TheManaDrain.com
September 30, 2025, 09:27:08 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: multiple jars and eot  (Read 2016 times)
DEA
Basic User
**
Posts: 384



View Profile
« on: April 03, 2004, 09:05:09 pm »

when you have multiple jars being activated in one turn, which hands do each player keep?
are the hands they draw (2 hands total) from each jar tied together, or can each player choose one hand of their liking?

ie jar hand 1 player A, jar hand 1 player B and so on
at eot, hands become
jar hand X player A, jar hand Y player B
Logged

i need red mana
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2004, 10:39:49 pm »

Essentially, you'll get multiple Jar EOT triggers on the stack at end of turn.  Each one is tied to a particular activation, so each one returns a particular hand you set aside.

By manipulating this, you'll be able to get whichever hand you want that was set aside.  You opponent's hand will be tied to whichever one you decide to keep, as the hand they return is also dependent on that particular Jar activation.

Note that you cannot look at those hands while they are removed from the game, so try to remember what was in each one.
Logged
DEA
Basic User
**
Posts: 384



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2004, 08:51:38 am »

ok, got it
this came up and we weren't sure if each jar activation caused the 2 hands to be 'bonded'
thanks
Logged

i need red mana
virtual
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 203



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2004, 06:31:06 pm »

Regarding remembering which one was in each one.  

I know you cannot bring notes into a game, however you can write notes during a game.  

Can you write a note during the game that your opponent cannot see? Or must notes be open.  

-Virtual
Logged

Team White Lotus:  Out Producing U since 1995.

Anyone near LA who wants to play, TWL tests about once a week, send me a PM.
FORCE-OF-WILL
Basic User
**
Posts: 67



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2004, 06:51:05 pm »

Im 90% sure the opponent has the right to see all of your notes...
Logged

Level 1 DCI and UDE Judge.
Power Drinker.
Number of type 1 tournies won: 4
rvs
cybernetically enhanced
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2083


You can never have enough Fling!

morfling@chello.nl MoreFling1983NL
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2004, 02:24:57 am »

Quote from: FORCE-OF-WILL
Im 90% sure the opponent has the right to see all of your notes...


Where does it say that? Surprised
Logged

I can break chairs, therefore I am greater than you.

Team ISP: And as a finishing touch, god created The Dutch!
FORCE-OF-WILL
Basic User
**
Posts: 67



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2004, 11:06:18 am »

wow- im 90% wrong on this one......damn i guess i DID get screwed at at PTQ.....
Logged

Level 1 DCI and UDE Judge.
Power Drinker.
Number of type 1 tournies won: 4
Impulse
Basic User
**
Posts: 3



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2004, 04:20:20 pm »

What happens eot when Yawgmoth's Will is cast and multiple jar abillities trigger? Does each hand get removed from the game or can that player choose to have will's effect end first?
Logged

I'm neither inteligent nor witty enough to think of a signature so this must do ... SPAM!
Team Bonk's Army: were crazy, really crazy
Toad
Crazy Frenchman
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2152


112347045 yoshipd@hotmail.com toadtmd
View Profile
« Reply #8 on: April 07, 2004, 05:06:23 pm »

Jar has a triggered ability that is triggered at the beginning of the End of turn step. Yawgmoth's Will has a continuous effect that stops during the Cleanup step. Cleanup step is after the End of Turn step so you can't end Yawgmoth's Will effects before you discard your hand.
Logged
Lucentspirit
Basic User
**
Posts: 75


Lucent_spirit
View Profile
« Reply #9 on: April 07, 2004, 09:32:26 pm »

How does Memory jar interact with Necropotence at end of turn? Do cards set aside by necro get discarded with your hand at EOT, do they go to your choice of hand, or do they automaticaly go to the hand you choose to keep?
Logged
Toad
Crazy Frenchman
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2152


112347045 yoshipd@hotmail.com toadtmd
View Profile
« Reply #10 on: April 08, 2004, 03:29:37 am »

Assuming you are the controller of both Necropotence and Memory Jar, both Necro and Jar triggers will go on the stack at the beginning of your End of turn step. As you control both effects, you choose the order they are put in the stack. If you stack the Necropotence's effect first, you'll discard then get your Necro'ed cards, hence you'll keep them. If you stack the Jar's effect first, you'll have to discard your Necro'ed cards.

Because this is looking tricky for many of you, here are the relevant rules :

End Phase
312.1 - The end phase consists of two steps: end of turn and cleanup.

End of Turn Step
313.1 - As the end of turn step begins, all abilities that trigger "at end of turn" go on the stack. Then the active player gets priority and players may play spells and abilities.

Cleanup Step
314.1 - If the active player's hand contains more cards than his or her maximum hand size (normally seven), he or she discards enough cards to reduce the hand size to that number (this game action doesn't use the stack).
314.2 - Simultaneously, all damage is removed from permanents and all "until end of turn" and "this turn" effects end (this game action doesn't use the stack).

Handling Triggered abilities
410.3 - If multiple abilities have triggered since the last time a player received priority, the abilities controlled by the active player go on the stack first, in any order he or she chooses, then those controlled by the opponent go on the stack in any order that opponent chooses.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.03 seconds with 17 queries.