|
Trofast
|
 |
« on: July 13, 2004, 04:00:46 am » |
|
Hello!
Is it possible to Stifle a City of Brass when it's tapped for mana, preventing the player from getting the mana from the brass in the mana pool?
Is it possible to do the same with a basic land?
Thanks!
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Malhavoc
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 394
Lich Overlord
|
 |
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2004, 04:06:06 am » |
|
Hello!
Is it possible to Stifle a City of Brass when it's tapped for mana, preventing the player from getting the mana from the brass in the mana pool?
Is it possible to do the same with a basic land?
Thanks! No. Mana abilities don't use the stack, so you can't respond to your opponent tapping a land (or mox, or sol ring, or even metalworker) for mana.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Tipo1: Everything about Vintage in Italy.
|
|
|
|
Trofast
|
 |
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2004, 04:11:57 am » |
|
No. Mana abilities don't use the stack, so you can't respond to your opponent tapping a land (or mox, or sol ring, or even metalworker) for mana.
I thought you could stifle a mox, lotus, sol ring and so on because they are treated as instant effects... I know tapping a land doesn't.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Malhavoc
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 394
Lich Overlord
|
 |
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2004, 04:21:39 am » |
|
No, they are mana abilities. And mana abilities don't use the stack. Sometimes it is better to take a close look to the errata. Take the metalworker for example. It could appear "stiffleable", but it is written that's a mana ability, so it does not use the stack.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Tipo1: Everything about Vintage in Italy.
|
|
|
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 593
|
 |
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2004, 05:58:03 am » |
|
Seeing the combination stifle / city of brass, how does the trigger of 1 damage of the city of brass go with priority questions? If player A taps a city of brass, is priority passed to player B because of the triggered ability on the stack? I would think so, but would like to see it confirmed.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood... as fast as this.
|
|
|
Malhavoc
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 394
Lich Overlord
|
 |
« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2004, 06:19:23 am » |
|
Seeing the combination stifle / city of brass, how does the trigger of 1 damage of the city of brass go with priority questions? If player A taps a city of brass, is priority passed to player B because of the triggered ability on the stack? I would think so, but would like to see it confirmed. Yes, it is. But the mana is already in the pool when the priority is passed.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Tipo1: Everything about Vintage in Italy.
|
|
|
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 1216
Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!
|
 |
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2004, 09:49:03 am » |
|
Priority is not passed until you pass it.
If you tap a City of Brass for mana, its trigger goes on the stack, but you don't pass priority until you wish to.
Since there is a trigger on the stack, you'll have to pass before playing a non-instant, so the trigger resolves.
However, priority is not automatically passed.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Malhavoc
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 394
Lich Overlord
|
 |
« Reply #7 on: July 13, 2004, 09:53:57 am » |
|
Priority is not passed until you pass it.
If you tap a City of Brass for mana, its trigger goes on the stack, but you don't pass priority until you wish to.
Since there is a trigger on the stack, you'll have to pass before playing a non-instant, so the trigger resolves.
However, priority is not automatically passed. Yes, of course. What I was trying to point out was simply that the mana going to the pool does not use the stack, while the triggered ability uses it instead. Of course you don't have to pass priority immediatly if you don't want to, and you maybe want to cast an instant before, such as in an example I've seen recently: being at 1 hp, tapping a CoB and casting a bolt in response to kill the opponent before being killed by the CoB's triggered ability.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Tipo1: Everything about Vintage in Italy.
|
|
|
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
    
Posts: 8074
When am I?
|
 |
« Reply #8 on: July 13, 2004, 11:19:52 am » |
|
Hello!
Is it possible to Stifle a City of Brass when it's tapped for mana, preventing the player from getting the mana from the brass in the mana pool?
Is it possible to do the same with a basic land?
Thanks! Stifle says on the card that mana abilities can't be countered.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Team Meandeck: O Lord, Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile. To those who slander me, let me give no heed. May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
|
|
|
|
Trofast
|
 |
« Reply #9 on: July 15, 2004, 01:31:43 am » |
|
Hello!
Is it possible to Stifle a City of Brass when it's tapped for mana, preventing the player from getting the mana from the brass in the mana pool?
Is it possible to do the same with a basic land?
Thanks! Stifle says on the card that mana abilities can't be countered. If I had an english Sifle I would have seen that :lol: Right now my Stifle's is from China.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Kowal
My name is not Brian.
Adepts
Basic User
   
Posts: 2497
Reanimate your feet!
|
 |
« Reply #10 on: July 15, 2004, 02:42:17 am » |
|
Learn what your cards say plztks.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Malhavoc
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 394
Lich Overlord
|
 |
« Reply #11 on: July 15, 2004, 02:57:57 am » |
|
For this and for every other card whose text you're missing: http://www.magiccards.info/?search
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Tipo1: Everything about Vintage in Italy.
|
|
|
|
DEA
|
 |
« Reply #12 on: July 15, 2004, 01:14:23 pm » |
|
that's what people get for pimpage Ok, I think this has gone far enough.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
i need red mana
|
|
|
|