TheManaDrain.com
November 16, 2025, 01:58:15 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Tapped Artifacts, Berserk, Wishes.  (Read 4466 times)
Tijnie
Basic User
**
Posts: 63


NaarTijnie@Hotmail.com
View Profile
« on: March 07, 2004, 05:57:11 am »

Hi there, thank you so much for helping me out  Wink (you are, are you?)

First off, this al started with rumors, I'm not sure about anything here and haven't noticed this while playing yet. lets start with the Wish since that is the Easy-est question.

Cunning Wish/Burning Wish or whatever, when I play this card is my opponent now allowed to look at my sideboard?? I've checked the oracle but I can't find anything about any ruling like this.

Quote

Errata:  Choose a sorcery card you own from outside the game, reveal that card, and put it into your hand.  Remove Burning Wish from the game.

Can acquire cards which are removed from the game by other cards, such as Ice Cauldron, Elkin Bottle, Necropotence, etc.  Such cards are in the "removed from game" zone.  [Judgment FAQ 2002/05/28]

Cannot acquire cards that are phased out or in an Oubliette or Tawnos's Coffin.  Those cards are in the Phased Out zone and not in the Removed from Game zone. [D'Angelo 2002/06/14]  See Rule 502.15.

Cannot acquire the Ante cards.  They are considered still "in the game" as are cards in the library and the graveyard. [D'Angelo 2002/06/14]

Does not allow you to look at face-down cards which are in the removed from game zone.  You get to see the chosen card at the same time your opponent does, when you reveal it. [D'Angelo 2002/06/14]  You do get to tell each set of face down cards from other sets based on which effect removed the cards from the game.  If you want to pick from a face down set, you take a random card from it.  For example, if your hand is
removed with Suppress, you can see your hand there face down and you can pick a random card from it.  If you used Necropotence twice, each time was a separate effect and put the one card separately face down.  You can pick either one, assuming you remember which is which. [Barclay 2002/05/16]

In Duelist Convocation tournament play, it can only bring cards from your sideboard or ones that were removed from the game by a spell or ability. [Judgment FAQ 2002/05/28]  If you remove a card from the sideboard, this card is placed into your sideboard to maintain the size of the sideboard. [Judgment FAQ 2002/05/28]  If this spell is somehow played using a pseudo-spell (such as with Mirari), then there will be no card to put in your
sideboard.  This is approved under the rules. [WotC Rules Team 2002/10/01]

In Duelist Convocation tournament play, you may look at your sideboard during the resolution of this spell.  Normally, you cannot look at your sideboard during a game.


ques I don't have to, but a guy on MWS (he looked prety serious, nice playing and good deck. said he played alot IRL too so...) he told me I had to before the wish would resolve so he could think some stratergy up.. crap or true??.

------------------------

Well, the other thing is about artifacts, for howling Mine they finely wrote it on the card.

Quote
Info:  Color = Artifact  Type = Artifact              Cost = 2       Edition =  5th Edition (5E)

Errata:  At the beginning of each player's draw step, if Howling Mine is untapped, that player draws a card.

The additional draw is separate from any other draw during your draw step. It happens when the triggered ability resolves. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]

It does not trigger at all if this is tapped at the start of the draw step, and it checks this again on resolution. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]

If Howling Mine leaves play before it resolves, then the last known tap or untap state of the card is used for resolution. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]


So if its tapped, no drawing for me.. okay that sounds prety clear. but does this go for any artifact with trigered abilities?? I've heard something about ruling like this but never actually needed this, with my new deck (toggie) I've to know since fire/Ice can be tech, like so many other things ofcourse.

-----------------------

last one, Berserk. I know all the rulings and stuff, this is just a small timing question.

Okay here goes, i play berserk, my opponent says he won't counter it, can I in respond discard my hand to make my Psychatog really big and dubble its power after that?? yes I know this is possible, but can my opponent respond by countering the berserk anyway?? just a small question, but very handy to know  Twisted Evil

Thanks for reading, hope you can help me out of this hole of complete darkness..

Greetings, Tijnie
Logged

Desperate men can do Desperate things in Desperate situations...
DEA
Basic User
**
Posts: 384



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2004, 06:43:45 am »

the burning wish i'll leave to judges
the tapped artifacts, iirc, are trinisphere, winter orb, static orb and howling mine
correct me if there're others

as for wish-> berserk
if you pass priority after berserk, the opponent can choose not to respond
ie the berserk resolves, and you CANNOT pitch anymore cards to make it bigger
ie, berserk is make it or break it
if he counters it, you may then pitch everything and counter back, but you may not bait counters using berserk in the manner you described
Logged

i need red mana
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2004, 11:26:20 am »

Berserk:

You cast Berserk, putting it on the stack. You have priority (you may play Tog's abilities). One of two things happens:

a) Assuming you don't, you pass priority to me. I cast Counterspell, targetting Berserk. Counterspell goes on the stack, I pass priority to you. You may now activate Tog abilities or counter back, or whatever.

b) You pass priority to me, and I pass back. Since all players have passed in succession, the Berserk resolves before anyone gets priority again (you need priority to play Tog's activated abilities). So if you pass, and then I pass, the very next thing that happens is resolution of Berserk.

