TheManaDrain.com
November 22, 2025, 05:05:32 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Stupid Question for the Day(Memory Jar)  (Read 2354 times)
SpikeyMikey
Basic User
**
Posts: 40


View Profile
« on: May 19, 2004, 11:37:23 am »

I forgot how Memory Jar works.

If you Jar twice in the same turn, what happens to the cards RftG by Jar?  After the second instance of Jar's "at end of turn" trigger, can it find the cards that were originally RftG now that they're in the graveyard, or what?
Logged
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2004, 12:14:47 pm »

Each Jar removes a particular hand.  Since you've used two Jars, you'll have hand A from the first Jar and hand B from the second Jar.  Your opponent will also have a matching hand A and B.

At end of turn, you will have two Jar triggers going on the stack, one for A and one for B.  Since you activated both jars, you control both triggers and can stack them as you chose.  When the first resolves, both players discard their current hand and then return the appropriate hand assosciated with that trigger.  Then when the next resolves, you both discard your current hand and return the appropriate hand for that trigger.

Essentially, you get back whichever removed hand you chose.

Note you cannot look at the hands while they are in the removed from game zone.
Logged
Summit
Basic User
**
Posts: 40


qwst_mturnbl@msn.com
View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2004, 11:41:41 pm »

Quote
Note you cannot look at the hands while they are in the removed from game zone.


The card text on Memory Jar says remove from game face down.

217.7b Cards in the removed-from-the-game zone are kept face up and may be examined by either player at any time. Cards "removed from the game face down" can't be examined by either player except when instructions allow it.

Can you write down what you have in your hand before you remove your hand from the game?  Could that be considered stalling?

Thanks in advance!
Logged
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2004, 08:31:53 am »

Do it quickly and you should be fine.  Writing down a few notes regarding the contents of your hand shouldn't take more than a few seconds.
Logged
DavidHernandez
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 414



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2004, 10:23:20 am »

Jebus: In a perfect world, are you saying that if I have no cards in hand, and Jar for hand "A", and then Jar again for hand "B", I can discard the empty hand, discard the hand with 7 lands, and keep a hand with 7 broken cards?

Thanks in advance.

Dave.
Logged

I will find a way -- or make one.
Check out my wife! www.DanceKitten.com
Team GRO- Ours are bigger than yours.
Card Carrying Member: Team Mindtrick
Best.Fortune.Cookie.Ever: "Among the lucky, you are the chosen one."
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2004, 10:28:54 am »

Quote from: DavidHernandez
Jebus: In a perfect world, are you saying that if I have no cards in hand, and Jar for hand "A", and then Jar again for hand "B", I can discard the empty hand, discard the hand with 7 lands, and keep a hand with 7 broken cards?

Thanks in advance.

Dave.


It depends on which hand has the broken cards.

Ok, so you start with hand A (no cards in this hand).  You set that aside and draw 7 (hand B).  If you Jar again, you set aside B to draw 7 (hand C).

There is no way to keep Hand C without using another Jar.  Your choice will be between the two removed hands:  Hand A (no cards) and Hand B (the cards you drew off the first Jar).
Logged
DavidHernandez
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 414



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2004, 10:55:45 am »

you learn something new every day.

i didn't know you could keep ANY of the cards. I thought that Jar worked so that you had to go back to your original hand.

D.
Logged

I will find a way -- or make one.
Check out my wife! www.DanceKitten.com
Team GRO- Ours are bigger than yours.
Card Carrying Member: Team Mindtrick
Best.Fortune.Cookie.Ever: "Among the lucky, you are the chosen one."
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2004, 11:06:24 am »

Quote from: DavidHernandez
you learn something new every day.

i didn't know you could keep ANY of the cards. I thought that Jar worked so that you had to go back to your original hand.

D.


Since you end up with two EOT triggers, each tied to a different removed hand, you can do all sorts of crazy things. Smile
Logged
kl0wn
Obsolete
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 425


kl0wnz0r ahappyclown
View Profile
« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2004, 12:42:57 pm »

So wait a second...

You get to CHOOSE which RFGed hand you keep if you Jar multiple times?!?!?

Say I have a hand with just Pentavus and Memnarch in it.

Then I sac Jar and get a hand of 2 FoW, 2 blue cards.

Then I recur Jar with a Joblin Welder, swapping out a Mana Crypt.

Then I sac Jar again and get a hand of busted mana sources.

I play said busted mana sources, then declare my EOT.

Do I now get a choice of whether I keep the hand with Pentavus and Memnarch or the hand with multiple Force of Will and blue cards? Or do I have to take the hand with Pentavus and Memnarch and discard the hand with multiple Forces?
Logged

Team kl0wn: Quitting Magic since 2005?
The Fringe: R.I.P.
goober
Basic User
**
Posts: 264


Goobady
View Profile Email
« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2004, 12:45:51 pm »

You choose.
Logged

Team Grosse Manschaft
riggy
Basic User
**
Posts: 65


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: July 08, 2004, 01:58:50 pm »

I'm surprised so many people are unaware of this effect.

If it would help try thinking of this. If on my upkeep, I have a smokestack and a Tanglewire in play, they both trigger simultaneously, and they go on the stack in the order I choose. Why would the EOT triggers act differently than the upkeep triggers?
Logged
Ender
Basic User
**
Posts: 66



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: July 08, 2004, 03:51:15 pm »

ahhh.. number 1 reason why memory jar is restricted -_-
Logged

Fear the bunnies for they will rule the world one day. Unless George Bush is one of them then we may already be too late....

Protect this world and kill a bunny. The fluffy cute ones are the most dangerous kind.
rvs
cybernetically enhanced
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2083


You can never have enough Fling!

morfling@chello.nl MoreFling1983NL
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #12 on: July 08, 2004, 04:02:49 pm »

Quote from: Ender
ahhh.. number 1 reason why memory jar is restricted -_-


I'd say the phrase "Deck you" on turn 2 would be the reason.
Logged

I can break chairs, therefore I am greater than you.

Team ISP: And as a finishing touch, god created The Dutch!
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #13 on: July 08, 2004, 04:22:46 pm »

Quote from: MoreFling
Quote from: Ender
ahhh.. number 1 reason why memory jar is restricted -_-


I'd say the phrase "Deck you" on turn 2 would be the reason.

No, actually it was turn 1 tinker, jar, jar, megrim that was the reason.

Anyway, this thread seems ripe for closing.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #14 on: July 08, 2004, 04:23:27 pm »

Quote from: Jacob Orlove

Anyway, this thread seems ripe for closing.


I agree
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.042 seconds with 19 queries.