The Comprehensive Rules state:
409.1e If the spell or ability affects several targets in different ways, the player announces how it will affect each target. If the spell or ability requires the player to divide or distribute an effect (such as damage or counters) among one or more targets, or any number of untargeted objects or players, the player announces the division. Each of these targets, objects, or players must receive at least one of whatever is being divided.
So no you can't target your opponent if you hope to kill that creature.
Cards that target must be have their targets announce when you play the spell. Cards like Cunning Wish do not use the word target so you do not have to let your opponent know which card you are choosing until after it resolves.