TheManaDrain.com
September 17, 2025, 03:10:32 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Using Misdirection to stop FoW/Counterspell/Mana Drain  (Read 6127 times)
trotch
Basic User
**
Posts: 19



View Profile
« on: April 16, 2004, 04:00:12 pm »

I am afraid I dont understand the exact stack, timing, and targetting issues involved.  Could someone please clarify this?  Thanks.
Logged
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2004, 04:06:41 pm »

Using Misdirection to stop FoW/Counterspell/Mana Drain

Matt (the active player) casts Grizzly Bears. Bears go on the stack. Matt passes priority to Tony.

Tony, sensing impending fur-covered doom, casts Mana Drain, targeting the Bears. He passes priority.

Matt casts Misdirection, and chooses the Mana Drain as the target. Note that he does NOT yet declare to what he intends to change the target. He passes priority.

Tony passes back, so we resolve the top of the stack. Midirection resolves, and Matt chooses a new target for the Mana Drain. Matt chooses Misdirection to be the new target - spells can't target themselves, so he couldn't make the Drain target itself. Misdirection (like all spells) doesn't leave the stack until it's finished resolving, so it is still okay to have the Drain target the MisD. Misdirection leaves the stack and is put into Matt's graveyard. Matt gets priority.

Matt passes priority.

Tony passes priority. Both players have passed in succession, so the stack resolves the next item. As Mana Drain tries to resolve, it sees that its target - the Misdirection - is no longer on the stack! It's target has become illegal, so the Mana Drain is countered upon resolution (just like sacrificing the target of a Swords to Plowshares will keep the target from being RFG'd). Matt gets priority.

Matt passes.

Tony passes.

Grizzly Bears resolve. Matt goes on to win the game, easily defeating Tony's Need for Speed/Proposal deck.
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
CmdrSam
Basic User
**
Posts: 40


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2004, 05:03:28 pm »

Quote from: Matt
Grizzly Bears resolve. Matt goes on to win the game, easily defeating Tony's Need for Speed/Proposal deck.


...thus avoiding the thorny issue of whether gay marriage is legal in Magic: the Gathering.

--Sam L-L
Logged
Tijnie
Basic User
**
Posts: 63


NaarTijnie@Hotmail.com
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2004, 03:59:06 pm »

@Matt:  Wait, so you're telling me I CAN use my MisD to counter a Counterspell??
Logged

Desperate men can do Desperate things in Desperate situations...
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2004, 04:05:15 pm »

Effectively, yes. Technically all you're doing is giving the Counterspell a target that won't be there when it tries to resolve, and then the game rules counter it.

It's exactly the same as when I try to Lightning Bolt your Kobold and you Unsummon the Kobold in response - the Bolt "fizzles" (gets countered upon resolution) because its target is gone. Same with Counterspell - it's trying to target a Misdirection that's no longer on the stack, so it (the Counterspell), too, fizzles.

Note that when a spell is ocuntered upon resolution ("fizzles"), it WILL trigger Multani's Presence.
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
Gabethebabe
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 693



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2004, 09:21:16 am »

Note that in Mattīs example there will be 0 mana for Tony from his precious NM signed English Mana Drain.
Logged
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2004, 11:56:24 am »

Note: It is not the case that Mana Drain resolves and just gives {0}; it actually never resolves at all, and so the mana-granting ability never happens at all, which is a slightly different thing than happening and returning a value of zero.
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.03 seconds with 18 queries.