You have to pump Tog before the Berserk resolves (i.e. in response to the Berserk) unless your opponent responds to the Berserk.

About artifacts:
Once upon a time, all artifacts "turned off" while tapped. This hasn't been the case for many years now, however, and now if an artifact's Oracle wording doesn't say explicitly that it turns off, then it doesn't. Only a few cards turn off. A list follows.

Watchdog
Voodoo Doll
Static Orb
Howling Mine
Blinkmoth Urn
Winter Orb
Storage Matrix
Trinisphere
Thunderstaff
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2004, 12:18:16 pm »

Hi!

Everyone else is right about the Artifacts and Berserk, so I'll cover the wishes.

The Sideboard is not a public zone.  Your opponent can never look at it, under any circumstances.
Logged
Tristal
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 233


Knocks you all down


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2004, 02:58:50 pm »

I hate to bring up the trite example here, but I'm pretty sure they can look at it if they've Mindslavered you and you're casting a Wish.
Logged

No longer a DCI Level 1 Judge.  Just a guy who likes rules knowledge.
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2004, 03:18:11 pm »

Quote from: Tristal
I hate to bring up the trite example here, but I'm pretty sure they can look at it if they've Mindslavered you and you're casting a Wish.


Ok, this should be the only exception.
Logged
Lockdown
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 179



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2004, 07:06:35 pm »

Just to clarify, is there a difference between the sideboard and the removed from game zone?

Quote
217.7 - Removed from the Game

    * 217.7a - Effects can remove objects from the game. Some effects may provide a way for a card to return to a zone and use the term "set aside." Cards that are set aside this way are still removed from the game, even though that removal may be temporary. Objects that aren't cards can't be returned in any way. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    * 217.7b - Cards in the removed-from-the-game zone are kept face up and may be examined by either player at any time. Cards "removed from the game face down" can't be examined by either player except when instructions allow it. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    * 217.7c - Cards that might return to play should be kept in separate piles to keep track of their respective ways of returning. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
Logged

You have the right to say what you wish, and I have the right to deny it.
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #7 on: March 07, 2004, 07:43:05 pm »

Quote from: Lockdown
Just to clarify, is there a difference between the sideboard and the removed from game zone?

Quote
217.7 - Removed from the Game

    * 217.7a - Effects can remove objects from the game. Some effects may provide a way for a card to return to a zone and use the term "set aside." Cards that are set aside this way are still removed from the game, even though that removal may be temporary. Objects that aren't cards can't be returned in any way. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    * 217.7b - Cards in the removed-from-the-game zone are kept face up and may be examined by either player at any time. Cards "removed from the game face down" can't be examined by either player except when instructions allow it. [CompRules 2003/07/01]
    * 217.7c - Cards that might return to play should be kept in separate piles to keep track of their respective ways of returning. [CompRules 2003/07/01]


Yes.  The are completely seperate.
Logged
Lockdown
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 179



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: March 07, 2004, 07:47:19 pm »

And you can still wish for cards from both, right?  For example, after somebody Tormod's Crypt your graveyard, can you Cunning Wish for something that was removed by it?
Logged

You have the right to say what you wish, and I have the right to deny it.
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #9 on: March 07, 2004, 08:19:25 pm »

Quote from: Lockdown
And you can still wish for cards from both, right?  For example, after somebody Tormod's Crypt your graveyard, can you Cunning Wish for something that was removed by it?

Yes.

And note also that cards removed from the game face down can't be looked at by either player, while cards removed normally can be seen by everyone.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: March 07, 2004, 08:27:35 pm »

Also, except during the resolution of a Wish or Ring of Ma'Ruf, it is illegal to look at your own sideboard.
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
The Grim Reaper
Basic User
**
Posts: 144



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: March 07, 2004, 09:27:57 pm »

Quote from: Matt
Also, except during the resolution of a Wish or Ring of Ma'Ruf, it is illegal to look at your own sideboard.


Are you serious? I look at my sideboard all the time while playing... and no one ever says anything...

I don't see whats wrong with looking at it...
Logged
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: March 07, 2004, 09:33:51 pm »

It's in the M:TG DCI Floor Rules, #122.

It's the same as looking at cards that have been RFG'd face-down (like off a Jar). When dealing with cards not in the current game, either every player can look at them, or no player can.

