TheManaDrain.com
November 22, 2025, 04:55:44 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Infinite turns with Magosi, the Waterveil in Standard  (Read 5757 times)
dredge6
Basic User
**
Posts: 5


View Profile Email
« on: December 11, 2010, 06:24:40 am »

 I realized that if Magosi, the Waterveil was an artifact land it wouldn't be so bad. Now with Liquimetal Coating it can be an artifact. Amulet of vigor gets around the enters the battlefield tapped drawback. Voltaic Key let's me untap after tapping for an eon counter so i can get my extra turn right away. Magosi goes back to my hand. Now i can do it all over again at the cost of two mana. I am still in the early brainstorming stages of this deck idea. I'm thinking Memnite and Kuldotha Rebirth are great beatdowns for early game lockdowns. After you get this going your land count will not go up unless you have a Primeval Titan type of thing going on.This does take a bit of set up so a more controlling build is looking good at the moment. I'm still not down to a color combination for this idea so all constructive criticism is welcome. Thank you in advance.

  Infinite turn package
  2-4 Magosi, the waterveil
  2-4 Amulet of Vigor
  2-4 Voltaic Key
  2-4 Liquimetal Coating
  2-4 Expedition map
  4 Trinket Mage
 
 p.s. budget is not a problem Wink
Logged
dredge6
Basic User
**
Posts: 5


View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2010, 11:16:39 am »

 I started thinking does Magosi, the Waterveil work like Wormfang Manta so you don't get an extra turn if the  leaves the battlefield ability triggers over the enters the battlefield ability so you just end up cancelling the two out? Can a rules advisor straighten this out?
Logged
Delha
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1271



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2010, 12:18:06 pm »

I started thinking does Magosi, the Waterveil work like Wormfang Manta so you don't get an extra turn if the  leaves the battlefield ability triggers over the enters the battlefield ability so you just end up cancelling the two out? Can a rules advisor straighten this out?
Your question isn't quite clear, but I suspect you're asking what needs to be pointed out anyway.

If you use Magosi's second ability, untap it, then use the third ability, the gained turn and lost turn will indeed cancel each other out.
Logged

I suppose it's mostly the thought that this format is just one big Mistake; and not even a very sophisticated one at that.
Much like humanity itself.
silvernail
Basic User
**
Posts: 563


View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2010, 05:25:38 pm »

What you are looking for is Contagion Clasp + Magosi, the Waterveil. You have to actually skip a turn to get the first counter, but if you can survive one turn you get infinite turns after that via clasping each turn before using Magosi.
Logged
Delha
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1271



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2010, 07:59:32 pm »

What you are looking for is Contagion Clasp + Magosi, the Waterveil. You have to actually skip a turn to get the first counter, but if you can survive one turn you get infinite turns after that via clasping each turn before using Magosi.
Remember that taking the extra turn also requires bouncing Magosi. The bounce is even part of the cost, rather than effect, meaning you can't proliferate, activate, twiddle and activate again to get two turns out of it. The card is pretty much unbreakable.
Logged

I suppose it's mostly the thought that this format is just one big Mistake; and not even a very sophisticated one at that.
Much like humanity itself.
silvernail
Basic User
**
Posts: 563


View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2010, 09:11:27 pm »

Ya RTFC FTL on this one Sad I just realized this earlier tonight.
Logged
Prestige Games
Basic User
**
Posts: 2


View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2010, 04:06:16 pm »

since returning Magosi is part of the cost for taking an extra turn there is no way to break this until they make a card that can remove the return it to your hand part from the card.
Logged
Sporkcore
Basic User
**
Posts: 271

Sporkcore@msn.com MostBadAss
View Profile Email
« Reply #7 on: December 15, 2010, 11:06:03 pm »

There's no way to break it in standard, but in extended, you can copy the extra turn ability with Rings of Brighthearth which would allow you to go infinite.
Logged

I haev a first turn Llanowar Elf. He casts Ancestral, a slightly stronger card from the same set.
Delha
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1271



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: December 16, 2010, 12:30:22 pm »

There's no way to break it in standard, but in extended, you can copy the extra turn ability with Rings of Brighthearth which would allow you to go infinite.
That's not enough. Look what happens in a turn-by-turn breakdown. Note that the turns are labelled relative to the loop, not by the actual turns taken in game.

T1: Magosi tapped for extra turn. Copy w/ Rings. Replay Magosi (ETBT)
T2: Extra Turn #1: Tap to load Magosi.
T3: Extra Turn #2: Skipped for Magosi
---: Opponent goes.

You can get 2 turns for every 1 the opponent takes, but you need two copies of Rings to make this truly infinite. Technically Magosi + Rings + Amulet of Vigor (or Liquimetal+Key) works, but that probably isn't gonna cut it, even in Standard.
Logged

I suppose it's mostly the thought that this format is just one big Mistake; and not even a very sophisticated one at that.
Much like humanity itself.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.122 seconds with 20 queries.