TheManaDrain.com
September 21, 2025, 11:48:54 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: Innistrad - past in flames  (Read 11128 times)
Blue Lotus
Basic User
**
Posts: 389



View Profile
« Reply #30 on: September 23, 2011, 10:26:00 am »

So much for Culling of the Weak.

Another nice synergy is with Flash and Summoner's Pact.  Basically you can Intuition for Past in Flames, Flash and Summoner's Pact.  In theory they should actually just give you Flash in which case you must pay  {R} {4} for Past in Flames, 0 for Summoner's Pact and then  {U} {1} for Flash for the win.  That is 7 mana after an Intuition to win.

Note that giving you Flash is risky since you Potentially have Hulk in hand.  If they give you Pact you could get a Spirit Guide to reduce the cost by 1, but then if Flash is countered you lose.

The problem is all the dead space Flash Needs for combo pieces and with only 1 Flash in the deck I do not think running multiple Protoean Hulks will work out.


I think it would be just better to intuition for rituals and past in flames. That way you can intuition again for three spells and it is essentially a tutor for three cards. Chain intuitions and then profit.

Especially since (and please correct me if I am wrong) a rite of flame cast from the graveyard adds  {R} {R} {R}, as it counts itself when checking to see how much mana is added.
« Last Edit: September 23, 2011, 10:30:45 am by Blue Lotus » Logged
Wagner
Basic User
**
Posts: 820


View Profile
« Reply #31 on: September 23, 2011, 10:32:15 am »

I'm pretty sure it doesn't count itself. When you Flashback it, it's on the stack, not in the graveyard.
Logged
Blue Lotus
Basic User
**
Posts: 389



View Profile
« Reply #32 on: September 23, 2011, 10:47:50 am »

Yeah that makes since.

Well lets see what happens:

EOT Intuition for past, rite, rite

{3}{R} {R} for Past in flames + flashback rite ( {R} {R} {R} floating)

Flashback intuition for intuition + rite + manamorphose ( {R} floating)

Cast rite with two in yard ( {R} {R} {R} {R})

Cast rite with one in yard ( {R} {R} {R} {R} {R} {R})

cast manamorphose ( {R} {R} {R} {R} {R} {U})

Cast intuition getting seething song, manamorphose, tendrils ( {R} {R} {R})

Cast seething song ( {R} {R} {R} {R} {R})

Cast manamorphose ( {R} {R} {R} {B} {B})

Cast tendrils for exactly 10!

So that takes 6 mana after EOT intuition. Not as much as seven but still not great. However, you would have a lot less dead cards and could play tons of rituals. Also, this is a storm deck that could use portent as you only need one intuition to reach 10 storm. And base red means shattering spree maindeck.

edit - Hm, this...doesn't work. Back to the drawing board!

Edit 2

This does work but costs seven to get going, eight if they give you manamorphose.

EOT Intuition for past, seething song, manamorphose

{5} {R} {R} for Past in flames + flashback seething song ( {R} {R} {R} {R} {R} floating)

Cast manamorphose ( {R} {R} {R} {U} {U} )

Cast intuition for intuition + rite of flame + rite of flame ( {R} {U} )

Cast rite, one in graveyard ( {R} {R} {R} {U} )

Cast intuition for rite + manamorphose + tendrils ( {R} )

Cast rite, one in grave ( {R} {R} {R} )

Cast rite ( {R} {R} {R} {R} )

Cast manamorphose ( {R} {R} {B} {B} )

Cast tendrils for exactly 10!

I'm certain there is a better way, but it is powerful to be able to storm to 10 off one card.

Edit 3

As I now read the card...does this only work for cards in the grave at the time past in flames resolves? Because that would be Bolshevism! Pure Bolshevism!
« Last Edit: September 23, 2011, 11:31:09 am by Blue Lotus » Logged
meadbert
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1341


View Profile Email
« Reply #33 on: September 23, 2011, 12:45:37 pm »

I am pretty sure only cards in the graveyard at that time get flashback so Intuition does not count as a 3xDemonic.
Logged

T1: Arsenal
Delha
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1271



View Profile
« Reply #34 on: September 23, 2011, 01:36:56 pm »

I am pretty sure only cards in the graveyard at that time get flashback...
This is correct.

Quote
611.2c If a continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability modifies the characteristics or changes the controller of any objects, the set of objects it affects is determined when that continuous effect begins. After that point, the set won’t change. (Note that this works differently than a continuous effect from a static ability.) A continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability that doesn’t modify the characteristics or change the controller of any objects modifies the rules of the game, so it can affect objects that weren’t affected when that continuous effect began.
Example: An effect that reads “All white creatures get +1/+1 until end of turn” gives the bonus to all permanents that are white creatures when the spell or ability resolves—even if they change color later—and doesn’t affect those that enter the battlefield or turn white afterward.
Example: An effect that reads “Prevent all damage creatures would deal this turn” doesn’t modify any object’s characteristics, so it’s modifying the rules of the game. That means the effect will apply even to damage from creatures that weren’t on the battlefield when the continuous effect began. It also affects damage from permanents that become creatures later in the turn.
Logged

I suppose it's mostly the thought that this format is just one big Mistake; and not even a very sophisticated one at that.
Much like humanity itself.
Blue Lotus
Basic User
**
Posts: 389



View Profile
« Reply #35 on: September 23, 2011, 02:06:02 pm »

I am pretty sure only cards in the graveyard at that time get flashback so Intuition does not count as a 3xDemonic.
Well thats just a bummer.
Logged
Delha
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1271



View Profile
« Reply #36 on: September 23, 2011, 02:11:03 pm »

I am pretty sure only cards in the graveyard at that time get flashback so Intuition does not count as a 3xDemonic.
Well thats just a bummer.
How did you miss this? It was pointed out like four times on the first page of the thread.
Logged

I suppose it's mostly the thought that this format is just one big Mistake; and not even a very sophisticated one at that.
Much like humanity itself.
Blue Lotus
Basic User
**
Posts: 389



View Profile
« Reply #37 on: September 23, 2011, 05:36:14 pm »

I think the key phase there is 'first page'
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.039 seconds with 20 queries.