TheManaDrain.com
October 28, 2025, 06:12:01 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home Help Search Calendar Login Register  
  Show Posts
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 30
1  Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: Morningtide: Rivals' Duel and Protection on: January 21, 2008, 02:11:26 pm
Quote from: Comp Rules rule 413.2a
If a target is illegal, the spell or ability can’t perform any actions on it or make the target perform any actions.

The spell will still resolve, but it won't do anything.
2  Vintage Community Discussion / Card Creation Forum / Re: annoying red guy on: December 11, 2007, 12:47:02 am
First strike would suffice.
3  Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: Damage from an unsummoned lifelink creature on: October 19, 2007, 02:10:47 am
If the lifelink creature is in play when damage resolves, then Unsummoned with the lifelink trigger on the stack, you will still gain life. Both the lifelink creature and the creature being dealt damage must be in play when damage resolves, but not necessarily when the triggered ability resolves.
4  Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: Damage from an unsummoned lifelink creature on: September 28, 2007, 12:06:43 pm
The lifelink can only trigger if the creature is in play when the damage resolves.
5  Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: Mindslaver and opponent's sideboard [O] on: September 19, 2007, 05:42:19 pm
Can I still choose a card from my sideboard when I cast Burning Wish, even though no game rule allows me to see those cards?
6  Vintage Community Discussion / Card Creation Forum / Re: Finalize on: September 07, 2007, 11:28:28 pm
The second relevant part of rule 408.1c is
Quote from: Rule 408.1c
If all players pass in succession (that is, if all players pass without taking any actions in between passing), the top object on the stack resolves, then the active player receives priority.

Note it doesn't say that whenever a spell resolves, someone receives priority. What happens is, every player passes priority, allowing Finalize to resolve. While Finalize is resolving, the targeted spell resolves. Then, Finalize finishes resolving and the active player receives priority.

We don't (and shouldn't) take MODO into account when designing cards. It's the job of the Magic Online programmers to implement the cards, and they seem to be better at it than you give them credit for.
7  Vintage Community Discussion / Card Creation Forum / Re: Finalize on: September 07, 2007, 12:41:35 am
I see no problem with "Target spell resolves." under the current rules. Objects can be removed from the stack in any order, Counterspell and Remand already remove spells from the stack out of order. Having a spell resolve out of order is not a problem.
8  Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: Rakdos Augermage on: September 04, 2007, 10:58:52 am
Yes. The ability will try to do as much as possible.
9  Vintage Community Discussion / Card Creation Forum / Re: Vicious Tutor on: September 03, 2007, 11:03:46 pm
Revealing the card is the only natural way to make this card work. It also partially alleviates the "better than Grim Tutor" problem. Basically, if you really want to keep the card hidden, you should play Grim Tutor instead of this card.
10  Vintage Community Discussion / Card Creation Forum / Re: Griffen Mount on: September 03, 2007, 09:43:53 pm
It should probably be
Griffin Mount
{1} {W} {W}
Creature -- Griffin
2/2
Flying
 {W} {W}: ~This~ becomes an equipment artifact with "Equipped creature gets +0/+1 and gains flying and first strike." Attach ~this~ to target creature.

Unless you want it to remain a creature while equipped so it can still be Shocked, etc.
11  Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: Flash Kik-Jikki and Activated Abilities on: August 26, 2007, 11:39:28 am
You can't use mana abilities while a spell is resolving unless the spell instructs you to pay mana.

You can play mana abilities while playing a spell.
12  Vintage Community Discussion / Card Creation Forum / Re: wordy enchantment on: August 14, 2007, 04:49:49 pm
You're kidding, right? This is incredibly overpowered. Prodigal Pyromancer -> draw lock?
13  Vintage Community Discussion / Card Creation Forum / Re: Repeat on: August 09, 2007, 10:25:31 am
You could copy the trigger, and you would control the trigger... but the real question is can you be instructed to "sacrifice" something you don't control? 

Using Exsisting Cards:  Let's say I cast Rogue Elephant and after he resolves, but before the trigger resolves - you tap Preacher/Seasinger/Old Man of the sea (with rancor?) and gain control of Rogue Elephant at instant speed.  The trigger is still on the stack, and further more, that trigger doesn't stipulate "if you control Rogue Elephant ..."  However again, the question is can you choose not to sacrifice the forest in order to sac your opponent's newly aquired elephant?