I like the SB rule. It makes you have to know what your Wish targets are before you look.
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #13 on: March 07, 2004, 09:42:26 pm »

Also, because your opponent never sees your SB cards, you could dedicate one SB slot to a blank card with notes written on it without anyone knowing (you'd have a 16th, "real" card for deck-checks). But, since you can't look at your sb during a game, this wouldn't work. Outside notes are illegal during a match, and it's important to have no loopholes.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
DEA
Basic User
**
Posts: 384



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: March 07, 2004, 09:54:46 pm »

Quote from: Jacob Orlove
Outside notes are illegal during a match, so it's important to have no loopholes.


what you described smells like cheating, to me at least
Logged

i need red mana
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #15 on: March 07, 2004, 10:55:22 pm »

Well, looking at your SB is cheating. That was just one of the reasons for the policy.

Another would be players switching cards between their hand and sb after game 1.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
DEA
Basic User
**
Posts: 384



View Profile
« Reply #16 on: March 07, 2004, 11:56:41 pm »

that's not my point
it sounded to you as though you advocate having a blank card with notes in your SB simply because one CAN abuse the SB rules
Logged

i need red mana
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #17 on: March 08, 2004, 12:30:44 am »

Quote from: DEA
that's not my point
it sounded to you as though you advocate having a blank card with notes in your SB simply because one CAN abuse the SB rules


No, he was giving a good reason why you can't look at your sideboard during a match.  So you can't cheat.

He not promoting cheating.
Logged
DEA
Basic User
**
Posts: 384



View Profile
« Reply #18 on: March 08, 2004, 12:43:43 am »

ah
brain fart there
Logged

i need red mana
Gabethebabe
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 693



View Profile
« Reply #19 on: March 09, 2004, 09:57:54 am »

Quote from: Matt


You have to pump Tog before the Berserk resolves (i.e. in response to the Berserk) unless your opponent responds to the Berserk.


The unless part of this phrase is incorrect. Your opponent canīt respond to Berserk unless you allow him to (by passing priority).
Logged
DEA
Basic User
**
Posts: 384



View Profile
« Reply #20 on: March 09, 2004, 10:44:59 am »

we're just arguing semantics here
matt just means that if the opponent passes as well, no pumping of the tog can occur
ie you have to pump in response to the berserk, or pump before the berserk

i think my first reply sums it up pretty well
Logged

i need red mana
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: March 09, 2004, 11:07:20 am »

Quote
you have to pump in response to the berserk, or pump before the berserk

No, I was adding on a third way - if your opponent responds to the Berserk in some fashion, you'll be getting priority back before the Berserk resolves (giving you another opportunity to pump).
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
DEA
Basic User
**
Posts: 384



View Profile
« Reply #22 on: March 09, 2004, 11:10:23 am »

Quote from: DEA
if he counters it, you may then pitch everything and counter back, but you may not bait counters using berserk in the manner you described


what i said Smile
Logged

i need red mana
CmdrSam
Basic User
**
Posts: 40


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: March 10, 2004, 05:07:53 am »

Quote from: Jebus
Quote from: Tristal
I hate to bring up the trite example here, but I'm pretty sure they can look at it if they've Mindslavered you and you're casting a Wish.


Ok, this should be the only exception.


What about Jester's Sombrero?

--Sam L-L
Logged
Lockdown
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 179



View Profile
« Reply #24 on: March 10, 2004, 08:12:38 am »

It's not a legal card seeing as how it's from Unglued.
Logged

You have the right to say what you wish, and I have the right to deny it.
virtual
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 203



View Profile
« Reply #25 on: March 23, 2004, 05:54:49 pm »

During your combat phases, (Say declare attackers phase), can you cast a spell.  Pass priority.  Let it resolve.  After it has resolved, cast another spell before you move to your next combat phase?

Aka, do you control when the changing of combat phases takes place?

Lastly.  If outside notes are not allowed, would you be allowed to bring a rule book to the game?  What about a Judge's Handbook?  If so, and you have a rules question, would you be allowed to look it up?

-Virtual
Logged

Team White Lotus:  Out Producing U since 1995.

Anyone near LA who wants to play, TWL tests about once a week, send me a PM.
TracerBullet
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 577


TracerBullet1000
View Profile Email
« Reply #26 on: March 23, 2004, 08:09:13 pm »

I have to imagine that it is legal for each player to have a copy of the DCI Floor Rules and the Comprehensive Rules with them, but no other judging resources, as there is the possibility that they could be considered notes.  With nearly all rules though, it's up to the discretion of the head judge.  


On the steps/phases question- each player must pass priority on an empty stack before you can move onto the next step/phase.  This means that after allowing a spell to resolve during a step (say, a lightning bolt during the declare attackers step), each player will recieve priority again before it moves onto the next step.
Logged

The room is on fire, and she's fixin' her hair...
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.079 seconds with 18 queries.