Here is the StarCityGames ruling concerning Spectral Shift. I can understand why you
may target two different things, but I don't understand why you must.
Spectral Shift
Instant


Choose one -- Change the text of target spell or permanent by replacing all instances of one basic land type with another; or change the text of target spell or permanent by replacing all instances of one color word with another.
(These effects don't end at end of turn.)Entwine

If you entwine this, you must target two different spells or permanents (you can't target the same permanent with both halves).