TheManaDrain.com
October 04, 2025, 03:05:06 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Fire and Misdirection  (Read 1265 times)
action5
Basic User
**
Posts: 4



View Profile
« on: June 29, 2004, 12:50:11 am »

I searched the rules forum, but couldn't find the answer to my question:  Can Fire (fire/ice) target multiple things, but deal dmg to only a few of those targets?  Example: my opponent has a 2/2 creature in play, misdirection and a blue card in hand and I want to destroy it using fire.  Can I play fire targeting both my opponent and the creature, so that it cannot be misdirected?  Also, on a related note, do I need to assign damage as the spell is cast, or can i assign damage as the spell resolves?  

Thanks in advance.
Logged
Ephraim
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2938


The Casual Adept

LordZakath
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2004, 01:01:25 am »

You can't do this. When dividing something, each target must receive at least one of whatever is being divided.
Logged

Did you know that Red is the color or art and music and passion? Combine that with Green, the color of nature, spiritualism, and community and you get a hippie commune of drum circles, dreamcatchers, and recreational drug use. Let's see that win a Pro Tour.
lilmidget
Basic User
**
Posts: 83



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2004, 01:32:12 am »

The Comprehensive Rules state:

Quote
409.1e If the spell or ability affects several targets in different ways, the player announces how it will affect each target. If the spell or ability requires the player to divide or distribute an effect (such as damage or counters) among one or more targets, or any number of untargeted objects or players, the player announces the division. Each of these targets, objects, or players must receive at least one of whatever is being divided.


So no you can't target your opponent if you hope to kill that creature.

Cards that target must be have their targets announce when you play the spell. Cards like Cunning Wish do not use the word target so you do not have to let your opponent know which card you are choosing until after it resolves.
Logged

it's nice to be back.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.024 seconds with 19 queries.