TheManaDrain.com
September 19, 2025, 01:07:39 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Rolling Thunder targetting question  (Read 1613 times)
Ephraim
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2938


The Casual Adept

LordZakath
View Profile
« on: May 04, 2004, 12:37:38 am »

If I cast Rolling Thunder, can I declare a creature as a target and then choose to deal zero damage to it? If I do so, is the creature still considered to have been a target of the spell?
Logged

Did you know that Red is the color or art and music and passion? Combine that with Green, the color of nature, spiritualism, and community and you get a hippie commune of drum circles, dreamcatchers, and recreational drug use. Let's see that win a Pro Tour.
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2004, 12:40:28 am »

Been playing with Skulking Ghost recently?

I think this works, but I am not sure:

Rolling Thunder

      Color= Red    Type= Sorcery    Cost= XRR    TE(C)/BR(F1)
      Text (TE+errata): ~this~ deals X damage divided as you choose among any number of target creatures and/or players. [Oracle 1999/05/01]
    * X can be zero. [D'Angelo 2003/05/19]
    * If X is greater than zero, you cannot choose zero targets. You must choose between 1 and X targets. If X is zero, you cannot choose any targets. [DeLaney 2003/05/19]
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2004, 12:49:20 am »

No, it doesn't work.

If you are dividing something, you cannot have more targets than what is being divided too.  

That sentance may not be clear, so I'll just post the rule now...

409.1e If the spell or ability affects several targets in different ways, the player announces how it will affect each target. If the spell or ability requires the player to divide or distribute an effect (such as damage or counters) among one or more targets, or any number of untargeted objects or players, the player announces the division. Each of these targets, objects, or players must receive at least one of whatever is being divided.
Logged
mouth
Basic User
**
Posts: 101

10497100
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2004, 11:37:08 pm »

http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=mtgcom/daily/rh122
Check out the poll at the bottom... keke.
Logged
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2004, 01:51:02 am »

You know, I actually made a mistake here.

I thought he was talking about a different card and trying to deal some damage to one thing and 0 to another.

The answer should be, yes you can play it for RR and deal 0 to the target.

I apologize for the confusion, I had the wrong card in my brain and the wrong scenario.
Logged
Ephraim
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2938


The Casual Adept

LordZakath
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2004, 01:59:56 am »

The part you've highlighted in the paragraph from the comprehensive rules still seems to apply. If each target must receive one of whatever is being divided, then if something has been chosen as a target, then it must receive at least one damage. Furthermore, the ruling that Matt cited specifically states that, while X may be zero, if it is, then the spell has no targets.
Logged

Did you know that Red is the color or art and music and passion? Combine that with Green, the color of nature, spiritualism, and community and you get a hippie commune of drum circles, dreamcatchers, and recreational drug use. Let's see that win a Pro Tour.
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2004, 02:01:43 am »

Quote from: Ephraim
The part you've highlighted in the paragraph from the comprehensive rules still seems to apply. If each target must receive one of whatever is being divided, then if something has been chosen as a target, then it must receive at least one damage. Furthermore, the ruling that Matt cited specifically states that, while X may be zero, if it is, then the spell has no targets.



Ok, then I was right then.

Ok.  I'm not very coherent at 3:00 AM. Razz
Logged
JSexton
Basic User
**
Posts: 35



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: May 11, 2004, 06:17:14 pm »

Just for clarity: If it were Blaze, you could target the Ghost with 0. Rolling Thunder divides, so you cannot.
Logged

--
Justin
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.035 seconds with 18 queries.