TheManaDrain.com
October 09, 2025, 06:03:31 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Madness during your opponent's turn  (Read 1097 times)
goober
Basic User
**
Posts: 264


Goobady
View Profile Email
« on: June 29, 2004, 11:02:59 pm »

I have been searching the site and rulings for something about this but have come up empty so far.  If my opponent Duresses my Fiery Temper, do they get a chance to play spells/lands before I am able to play it through Madness?

This is the current wording of madness:  
Quote
# 502.24a - Madness is a keyword that represents two abilities. The first is a static ability that functions while the card with madness is in a player's hand. The second is a triggered ability that functions when the first ability is applied. The phrase "Madness [cost]" means "If a player would discard this card from his or her hand, that player discards it, but may remove it from the game instead of putting it into his or her graveyard" and "When this card is removed from the game this way, until that player passes next, the player may play it any time he or she could play an instant as though it were in his or her hand by paying [cost]  rather than paying its mana cost. When the player passes next, he or she puts this card into his or her graveyard." [CompRules 2003/10/01]


My understanding of the way this situation works is:
Duress resolves, taking my Fiery Temper.
The Madness trigger goes on the stack, making me RFG it instead.
We do whatever spells we want in response.
The triggered ability resolves and it is RFG.
Because the stack is empty the active player (my opponent) gets priority.
He can play a land then as many spells in response to eachother as he wants.
I get priority which is when I can pay the Madness cost, or let it go to the yard.
Logged

Team Grosse Manschaft
Toad
Crazy Frenchman
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2152


112347045 yoshipd@hotmail.com toadtmd
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2004, 04:55:37 am »

You reasonning is correct. Also note that if It's during your own turn, you can also drop lands before playing your Madness cards.

Imagine you have 3 Islands in play and a random card in hand along with Careful Study. Cast Careful Study, and draw into Arrogant Wurm and Forest. Discard the random cards and the Arrogant and use the usual Madness processus. Then you receive priority, and since the stack is empty, you can drop your Forest (this action does not use the stack and thus does not involve passing priority) and pay your Wurm's Madness cost.
Logged
goober
Basic User
**
Posts: 264


Goobady
View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2004, 05:16:05 am »

Cool, thanks.  I knew about it working with your own stuff, and I wanted to make sure it extended to my opponent.  In case I Mind Twist my opponent, then drop the Island I need to Drain whatever.
Logged

Team Grosse Manschaft
Unearthly
Basic User
**
Posts: 18


Rogue981
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2004, 04:18:26 pm »

However, note, that if they are discarding the madness cards as a cost: ie Aquameoba, Wild Mongrel, Survival of the Fittest, you can't play the land because the stack won't be empty, the activated ability will be on the stack.  It only works where the discard is part of the resolution such as discard spells, careful study, and bazaar of baghdad.
Logged

Team Grosse Manschaft
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.025 seconds with 18 queries.