TheManaDrain.com
December 22, 2025, 05:21:35 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Standstill  (Read 1573 times)
vex
Basic User
**
Posts: 9

empedian
View Profile
« on: April 07, 2004, 02:56:41 pm »

Hi,

If there is a standstill on the board, and an opponent casts a spell, what happens if I counter this spell? I haven't been able to come to a conclusion about this. It seems like my opponent would draw cards. Also, if I do draw cards from the sacrifice, do I then have the option to counter whatever spell set the standstill off?

Thanks!
Logged
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2004, 03:01:29 pm »

If the standstill is still in play when you play your counter spell, then it will trigger again.  That trigger will resolve before the original trigger, so your opponent will draw cards.

The correct play is to let the Standstill trigger resolve after your opponent has played their spell, draw your cards, then counter their spell.
Logged
Zhindel
Basic User
**
Posts: 25

Zhindel
View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2004, 03:02:42 pm »

The best play is usually to let the standstill trigger, and have the trigger go on top of the spell they cast.  Then let the standstill trigger resolve, drawing 3 cards.  Then you can decide if you want to counter the original spell or not.

EDIT: I wonder if Jebus leave the rules forum on a 5 min auto refresh, damn he's quick.
Logged
vex
Basic User
**
Posts: 9

empedian
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2004, 03:54:00 pm »

That was quick! Thanks!
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.029 seconds with 16 queries.