asmoranomardicodais
|
 |
« on: July 06, 2005, 07:07:34 pm » |
|
I've wanted these cards for such a long time its not funny. This has been decided as a white ability, and they did it as such on otherworldly journey, but they still haven't made it for permanents. So, without further ado, the white counterspell, in two versions:
I'm better than flicker 1W Instant Remove target creature from the game, and then put it back into play under its owner's control.
I'm better than flicker too! WW Instant Remove target permanent from the game. At end of phase, put it back into play under its owner's control.
I want the first one for mystic snake, and the second is so flexible it could find its way into many a deck. What do you think?
I'm better than flicker 1W Instant Remove target non-token creature from the game, and then put it back into play under its owner's control.
I'm better than flicker too! WW Instant Remove target permanent from the game. At end of phase, put it back into play under its owner's control.
|
|
« Last Edit: July 07, 2005, 01:07:21 pm by asmoranomardicodais »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Moderator
Basic User
    
Posts: 2297
King of the Jews!
|
 |
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2005, 08:36:50 pm » |
|
Yeah that's what I want Flicker to be too. Make them say "nontoken" though, and get a current wording post.
|
|
|
Logged
|
http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF---------------------- SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar ---------------------- noitcelfeRmaeT {Team Hindsight}
|
|
|
|
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Moderator
Basic User
    
Posts: 2297
King of the Jews!
|
 |
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2005, 12:33:42 pm » |
|
I think it's because with OJ, there's time in between when state-based effects are checked. With Flicker, there's not (you don't check SBEs in the middle of resolving a spell) so you actually have a token existing in a zone besides the in-play zone. I think it's some rules confusion like that.
|
|
|
Logged
|
http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF---------------------- SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar ---------------------- noitcelfeRmaeT {Team Hindsight}
|
|
|
The Atog Lord
|
 |
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2005, 01:03:04 pm » |
|
Matt's right. This would let a Token leave and then actually return -- and that's very illegal.
|
|
|
Logged
|
The Academy: If I'm not dead, I have a Dragonlord Dromoka coming in 4 turns
|
|
|
Shadow-Walker
|
 |
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2005, 02:35:59 pm » |
|
Ah, right.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
    
Posts: 8074
When am I?
|
 |
« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2005, 04:42:39 pm » |
|
That second one should read "at end of turn", because that's how everyone will read it anyway.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Team Meandeck: O Lord, Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile. To those who slander me, let me give no heed. May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
|
|
|
asmoranomardicodais
|
 |
« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2005, 09:00:19 pm » |
|
I don't want it to be end of turn, I want to be able to use it on my Eternal Witness on my upkeep, and be able to use the card the witness ges back main phase. Or save a creature from a dark banishing on the opponents main phase and still be able to block.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Moderator
Basic User
    
Posts: 2297
King of the Jews!
|
 |
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2005, 10:26:29 pm » |
|
I don't think we need the second one at all.
|
|
|
Logged
|
http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF---------------------- SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar ---------------------- noitcelfeRmaeT {Team Hindsight}
|
|
|
asmoranomardicodais
|
 |
« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2005, 01:51:07 pm » |
|
But one of the reasons to have this card is to remove blockers, which the first one can't do. As well, I wanted to get permanents with this, not just creatures.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Norm4eva
|
 |
« Reply #10 on: July 09, 2005, 06:38:49 pm » |
|
There's probably no Flicker for permanents because of stuff like Parallax Wave. Being able to re-Tolarian Academy/Gaea's Cradle for WW is a touch questionable, even if I have to move phases to do it. Also being able to reset the counters on Parallax Wave is pretty sweet when you couple the card with its other various applications.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
asmoranomardicodais
|
 |
« Reply #11 on: July 10, 2005, 12:37:29 am » |
|
I don't think you can reset the counters on Parallax Wave, just like you can't Flicker a spike drone and have it come back with counters. At least that's the way I hope it works (while still triggering comes into play effects, like Man-o-War and eternal witness). If it doesn't work that way, how can we word it so it does?
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Godder
|
 |
« Reply #12 on: July 10, 2005, 01:00:55 am » |
|
When a permanent leaves play, and later returns to play (excluding phasing), it's considered a new permanent i.e. would be untapped, and also triggers all leaves play and comes into play abilities, so a Parallax Wave would have five tokens, a Spike Weaver would have three tokens etc.
Making stuff happen at the end of main phases is bad, because you both pass, it triggers, resolves, and then it's the Main Phase with an empty stack i.e. not the end of the Phase at all.
At the beginning of the next Phase works, although then there might be problems with the Beginning Phase (i.e. Untap Step).
|
|
|
Logged
|
That's what I like about you, Laura - you're always willing to put my neck on the line.
|
|
|
Norm4eva
|
 |
« Reply #13 on: July 10, 2005, 04:42:45 pm » |
|
Anytime something would happen during untap, it happens at the beginning of upkeep. There's a rule for this somewhere but I don't recall the site to reference it, thought I had it bookmarked. Doing the standard end of turn thing might make the second card less weird, but it's still untapping things that shouldn't untap for WW. That's decidedly Blue, even though Flickering is White (but that's why it only does it to critters - they return to play with summoning sickness and so barring circumstance there's less opportunity for untapping tricks). You could put a weird clause on it like "That permanent can't tap and its activated abilities can't be played until its controller's next upkeep" but that's wordy as hell.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Shadow-Walker
|
 |
« Reply #14 on: July 10, 2005, 05:48:40 pm » |
|
Or "into play tapped".
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|