greggg230
|
 |
« on: January 17, 2010, 01:55:32 am » |
|
Wind Zendikon U (Uncommon) Enchantment - Aura Enchant land Enchanted land is a 2/2 blue Elemental creature with flying. It’s still a land. When enchanted land is put into a graveyard, return that card to its owner’s hand.
Does this guy have a shot in blue fish variants? First of all, he's pretty efficient - a 2/2 flyer for 1. There is also good synergy with Waste/Strip. You enchant it with this, use the waste on a land, the waste returns to your hand, and you can use it again.
|
|
« Last Edit: January 17, 2010, 02:20:55 am by greggg230 »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
beder
|
 |
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2010, 02:10:38 am » |
|
Given the wording, I would say that this is not the land that comes back into hand but the enchantment.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Metman
|
 |
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2010, 02:12:04 am » |
|
My interpretation of the wording is just that. The land it enchants does return to the owners hand when it goes to the graveyard.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
greggg230
|
 |
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2010, 02:13:03 am » |
|
Given the wording, I would say that this is not the land that comes back into hand but the enchantment.
The English meaning of the sentence is pretty clear. "That card" could only possibly reference the "enchanted land", since the card does not refer to itself.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
CorwinB
|
 |
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2010, 05:48:44 am » |
|
Wouldn't the wording be "When enchanted land is put into a graveyard, return it to its owner’s hand.", then ?
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
zeus-online
|
 |
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2010, 05:53:13 am » |
|
It is the land that returns to your hand - But that was not what this discussion was about...
Well, i don't think it's good enough for fish, besides being 4 more wastelands or fetchlands it still costs you a land where a hound of konda or savannah lions would do pretty much the same thing without costing you a land (You can't attack and use the mana ability in the same turn, unless they start making vigilance lands).
|
|
|
Logged
|
The truth is an elephant described by three blind men.
|
|
|
dawgie
|
 |
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2010, 08:19:45 am » |
|
Its pretty decent and I love on how the card is created. But the problem is, what would you take out for this deck? Because given a card like this, wouldn't Faerie Conclave be better as it pretty much does the same thing and saves you space? I know you need to activate it but to me fish doesn't need a card like this anyway. Or you can just use Mishra's Factory or Mutavault.
If you would be just using it on Wasteland so you could get it back, I would rather just use Life from the Loam. At least that would give you more cards if needed.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Peace!
|
|
|
ilpeggiore
|
 |
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2010, 09:56:18 am » |
|
it' s pretty simple.
first turn zendikon : no ninjutzu at turn 2.
or no rod/meddling at turn 2.
first turn removal : o crap , my land - drop or third turn ninjutzu : shit, my land drop.
zendikon suffers disenchant effect's, reb and rebound.
the land now suffers bolt, pyroclasm, REB and STP.
best ways to use it :
island-zendikon island - unstable mutation
on target opponent basic land-stp
on a waste / strip
PITCH IT TO A FOW
it doesn't work well on itself. you need stp or waste or at least 3 lands...
imho it's too weak.
Please try to explain what you're saying, this post is nearly unreadable. -Eastman
|
|
« Last Edit: January 17, 2010, 05:18:07 pm by Eastman »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
sassfactor4
|
 |
« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2010, 10:36:39 am » |
|
as a fish player I was initially enamored by this.
as previous stated its blue, so you can pitch to FOW, its 1CC so its not a problem for bob, it prevents land destruction in the mirror match, and it increases your own mana denial in all matchups when placed on a waste\strip. Unfortunately I don't know what would be removed from BUG\Noble fish to make room for it.
The 2/2 flyer creation is ok and another body, but all utility creatures are strictly better. The mana denial is strong, but only ideal when you combo wind zendikon and strip mine. Increasing wasteland count to 5 surely isn't bad, but its not ideal when faced with possibly having 2 strips. The likelyhood that this gets countered is pretty slim I feel, and if it is countered than all the better as it would almost certainly be the weakest card in your library.
On a rules question, if someone disenchant\seal\naturalizes the wind zendikon, can you sac your waste\strip in response and still have it go to your hand? Disenchant effect is on the stack, you place your land activation on the stack, land activation resolves, enchantment effect goes on the stack, land is returned to your hand, wind zendikon goes to graveyard, disenchant has no valid targets is how my hungover mind believes it would go down.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Brainstorm. Draw with bob take 5 from force of will draw lotus for turn. ... 
|
|
|
MirariKnight
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 428
Lotus, YawgWill, Lotus, Go
|
 |
« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2010, 10:39:45 am » |
|
If you sac a Waste in response, it goes to your yard, then enchantment returns the Waste to your hand and is dead by SBE after the Waste's ability resolves, and Disenchant fizzles with no target. This thing looks intriguing, I don't know if it will see play in Vintage but it's definitely a cool and powerful card. Having a turn 2 2/2 flyer might be pretty good in some other formats, even if it costs a land drop, and it's kinda like Rancor but it gets the creature back, which nullifies the "auras suck" problem.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
ilpeggiore
|
 |
« Reply #10 on: January 17, 2010, 10:45:43 am » |
|
the problem is that's a terrible early card, cause it needs to "sacrifice" a land for a 2/2 creature. it's strictly inferior to every 1cc drop.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
BruiZar
|
 |
« Reply #11 on: January 18, 2010, 05:44:44 pm » |
|
the problem is that's a terrible early card, cause it needs to "sacrifice" a land for a 2/2 creature. it's strictly inferior to every 1cc drop.