You can't sacrifice cards you don't control.
14  Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: Word of Command & Storm. on: July 26, 2007, 10:01:32 pm
Mana from Dark Rituals and Cabal Rituals that have already been cast is in their mana pool. They must use it.

You don't make any choices for Storm triggers, since they are not part of playing the spell, but a separate triggered ability.

The targeted player is still the one playing the spell, and they own and control that spell as it resolves, so they get their own Empty tokens.
15  Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: "Manlands" and summoning sickness on: July 26, 2007, 04:44:10 pm
Wait now I'm confused.  Doesn't that mean that if you take a creature with Control Magic or the like that it will 'regain' summoning sickness?  (and wow, this is actually relevant as my friend uses those with URBana)

That's what happens. If you Control Magic someone's creature, it has summoning sickness until it starts the turn under your control.
16  Vintage Community Discussion / Card Creation Forum / Re: Complete Infiltration on: July 19, 2007, 10:28:03 am
Would "if you own 10 or more permanents you don't control" be more interesting? That's what I first thought when I saw "infiltration".
17  Vintage Community Discussion / Card Creation Forum / Re: Syphoncrawler on: July 19, 2007, 10:24:46 am
Mark Rosewater says Haste is the new black.
18  Vintage Community Discussion / Card Creation Forum / Re: Neo-Cube on: July 14, 2007, 02:24:28 am
One of the few things set in stone about Magic are the 5 colors with well-defined histories and antagonisms, and the 5 basic land types accordingly.  Is there any good reason to break this?

"Because it would be awesome" isn't a good enough reason? I just want an excuse to imagine an artifact card with a purple border.

I think the card would be justified if it was in a "color matters" set. It's a great way to do a sixth color without all the difficulties normally associated with making a sixth color. It only has to appear on one card, it doesn't need to fit into the color wheel, it doesn't need a section of the color pie, and it doesn't need a basic land; it's just there.
19  Vintage Community Discussion / Card Creation Forum / Re: Syphoncrawler on: July 14, 2007, 02:10:40 am
Haste is acceptable in black. Trample is not.
20  Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: State-based effect timing question on: July 04, 2007, 03:52:00 pm
Quote
420.3. Whenever a player would get priority (see rule 408, “Timing of Spells and Abilities”), the game checks for any of the listed conditions for state-based effects. All applicable effects resolve as a single event, then the check is repeated. Once no more state-based effects have been generated, triggered abilities go on the stack, and then the appropriate player gets priority. This check is also made during the cleanup step (see rule 314); if any of the listed conditions apply, the active player receives priority.

State-based effects are applied before triggered abilities are put on the stack.

This means that anything that leaves play due to a SBE is no no longer a legal target for triggered abilities.
21  Vintage Community Discussion / Card Creation Forum / Re: Neo-Cube on: July 02, 2007, 04:44:21 pm
I was thinking about this too but it doesn't allow him to do what I think he wants which is to have a sixth colour for 'colour count' cards i.e. collective restraint.

Neo-Cube
{1}
Artifact
Neo-Cube is purple.

Edit: Alternately, "Artifacts are purple." or "Artifacts and artifact cards not in play are purple.".
22  Vintage Community Discussion / Casual Forum / Re: [Iterative Thought Experiment] Unrestricted Deck Size on: July 02, 2007, 03:37:54 pm
Black Lotus
Show and Tell
Platinum Angel
4 x Pact of Negation

Show and Tell is pretty strong on the play.
23  Vintage Community Discussion / Card Creation Forum / Re: Nether Scourge on: July 02, 2007, 01:28:21 pm
I'm thinking about a re-look at a "Nether" creature.
{B} {B} {B}
Nether Scourge
Creature - Spirit

You may play Nether Scourge from your graveyard, but not from anywhere else.

When ~this~ comes into play, sacrifice it unless you pay 3 life.

Whenever ~this~ is put into your graveyard from play, if ~this~ is the only creature card in your graveyard, you may return ~this~ to play.
2/2

Thoughts?

