TheManaDrain.com
September 11, 2025, 06:04:02 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Contagion  (Read 847 times)
Cancerman
Guest
« on: January 09, 2003, 03:19:29 pm »

My opponent has 2 creatures: mogg fanatic and jackal pup. I cast contagion targeting both creatures. In response, sacrifices his fanatic to deal 1 damage on me. Does contagion fizzle or do i get to put 2 -2/-1 counters on the pup even though he has only one life?

Thx

 
Logged
Anonymous
Guest
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2003, 06:45:00 pm »

The spell is already on the stack and targeted.  You take 1 damage from the fanatic and one counter is put on the pup killing him.  The other counter no longer has a legal target and is irrelevant.  (Pretty sure thats what happens but I am not gonna claim to be a judge or anything like that)
Logged
Puschkin
Guest
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2003, 09:13:33 pm »

Fist off, spells do not fizzle anymore, they are countered instead. And they only fizzle/get countered this way, if all legal targets are gone. Important here: If the card would have additional effects, those effects do not take place!

Example: Instead of Contagion lets say you used Ashes to Ashes on those two creatures. Ashes to Ashes reads:

Remove two target non-artifact creatures from the game. Ashes to Ashes deals 5 damage to you.

If your opponent responses with saccing the Fanatic in resonse, Ashes to Ashes would still remove the Pup and would still deal 5 damage to the caster of Ashes to Ashes.
If the red player also manages to get rid of the Pup, say, by saccing it to a Goblin Bombardment, then Ashes to Shes would be countered upon resolution and thus would deal no damage to the caster.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.024 seconds with 17 queries.