TheManaDrain.com
September 09, 2025, 10:39:21 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Chalice of the Void  (Read 2655 times)
Akuma
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 226


gconedera
View Profile
« on: January 22, 2004, 06:31:46 pm »

I know these questions have probably been answered before, but I don't think the old rules forum made the transition (if it did, please point me in the right direction). So here goes:

Chalice of the Void
Color= Artifact    Type= Artifact    Cost= XX    MR(R)
Text (MR): ~this~ comes into play with X charge counters on it. ; Whenever a player plays a spell with converted mana cost equal to the number of charge counters on ~this~, counter that spell.

I know that when the Chalice is in play, its CMC is 0, my question is about how you treat this spell while on the stack. Is the CMC of Chalice while on the stack = X. So if you pay [2] [2] to play the Chalice with two charge counters, the CMC is 2. What happens if it's Mana Drained? Does the opponent get 2 mana or 4?
Logged

"Expect my visit when the darkness comes. The night I think is best for hiding all."

Restrictions - "It is the scrub's way out"
Zhalfirin
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 47


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2004, 08:14:50 pm »

Quote
203.3 - The converted mana cost of an object is a number equal to the total amount of mana in its mana cost, regardless of color.  Some effects ask a player to pay mana equal to an object's converted mana cost; this is a generic mana cost-it may be paid with any combination of colored and/or colorless mana, regardless of the colors in the object's mana cost.
Example: A mana cost of {3}{U}{U} translates to a converted mana cost of 5. [CompRules 2003/07/01]

203.4 - Any additional cost listed in an object's rules text or imposed by an effect isn't part of the mana cost.  (See Rule 409, "Playing Spells and Activated Abilities.")  Such costs are paid at the same time as the spell's other costs. [CompRules 2003/07/01]

203.Ruling.1 - If a cost has an "X" in it, the mana cost equals the amount announced as part of playing the spell or ability while it is on the stack, but if the card in any other zone, X is treated as zero.


In play, Chalice's CMC is always 0.
On the stack, it's CMC is the amount paid for it.

Conclusion, mana draining a Chalice for 2 counters results in 4 mana during the drainer's next main phase.
Logged
Akuma
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 226


gconedera
View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2004, 10:56:10 pm »

Thanks for the reply. That clears that up.

So does that mean that if I cast a Chalice where x=1 (CMC - 2), a Chalice in play with two counters on it would counter the x=1 Chalice?
Logged

"Expect my visit when the darkness comes. The night I think is best for hiding all."

Restrictions - "It is the scrub's way out"
Kowal
My name is not Brian.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2497


Reanimate your feet!


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2004, 10:57:58 pm »

yeap
Logged
Akuma
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 226


gconedera
View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2004, 02:12:12 pm »

Thanks.

Someone just told me something that cleared everything up. One of the local Type II gurus told me to look at it this way:

The [X] [X] is just there to make the card simpler to understand. The CMC is what you spend on it because the fact that there are two X is just there so that WotC would not have this card read [X]: X can only be an even number, Chalice comes into play with an amount of counters equal to 1/2 of X etc...
Logged

"Expect my visit when the darkness comes. The night I think is best for hiding all."

Restrictions - "It is the scrub's way out"
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.033 seconds with 18 queries.