Show Posts
|
|
Pages: [1] 2 3 4
|
|
1
|
Eternal Formats / General Strategy Discussion / Re: [OGW] Wastes: Barry's Land is REAL?
|
on: December 11, 2015, 09:03:39 am
|
|
I think this is a fantastic decision. It removes some ambiguity from the game and opens up new design space going forward. We've never actually had to care about whether we could produce colorless mana before; giving it a symbol allows Wizards to easily print cards requiring it in years to come.
|
|
|
|
|
2
|
Eternal Formats / General Strategy Discussion / Re: [OGW] Wastes: Barry's Land is REAL?
|
on: November 20, 2015, 01:56:10 pm
|
Snow is not a type of mana. There are only 6 types -- the 5 colors and colorless. Snow costs specify that the mana you use to pay them must come from a certain source. This is a property of the cost, not the mana itself. This is a well constructed argument, with a very good point. My only retort is that this move was done when the game didn't have as much continuity as it does today. It's possible, but I find it unlikely, that Wizards will ever do anything like that again. Thank you. I agree that there would be detriment in the short term to making this change, but personally I believe that the long-term benefits of clearing up confusion re. colorless vs. generic mana and the added design space of being able to require colorless in costs would outweigh the negatives. Also, I had hoped that Wizards learned their lesson about snow mana given that it has been publicly acknowledged as a failure. However, only time will tell which way they've actually gone.
|
|
|
|
|
3
|
Eternal Formats / General Strategy Discussion / Re: [OGW] Wastes: Barry's Land is REAL?
|
on: November 19, 2015, 11:07:12 pm
|
Because it's written on thousands of cards, changing it would confuse new and current players in mass. When people feel disenfranchised they quit, and when people quit it hurts Wizards enterprise value. So wizards has an incentive to not do anything drastic to the game like that.
This would hardly be the first time they've done mass errata, though. And changing the colorless mana symbol wouldn't even be functional errata -- all it would do is serve to clarify that colorless and generic mana are different. Compare this to The Grand Creature Type Update, which actually functionally changed nearly 1200 cards. Also, while current new players may be confused by the changeover, going forward it would make the concept of colorless vs. generic mana easier to explain to a beginner.
|
|
|
|
|
4
|
Eternal Formats / General Strategy Discussion / Re: [OGW] Wastes: Barry's Land is REAL?
|
on: November 19, 2015, 09:32:07 pm
|
Summarizing:
<> for colorless mana 1 for generic mana (color or colorless)
Well, that person could be wrong, but it sound reasonable.
They aren't going to bifurcate the meaning of 1 (colorless) in the rules text of 1000s of Magic cards. Where it means one thing on the left of a : and another on the right side of it. What's wrong with clarification? The symbol 1 has different meanings in different contexts as things stand now. Why would changing that be a bad thing?
|
|
|
|
|
7
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: Number of Cards in a Deck
|
on: December 27, 2014, 12:36:02 am
|
|
This is true (of any constructed format). In fact, Battle of Wits decks (which have to be around 250 cards) have been played competitively (to varying levels of success) in Standard, Extended, and Legacy throughout the years.
|
|
|
|
|
8
|
Eternal Formats / Northeast U.S. / Re: [PANDEMONIUM] Sanctioned Vintage FNMs
|
on: December 21, 2014, 09:18:27 pm
|
I'm back in town and could try to make 10/29. However, I only brought a Proxied Vintage deck since I wasn't expecting there to be Sanctioned Vintage here. Is Tuesday going to be sanctioned?
Tuesdays are always full-proxy, so you're good.
|
|
|
|
|
12
|
Eternal Formats / General Strategy Discussion / Re: [C14] - Containment Priest
|
on: October 31, 2014, 04:42:45 pm
|
(side note: note that this card can be cast with oath on the stack as a way to make them mill themselves)
This card, like Grafdigger's Cage, replaces the part where the creature actually comes into play. The Oath player would still stop milling themselves upon revealing the creature. Or just choose not to Oath. It's a "may." Right, they do have that choice. I guess there are scenarios where you go ahead and mill yourself a bunch anyways (like if you have Yawgmoth's Will or easy access to it). That's actually an interesting difference between this and Cage. You would never make that play with Cage on the board because you couldn't then YawgWill all those cards you milled.
|
|
|
|
|
13
|
Eternal Formats / General Strategy Discussion / Re: [C14] - Containment Priest
|
on: October 31, 2014, 04:36:43 pm
|
(side note: note that this card can be cast with oath on the stack as a way to make them mill themselves)
This card, like Grafdigger's Cage, replaces the part where the creature actually comes into play. The Oath player would still stop milling themselves upon revealing the creature. Unless you didn't mean to make them mill their whole library, just part of it. In which case, sure, that works.
|
|
|
|
|
14
|
Eternal Formats / General Strategy Discussion / Re: [C14] - Containment Priest
|
on: October 31, 2014, 11:30:04 am
|
Oh man, didn't even think about the fact that this makes Flicker effects into Vindicates.
Legacy is going to cream their shorts over this lovely lady.
