TheManaDrain.com
October 09, 2025, 03:54:40 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Morningtide: Rivals' Duel and Protection  (Read 1169 times)
kirbysdl
Basic User
**
Posts: 19


View Profile WWW
« on: January 21, 2008, 06:07:35 am »

Hi, I hope this doesn't count as a question about cards from spoilers, as it came up in the Prerelease on Saturday.  My opponent plays Rivals' Duel on two of my creatures.  I play an Instant to give one of my creatures Protection from Red.  The head judge ruled that the spell would fizzle, which according to previous posts here is incorrect (one target is still legal, so the spell should resolve).  However, if the spell doesn't fizzle, how does the card's effect resolve?  It doesn't make sense for the remaining target to hit itself.  Does it simply swing at the empty air while not receiving any damage itself?  Or does something else happen?  Thanks!
Logged
parallax
Basic User
**
Posts: 318


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2008, 02:11:26 pm »

Quote from: Comp Rules rule 413.2a
If a target is illegal, the spell or ability can’t perform any actions on it or make the target perform any actions.

The spell will still resolve, but it won't do anything.
Logged

How about choosing a non-legend creature? Otherwise he is a UG instant Wrath of Frog.
Godder
Remington Steele
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 3264


"Steele here"

walfootrot@hotmail.com
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2008, 08:53:25 pm »

Parallax's post is confirmed by the FAQ, incidentally.
Logged

Quote from: Remington Steele
That's what I like about you, Laura - you're always willing to put my neck on the line.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.03 seconds with 20 queries.