TheManaDrain.com
December 24, 2025, 03:22:24 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: mind's desire question  (Read 1936 times)
dotshammer
Basic User
**
Posts: 12


View Profile
« on: April 02, 2004, 12:10:39 am »

Hi,

       I have a question  that I am looking for the answer to. I Have 3 cards in my hand(stroke of Genius,impulse, and mind's desire). I cast Mind's Desire and it resolves along with its storm count of 16. Idraw 16 cards and begin to play them. Now since Mind's Desire reads "you may play with it though it were in your hand". I have then casted 4 Meditates and and gotten 16 new cards for which they should go to my origional hand if I'm correct. I then attempt to cast Stroke of Genius with the 17 cards in hand and the judge(the "LVL 2 judge") said I couldn't cast the stroke of genius b/c of Mind's Desire. I even told him the stroke was in my hand prior to Mind's Desire resolving. So my question is would the stroke hane went off from the cards from the meditates, or I couldn't have done it due to the fact of the Mind's Desire resolving.
Logged
Lord of Water
Basic User
**
Posts: 22

Goblin+Admiral
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2004, 12:16:41 am »

I think you misplayed Mind's Desire. When you play it, you remove the cards from the game and then can play them as though they were in your hand. They never actually go to your hand. The cards origionally in your hand and card drawn with card drawing spells will not be affected by mind's desire at all.
Logged

Team Beebles - nuking foil commons 5 years running!

"Who gives a nickname to a nickname, honestly?"
 -ZherBarge
dotshammer
Basic User
**
Posts: 12


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2004, 12:32:02 am »

Yes, I know they are removed from the game I was just asking when I casted mind's desire and it resolved I drew 16 cards. Out of the 16 were 4 meditates. I cast all 4 meditates and put those 16 cards in my origional hand along with the stroke and impulse. Then I tried to cast Stroke of genius on someone to kill them during their next turn but the judge said I couldn't due to the fact of mind's desire resolving saying it doesnt matter what I pay into the stroke its still going to be X and since mind's desire says x is equal to zero he said my stroke would be for zero
Logged
jpmeyer
fancy having a go at it?
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2390


badplayermeyer
View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2004, 12:33:50 am »

You're not supposed to draw anything
Logged

Team Meandeck: "As much as I am a clueless, credit-stealing, cheating homo I do think we would do well to consider the current stage of the Vintage community." -Smmenen
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2004, 12:40:05 am »

If you had the desire cards set aside face up, then there shouldn't have been any confusion. Since you were playing the stroke normally, you could have paid whatever you wanted for X.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
rvs
cybernetically enhanced
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2083


You can never have enough Fling!

morfling@chello.nl MoreFling1983NL
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2004, 01:11:11 am »

I'd say it's probably a misunderstanding. The judge must have thought you got the stroke out of the desire.
Logged

I can break chairs, therefore I am greater than you.

Team ISP: And as a finishing touch, god created The Dutch!
JSexton
Basic User
**
Posts: 35



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2004, 02:42:15 pm »

OK, let's back up. Here is how Mind's Desire should be played.  Announce it. When you do, it's storm ability triggers, placing X number of copies on the stack. Those resolve one at a time. Each time they do, you shuffle your library and remove the top card from it, face up. You may then play that card _as though_ it is in your hand, though you do not actually put it there.

Between resolution of copies of the Desire, you may play other instants from your hand as normal, paying their mana costs; and/or Desired cards from the RFG zone for free. X for Desired spells will be zero, X for cards from your hand can be whatever you choose to pay.

Card that you actually draw from something like Meditate go to your hand, and are played normally.

If you play the card properly, you shouldn't run into any trouble.
Logged

--
Justin
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.029 seconds with 18 queries.