TheManaDrain.com
September 11, 2025, 12:22:31 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bonesplitter & Humility  (Read 2782 times)
Legend
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 133



View Profile
« on: February 01, 2004, 10:41:33 am »

I suspect that Bonesplitter (or any other power-enhancing equipment, or other permanent power-enhancers such as Tooth of Chiss-Goria) allow its controller to get around a Humility. The Humility turns all creatures into 1/1's with no abilities. I put a Bonesplitter onto one of my creatures - can the creature now hit as a 3/1 for 3 damage? Does this also apply/not apply for non-equipment pump cards such as Rancor? What about one-shot pump such as Giant Growth?
Logged
Dr. Sylvan
TMD Oracle and Uber-Melvin
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1973



View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2004, 11:23:40 am »

Ask The Judge: Humility
Quote
Q: Humility makes creatures 1/1 even if the have enchantments like Holy Strength on them... Right? But does it also negate the effect of, say, a Hatred or a Howl from Beyond?
Thanks,
Patrick

A: Patrick,
Not quite right. It depends in which order the Humility and Holy Strength came into play; you apply them in order. If Humility was first and then Holy Strength, your creatures is 2/3. The other way around, it's 1/1. Humility will not negate a Howl from Beyond or Hatred.
Sheldon

I'm presuming this means that you have to change the timestamp of the equipping by shifting it onto another creature and then back. If it's on your only creature when Humility comes into play, you're stuck with a 1/1 until you can change the timestamp somehow.
Logged

Legend
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 133



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2004, 11:32:46 am »

So if I have two or more creatures and a Bonesplitter, I can get around Humility? If anyone can provide more detail on this matter, and also clarify how this works for other cards such as Rancor, Giant Growth, and Tooth of Chiss-Goria, that would be good. I had also looked at that "Ask The Judge" from starcity.com, but it did not really clarify the matter all that well for me. Does moving equipment around in fact change the "timestamp?" What about if I have only one creature in play, but I moved a Bonesplitter onto it for the first time? How about if I had a Bonesplittered creature as my only creature, then the Humility came into play? The matter remains somewhat unclear to me.
Logged
Dr. Sylvan
TMD Oracle and Uber-Melvin
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1973



View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2004, 11:39:24 am »

Well the example is for Holy Strength, so I'm confident Rancor works identically. I believe the other effects are also determined by timestamp.

Judges?
Logged

Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2004, 12:06:33 pm »

Pump effects that happen after Humility comes into play get around it. Everything from Giant Growth to Crusade, IF the Crusade come into play after the Humility. If it came before, Humility overrides it. At least this is how it was prior to 8th eidition, I know they made some minor modifications to the rules governing continuous effects.
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2004, 02:22:29 pm »

To expand on Equipment, the timestamp for the Equipment is based on when it becomes attached to the creature.

418.5e An object’s timestamp is the time it entered the zone it’s currently in, with three exceptions:
(1) If two or more objects enter a zone (or zones) simultaneously, the active player determines
their timestamp order at the time they enter that zone. (2) Whenever a local enchantment or
Equipment becomes attached to a permanent, the enchantment or Equipment receives a new
timestamp. (3) Permanents that phase in keep the same timestamps they had when they phased
out.


So, if a Humility and a Bonesplitter is in play, Equipping a creature will yield a 3/1.

If a creature is already equipped when the Humility resolves, then it becomes a 1/1 until you can attach the Bonesplitter to it again (move it to something else, then move it back).
Logged
Legend
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 133



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2004, 03:20:07 pm »

Thank you.
Logged
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #7 on: February 01, 2004, 04:03:22 pm »

So Mirrodin's gonna beat Tempest, then?
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
Legend
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 133



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: February 01, 2004, 04:10:50 pm »

Already happened. I played the finals with Negator last night, and Mirrodin won the championship 3-1.  We played the match as if Bonesplitter could get around Humility - the purpose of this thread was merely to confirm that what we had done was in fact correct. Although we were fairly sure that this was the proper ruling, I did not want to take any chances. The match report is up in the Casual Mill, along with all the other late-round match reports.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.039 seconds with 18 queries.