Sorry, I originally said Vindicate but it's really more of a swords, since you can only get creatures this way. Still a neat combo.
|
|
|
|
|
15
|
Eternal Formats / General Strategy Discussion / Re: [C14] - Containment Priest
|
on: October 31, 2014, 11:12:09 am
|
under this creature Parallax Wave simply kills 5 creatures
Yeah, I saw someone point out elsewhere that with this card, Flickerwisp becomes Swords on a stick. Definitely applicable to Legacy DnT (with the exception of this shutting down your own vials, but maybe you board them out for this), not sure if anything similar is good enough for Vintage. I can't think off the top of my head of any flicker effects that are good enough for this format on their own.
|
|
|
|
|
16
|
Eternal Formats / General Strategy Discussion / Re: [C14] - Containment Priest
|
on: October 31, 2014, 10:20:06 am
|
|
It's definitely less widely applicable than Grafdigger's Cage in Vintage. I think in certain decks (white trash, humans) it could serve as additional Cages + protection against S&T as an alternate route for Oath. It does have the nice advantages of not being missteppable, or counterable at all if you have a Cavern.
Also, I agree that it will be much better in Legacy.
|
|
|
|
|
17
|
Eternal Formats / General Strategy Discussion / [C14] - Containment Priest
|
on: October 31, 2014, 10:13:01 am
|
 Containment Priest 1W Creature - Human Cleric Flash If a nontoken creature would enter the battlefield and it wasn't cast, exile it instead. 2/2 Well, they've finally created a hatebear that hoses Show and Tell. I'm really interested in this card. It has most of the same applications as Grafdigger's Cage against dredge, stops Tinker -> Blightsteel and Oath -> Grisel, but also stops S&T -> Grisel. And having Flash is just gravy.
|
|
|
|
|
19
|
Eternal Formats / Global Vintage Tournament Reports and Results / Re: N.Y.S.E. 20 Official Tournament Report
|
on: October 06, 2014, 12:18:30 am
|
Starting in January 2015, the N.Y.S.E. series will return to Brothers Grim on a quarterly basis. My goal is to run a January event, an April event, the N.Y.S.E. Open, and an October event to close out the year. I look forward to rebuilding the New York community with you.
That's really great to hear. Yesterday's event was awesome, and I'm definitely planning to make the trip down from the barren, Vintage-free hellscape of upstate NY for those events.
|
|
|
|
|
22
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: Morph and death
|
on: September 08, 2014, 02:47:25 pm
|
I believe this is the relevant rule: 603.6d Normally, objects that exist immediately after an event are checked to see if the event matched any trigger conditions. Continuous effects that exist at that time are used to determine what the trigger conditions are and what the objects involved in the event look like. However, some triggered abilities must be treated specially. Leaves-the-battlefield abilities, abilities that trigger when a permanent phases out, abilities that trigger when an object that all players can see is put into a hand or library, abilities that trigger specifically when an object becomes unattached, abilities that trigger when a player loses control of an object, and abilities that trigger when a player planeswalks away from a plane will trigger based on their existence, and the appearance of objects, prior to the event rather than afterward. The game has to “look back in time” to determine if these abilities trigger. So, because Phoenix had no text at the time it left the battlefield, the ability won't trigger.
|
|
|
|
|
24
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: tarmogoyf
|
on: August 08, 2014, 01:43:38 am
|
|
A little more explicitly, here's how it breaks down:
1. Combat damage is dealt to both creatures. This makes Snapcaster Mage a 2/1 with 4 damage on it and Goyf a 4/5 with 5 damage on it. 2. Before the active player receives priority, state-based effects are checked. Both Goyf and SCM have lethal damage, which means they are both destroyed. 3. Active player receives priority.
So yes, Goyf and Snapcaster die at the same time.
|
|
|
|
|
26
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: Affinity for artifacts and flashback
|
on: July 14, 2014, 12:18:24 pm
|
|
Affinity is not an alternative casting cost; it is a cost reduction effect.
From rule 601.2e: "The total cost is the mana cost or alternative cost (as determined in rule 601.2b), plus all additional costs and cost increases, and minus all cost reductions."
Since flashback is an alternative cost, the answer to your question is yes. You could flashback a Thoughtcast and you would still pay less.
|
|
|
|
|
29
|
Eternal Formats / General Strategy Discussion / Re: Chief Engineer
|
on: June 28, 2014, 01:42:35 am
|
So this guy lets my artifact mana get around null rod for other artifacts. for colorless anyways. so colored artifacts can reduce the color cost of same color artifacts as well if i am reading this correctly as well? could be interestin with the phyrexian mana artifacts. i think being able to tap cages or revokers or spheres or even my own null rod to essentially add mana is interestin at the least.
This does not allow you to dodge Null Rod in any significant way. This only allows you to tap creatures to cast artifacts. You can't convoke with cages or spheres.
|
|
|
|
|
30
|
Vintage Community Discussion / General Community Discussion / Re: N.Y.S.E. Open Printed Playmats
|
on: June 25, 2014, 02:29:00 pm
|
That playmat is awesome. I would gladly pay $40 for one and I wasn't even there. Of course, I'd like the mat even better had I attended the event. It might not be a bad idea, in the future, to let players who are going to the event pre-order one. That way, you'll know in advance how many to print, and everyone who wants a mat will get one. That seems like a win for everyone involved.
I was just typing the same suggestion as you posted this. I was lucky enough to get a mat (props to Greg - they're beautiful), and I definitely would have pre-ordered if given the option.
|
|
|
|
|