TheManaDrain.com
November 03, 2025, 02:38:52 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Jebus´ Nightmare  (Read 1240 times)
Gabethebabe
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 693



View Profile
« on: September 03, 2004, 05:47:39 am »

Time Stop.
It should have been called "Jebus´ Nightmare"

We don´t know what exactly will be the FAQ on Jebus´ Nightmare but suppose this happens:

Turn 5 after time has called.

Player 1 is comboing and has Necro-ed to 1 life, he has BB in the mana pool and casts Ritual (planning to end the game with Tendrils). However, in response to the Ritual Player 2 plays Jebus´ Nightmare. What happens?

Mana burn to 0?
Not lose the game because SBE are not checked after the resolution of JN?

Great stuff
Logged
JSexton
Basic User
**
Posts: 35



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2004, 12:35:18 pm »

Hard to say without the FAQ. We don't know whther the mana pool will clear, or whether a player wil take burn. It certainly seems that they would burn, as the current phase is certainly ending. SBEs don't get check until a player would receive priority. Typically, that happens after resolution of a spell.

Note that it would appear that Time Step, technically, never quite finishes resolving. It's still on the stack after its only line of rules text happens, and I think that means it gets removed fromt he game along with everything else on the stack, and doesn't get a chance to hit the graveyard.

With that in mind (assuming I'm correct), SBEs won't be checked until the beginning of next turns upkeep, which won't happen in this scenario. Therefore, it would result in a drawn game.
Logged

--
Justin
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2004, 06:45:54 pm »

I don't have any comments on this card at this time.  I'm waiting for more info on exactly what it does.  When I have that, I'll post a follow up and answer the question.
Logged
Philatio
Basic User
**
Posts: 134


It's not just an astrological sign anymore.


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2004, 06:48:10 am »

Well, it's on Saturday School this morning.  The long and short of it is that the player will mana burn to death.

     I don't know, the effect seems to be a very clean one and not too confusing.  I don't think it is that much of a nightmare for Jebus.  I can see however it leading to disagreements of players on what the game state was right when playing Time Stop is some complicated things were going on.

--------------------
Time Stop






One of the biggest buzzes surrounding Champions has come from Time Stop. “End the turn.� It's simple. And yes, it's oh so effective.



The official rules for ending the turn are as follows:



509. Ending the Turn



509.1. One card (Time Stop) ends the turn when it resolves. When an effect ends the turn, follow these steps in order, as they differ from the normal process for resolving spells and abilities (see rule 413, "Resolving Spells and Abilities").



509.1a Remove every object on the stack from the game. Remove all attacking and blocking creatures, if any, from combat. All objects not in play or on the stack that aren't represented by cards will cease to exist the next time state-based effects are checked (see rule 420, "State-Based Effects").



509.1b Check state-based effects. No player gets priority, and no triggered abilities are put onto the stack.



509.1c The current phase and/or step ends. The game skips straight to the cleanup step. Skip any phases or steps between this phase or step and the cleanup step.



509.2. No player gets priority during this process, so triggered abilities are not put onto the stack. If any triggered abilities have triggered between the spell or ability resolving and the cleanup step ending, there's a chance to play spells and abilities in the cleanup step. Then there will be another cleanup step before the turn finally ends (see rule 314.3).



509.3. Even though the turn ends, "at end of turn" triggered abilities don't trigger because the end of turn step is skipped.



Q: I was wondering about Time Stop, which was previewed a couple of days ago. If I play it on the extra turn I got from Final Fortune, will I lose or will I simply have gotten an extra turn –Arthur



A: Turn? What turn? Nope, your Final Fortune Turn ends long before your fortunes become final.





Q: Does Time Stop's effect works on un-counterable spells? --Vittorio G.



A: Yes. The spells aren't countered; they're just removed from the game.





Q: What about combat damage?



A: Damage resolved is removed from the creatures. Damage on the stack goes away.





Q: Does Time Stop combo with Waylay?



A: It depends. If you play TS before the at end of turn trigger happens, then no. If you respond to the trigger with TS, then the trigger goes away, and the tokens remain.





Q: Does Time Stop make you mana burn?



A: If a player has mana in his or her pool when Time Stop resolves, he or she will burn.





Q: Does Time Stop ever resolve?



A: The spell will finish resolving, but the card will be removed from the game in the process.
Logged

Cancer is just a state of mind.
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2004, 10:52:44 am »

That's all I was waiting for.

It isn't so much of a nightmare once I have rules to back it up.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.037 seconds with 17 queries.