TheManaDrain.com
September 29, 2025, 06:35:02 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Memnarch, Animate Dead, Beloved Chaplain  (Read 1394 times)
Zhalfirin
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 47


View Profile
« on: June 21, 2004, 03:29:24 pm »

Situation: I have Memnarch in play.  My opponent has Beloved Chaplain with Animate Dead on it.  Obviously, I cannot gain control of Beloved Chaplain directly from Memnarch due to its protection from creatures ability.  However, if I gain control of the Animate Dead with Memnarch's ability, will I gain control of the Chaplain?

Here is the latest oracle text on Animate Dead

Quote from: CrystalKeep
When ~this~ comes into play, if it's in play, it becomes an enchant creature. Put target creature card from a graveyard into play under your control enchanted by ~this~. ; Enchanted creature gets -1/-0. ; When ~this~ leaves play, destroy enchanted creature. It can't be regenerated.


The gaining control of the creature happens when Animate Dead comes into play (once its CIP trigger resolves).  Animate Dead doesn't seem to have any static ability that says you control the creature, so I don't think gaining control of Animate Dead will gain you control of the Chaplain.  Am I correct?
Logged
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2004, 03:32:29 pm »

You are correct.  Gaining control of Animate Dead does not give you control of the enchanted creature.
Logged
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2004, 12:53:21 pm »

Gaining control of enchantments on permanents usually yields nothing. Controlling the mythic proportion on your opponents birds of paradise will still hurt like hell. The only different situations I can think of are enchantments with activated, triggered or state-based abilities that involve the controller of the permanent.

Triggered : So suppose you control the armadillo cloak on your opponents serra avatar, you will gain life as the triggered ability triggers (as long as you survive the initial damage itself, but that is another rule-question on itself).

Activated : Gaining control of a pemmins aura enables you to kill the opponents critter by giving is +1/-1 repeatedly (if your manapool is permitting it).

State-based : Gaining control of treachery or control magic will yield you a new ally.
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2004, 12:57:28 pm »

Quote from: Cyberknight
State-based : Gaining control of treachery or control magic will yield you a new ally.


That is a "Static Ability" not a "state-based ability".  There is no such thing as a state-based ability.
Logged
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2004, 12:59:57 pm »

Oops, that is what I meant. As long as I apply the rules correctly, I am happy Wink
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.031 seconds with 18 queries.