimatum
|
 |
« Reply #6 on: November 23, 2010, 01:54:34 pm » |
|
I just wanted to point out, that it appears that the OP is under the assumption that if his opponent cast lightning bolt instead of misdirection that he would live, since when the stack clears, he will be at 19 or w/e. This is obviously wrong given the rules text that was posted in the OP
|
|
|
Logged
|
Egan
ECW
|
|
|
Delha
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 1271
|
 |
« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2010, 02:30:54 pm » |
|
I just wanted to point out, that it appears that the OP is under the assumption that if his opponent cast lightning bolt instead of misdirection that he would live, since when the stack clears, he will be at 19 or w/e. This is obviously wrong given the rules text that was posted in the OP I didn't get that impression at all.
|
|
|
Logged
|
I suppose it's mostly the thought that this format is just one big Mistake; and not even a very sophisticated one at that.
Much like humanity itself.
|
|
|
Cruel Ultimatum
|
 |
« Reply #8 on: November 23, 2010, 03:45:35 pm » |
|
I just wanted to point out, that it appears that the OP is under the assumption that if his opponent cast lightning bolt instead of misdirection that he would live, since when the stack clears, he will be at 19 or w/e. This is obviously wrong given the rules text that was posted in the OP I didn't get that impression at all. I played Tendrils of Agony w/ 9 copies and my life total is 2 then my opponent plays Misdirection.
Do I survive? I know I would, but someone in the group says no, he said "because at the point you reach 0 life you lost already" but I reasoned out that "state base effects will be check after the resolution of the spell" so imo during the resolution of ToA I will go to 0 life then back to 2 life then SBE will be check. seems to impy he/she is implying they wouldn't die until the stack is complete
|
|
|
Logged
|
Egan
ECW
|
|
|
Delha
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 1271
|
 |
« Reply #9 on: November 23, 2010, 08:08:46 pm » |
|
I played Tendrils of Agony w/ 9 copies and my life total is 2 then my opponent plays Misdirection.
Do I survive? I know I would, but someone in the group says no, he said "because at the point you reach 0 life you lost already" but I reasoned out that "state base effects will be check after the resolution of the spell" so imo during the resolution of ToA I will go to 0 life then back to 2 life then SBE will be check. seems to impy he/she is implying they wouldn't die until the stack is complete I read that to be the correct interpretation that each individual resolution of a Tendrils copy would result in no overall change of life total. Either way, this is now moot. Intentions aside, it's now been clearly established that each copy resolves separately, with individual state based action checks after each, and that the lifeloss and gain balance each other out within the resolution of any copy.
|
|
|
Logged
|
I suppose it's mostly the thought that this format is just one big Mistake; and not even a very sophisticated one at that.
Much like humanity itself.
|
|
|
liontruth
Basic User
 
Posts: 21
100% Pure Power
|
 |
« Reply #10 on: November 24, 2010, 08:23:21 pm » |
|
I just wanted to point out, that it appears that the OP is under the assumption that if his opponent cast lightning bolt instead of misdirection that he would live, since when the stack clears, he will be at 19 or w/e. This is obviously wrong given the rules text that was posted in the OP
??? After the resolution of each item on the stack SBE(checking of life total) will be checked, so if he bolts me instead if using misdirect im fried. I did'nt get where your comin from. Edit: Seems like Delha already clarified it.
|
|
« Last Edit: November 24, 2010, 08:29:29 pm by liontruth »
|
Logged
|
Team AFTERMATH
|
|
|
|