By that logic, you would have rather see this card with 2 converted manacost?
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
zeus-online
|
 |
« Reply #12 on: January 20, 2010, 03:41:12 am » |
|
the problem is that's a terrible early card, cause it needs to "sacrifice" a land for a 2/2 creature. it's strictly inferior to every 1cc drop.
By that logic, you would have rather see this card with 2 converted manacost? I'd rather pay 1U or UU for a 2/2 flyer then use this card. Atleast if we're talking about using it as a beater. Being down 1 mana in order to deal 2 damage...that's like playing shock on the opponent every turn...Not a solid strategy.
|
|
|
Logged
|
The truth is an elephant described by three blind men.
|
|
|
Cyberpunker
Basic User
 
Posts: 608
I just gotta topdeck better than you ^_^.
|
 |
« Reply #13 on: January 29, 2010, 11:37:12 am » |
|
I like this card...will test it to show results.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
FlyFlySideOfFry
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 412
|
 |
« Reply #14 on: January 29, 2010, 04:39:24 pm » |
|
the problem is that's a terrible early card, cause it needs to "sacrifice" a land for a 2/2 creature. it's strictly inferior to every 1cc drop.
By that logic, you would have rather see this card with 2 converted manacost? I'd rather pay 1U or UU for a 2/2 flyer then use this card. Atleast if we're talking about using it as a beater. Being down 1 mana in order to deal 2 damage...that's like playing shock on the opponent every turn...Not a solid strategy. Honestly, if I were to run this card I would only cast in on one of two conditions: #1. I cast it on Wasteland or Strip Mine and use it as a mini Loam. #2. I needed a beater and had lots of spare mana. I don't think either use is all that great by itself but it may be flexible enough to make it as a card in Fish decks.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Mickey Mouse is on a Magic card. Your argument is invalid.
|
|
|
serracollector
|
 |
« Reply #15 on: February 04, 2010, 04:17:43 pm » |
|
What happens if you cast this card on a mishra's factory and the turn it into a factory Worker? Is it still a 2/2 flyer or is it a mishra's factory and thus pumpable by other factories still, or is it both? How does it work?
I could see something like first turn island > enchant turn 2 Standstill turn 3 swing
but would be no different than island>mishra>standstill
also, you can't daze for free then, cuz you would lose the enchantment.
I like the idea of the card, but daze and stifle do just as much, if not more, for the same, or cheaper cost.
|
|
|
Logged
|
B/R discussions are not allowed outside of Vintage Issues, and that includes signatures.
|
|
|
Suicideking
|
 |
« Reply #16 on: February 04, 2010, 04:30:40 pm » |
|
What happens if you cast this card on a mishra's factory and the turn it into a factory Worker? Is it still a 2/2 flyer or is it a mishra's factory and thus pumpable by other factories still, or is it both? How does it work?
I could see something like first turn island > enchant turn 2 Standstill turn 3 swing
but would be no different than island>mishra>standstill
also, you can't daze for free then, cuz you would lose the enchantment.
I like the idea of the card, but daze and stifle do just as much, if not more, for the same, or cheaper cost.
At the prerelease they said if you play a zendikon on a manland whick ever effect was the more recent was what you get.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
BruiZar
|
 |
« Reply #17 on: February 05, 2010, 08:12:41 am » |
|
Needs to be tested in dredge, protects bazaar, useful with dread return, only one mana. IMO better than Khalni Garden
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
pierce
Basic User
 
Posts: 325
Part Time Vintage Guru for Hire
|
 |
« Reply #18 on: February 05, 2010, 03:56:53 pm » |
|
Needs to be tested in dredge, protects bazaar, useful with dread return, only one mana. IMO better than Khalni Garden
this is the closest I've seen to a rational use of the card. The card basically is constructed unplayable. In every format. It sets you back in tempo; it's almost like stone raining yourself. Every turn you are forced to choose between using your land for mana (as it was intended) or attacking with it and losing that option. If you are not attacking, you've wasted a card. If you are, you've wasted a land. Either way, you couldn't pay me to play this. It's almost -1 CA.
|
|
|
Logged
|
More like Yangwill!
|
|
|
|