TheManaDrain.com
December 29, 2025, 12:08:56 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: cycling and stifle  (Read 1395 times)
Ender
Basic User
**
Posts: 66



View Profile
« on: July 10, 2004, 08:51:09 am »

If you stifle the activated ability of a cycling card, more specifically any of the scourge decrees, will the triggered ability still be triggered? I think it works but then bind would be played a little more so I am not completely sure of anything anymore  Sad .
Logged

Fear the bunnies for they will rule the world one day. Unless George Bush is one of them then we may already be too late....

Protect this world and kill a bunny. The fluffy cute ones are the most dangerous kind.
jpmeyer
fancy having a go at it?
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2390


badplayermeyer
View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2004, 09:18:28 am »

No
Logged

Team Meandeck: "As much as I am a clueless, credit-stealing, cheating homo I do think we would do well to consider the current stage of the Vintage community." -Smmenen
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2004, 04:29:18 pm »

Quote from: Ender
If you stifle the activated ability of a cycling card, more specifically any of the scourge decrees, will the triggered ability still be triggered? I think it works but then bind would be played a little more so I am not completely sure of anything anymore  Sad .


Stifling the activated ability of Cycling does not stop any triggered abilities that trigger when a card is Cycled.  The trigger will trigger when the Cycling ability is played, so it doesn't matter if the cycling ability actually resolves, the trigger is independent of it at that point.
Logged
PucktheCat
My interests include blue decks, arguing, and beer.
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 549


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2004, 08:19:34 pm »

So, to clairify:  If you have Stifle when your opponent cycles a Decree of Justice you can either stop him from drawing his card from the cycling or stop him from getting the tokens that come from the cycling trigger, but not both.

Is that correct?

Leo
Logged
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2004, 08:26:58 pm »

Quote from: PucktheCat
So, to clairify:  If you have Stifle when your opponent cycles a Decree of Justice you can either stop him from drawing his card from the cycling or stop him from getting the tokens that come from the cycling trigger, but not both.

Is that correct?

Leo


Correct.  To stop both would require two counters.
Logged
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2004, 04:04:27 am »

If I recall correctly, you have to stifle the tokencreation-trigger before mana for it is payed. So if I have 15 mana available, a decree of justice and a mana drain, I can cycle decree (12 mana left), and then see if my opponent stifles the token-creation. If he doesnt, I can pump all my mana in the token-creation. If he does stifle, I can first mana drain his stifle, and thereafter create 10 tokens. Correct?
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
goober
Basic User
**
Posts: 264


Goobady
View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2004, 04:17:58 am »

Quote
If I recall correctly, you have to stifle the tokencreation-trigger before mana for it is payed. So if I have 15 mana available, a decree of justice and a mana drain, I can cycle decree (12 mana left), and then see if my opponent stifles the token-creation. If he doesnt, I can pump all my mana in the token-creation. If he does stifle, I can first mana drain his stifle, and thereafter create 10 tokens. Correct?


Correct
Logged

Team Grosse Manschaft
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.076 seconds with 16 queries.