Perhaps "Whenever ~this~ is put into your graveyard from play, if ~this~ is the only creature card in your graveyard, you may pay 3 life. If you do, you may return ~this~ to play. "

Otherwise you get infinite loops that combo with Nantuko Husk.
24  Vintage Community Discussion / Casual Forum / Re: [Iterative Thought Experiment] Unrestricted Deck Size on: July 01, 2007, 07:56:47 am
Some combo decks to set the benchmark:

Black Lotus
Channel
Fireball
Volcanic Island
Daze Pact of Negation
Force of Will Pact of Negation
Misdirection Pact of Negation


Swamp
Ornithopter
Cabal Therapy
Black Lotus
Dark Ritual
Yawgmoth's Will
Tendrils of Agony
25  Vintage Community Discussion / Casual Forum / Re: Type 0? on: June 27, 2007, 09:48:35 pm
Even if the force player had 3 force in hand he'd have to give up 3 blue cards in his hand, leaving him with 1 card in hand which means he can't win on his next turn because he'll have a combo of 2 cards : 2 lotus, 2 force, 2 desire, 1/1 force/desire/lotus. He needs 3 cards to "go off", even then he could fizzle. Meanwhile you are left with 4 cards in hand and in a much better topdeck mode than he is. I still think channel-torch wins. FOW is card disadvantage for a deck trying to go off turn 1.

First, a Force deck can beat most Channel-Torch hands with only 2 Forces.

Second, a Force deck could easily win off two cards if they draw Lotus and Recall.

Third, you won't have 4 cards left in hand. You have to use a Lotus to play Channel.

Fourth, your topdecking will be worse than the Force player's, because you need to topdeck more Lotuses and Channels, while having worthless extra Torches in your deck. The Force player can topdeck any blue cards to keep up. A player with Ancestral Recalls is in an even better position, as they are likely to outdraw you 3 to 1.

Fifth, trading a Force and a blue card for a Lotus and a Channel is not card disadvantage.
26  Vintage Community Discussion / Casual Forum / Re: Type 0? on: June 26, 2007, 02:42:56 pm
Yeah, but you start with 7 cards in hand. If they force one of them you play another one. They can counter 3 spells if they have a hand of 3 force + 3 other blue spells. Meanwhile you have 7 cards in your hand. And since you want more channel/lotus in your hand and only really need one torch then you would play 23 lotus/channel and 14 torch.

3 Force > 2 Channel

Channel-Torch cannot beat a 3 Force hand if the Force player knows to counter the Channels. Even if the Force player tries countering your Lotuses, you can only win with a perfect hand of 5 Black Lotus, 1 Channel, 1 Torch. Even if the Force player only has 2 Forces, you can only beat the strategy "Force the first Lotus, then Force the first Channel." with a perfect hand of 4 Lotus, 2 Channel, 1 Torch, and even that hand is vulnerable to Force on both Channels. Channel-Torch has ridiculously long odds against a Force of Will deck.

I think Lotus-Recall might be better than Lotus-Desire. A good Force player will likely try to counter your second Black Lotus. Maybe a combination of Recall and Desire is better.
27  Vintage Community Discussion / Casual Forum / Re: Type 0? on: June 25, 2007, 02:53:05 pm
Channel-Torch loses to Force of Will and Surging Flame. Surging Flame probably also loses to Force.

See some of the work we did on this format: Magic without the 4-of rule.

What's the best ratio of Surging Flames for beating Force decks? You'd want to include some mountains probably so you don't run out of Spirit Guides.

Lotus-Ancestral-Force seems like the best deck here.
28  Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: Phyrexian Furnace questions on: June 10, 2007, 11:56:04 am
You can activate the first ability, but it won't do much.
29  Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Re: Can you stifle stasis? on: June 10, 2007, 11:54:58 am
"Players skip their untap steps." is neither an activated ability nor a triggered ability. It doesn't contain a colon or the magical words "at", "when", or "whenever".

"At the beginning of your upkeep, sacrifice Stasis unless you pay  {U}." is a triggered ability. It starts with the word "at". However, Stifling that trigger is on the same level of play as Spell Snaring a Daze.
30  Vintage Community Discussion / Casual Forum / Re: 5CB Multiplayer Results! on: May 17, 2007, 01:26:30 pm
There is no stipulation for NCB that decks must be Vintage legal. That's only a rule I used in my 7CB tournament.
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 30
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.045 seconds with 18 queries.