| 
							Marco
							
						 | 
						
							
								  | 
								
									
									 «  on: July 25, 2004, 09:46:10 pm »  | 
								
								 | 
							  
							 
							Selective Recall X1GU Sorcery Choose a card type. Return X cards of the chosen type from your graveyard to your hand. Remove Selective Recall from the game. (The card types are artifact, creature, enchantment, instant, land, and sorcery.) 
						 | 
					 
					
						
							
								| 
								 | 
							 
								| 
								 | 
								
									 
									Logged
								 | 
							  
						 | 
					 
				 
			 |  
		 
	 | 
	
		
		
			
				
					
						| 
							Marco
							
						 | 
						
							
								  | 
								
									
									 « Reply #1 on: July 25, 2004, 09:47:13 pm »  | 
								
								 | 
							  
							 
							Current Wording:
  Selective Recall XGU Sorcery Choose a card type. Return X cards of the chosen type from your graveyard to your hand. Remove Selective Recall from the game. (The card types are artifact, creature, enchantment, instant, land, and sorcery.)
  
						 | 
					 
					
						
							
								| 
								 | 
							 
								| 
								 | 
								
									 
									Logged
								 | 
							  
						 | 
					 
				 
			 |  
		 
	 | 
	
		
		
			
				
					
						
							Jacob Orlove
							
								Official Time Traveller of TMD 
								Administrator 
								Basic User
								      
								Posts: 8074
								
								 
								When am I?
								
								
								
								
								
								  
								 
							 
						 | 
						
							
								  | 
								
									
									 « Reply #2 on: July 26, 2004, 12:35:30 am »  | 
								
								 | 
							  
							 
							This seems a little weak. For 2GG you can get one card back--that's the "standard". 2GG is about equivalent to 1UG, although this can recover multiple cards. Then again, you can get back 2 cards for 3GG. I think you could safely cost this at XUG, especially with the card type limitation. 
						 | 
					 
					
						
							
								| 
								 | 
							 
								| 
								 | 
								
									 
									Logged
								 | 
							  
							 
							Team Meandeck: O Lord,  Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.  To those who slander me, let me give no heed.  May my soul be humble and forgiving to all. 
						 | 
					 
				 
			 |  
		 
	 | 
	
		
		
			
				
					
						
							Matt
							
								Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee. 
								Moderator 
								Basic User
								      
								Posts: 2297
								
								 
								King of the Jews!
								
								
								
								
								
								  
							 
						 | 
						
							
								  | 
								
									
									 « Reply #3 on: July 26, 2004, 12:39:15 am »  | 
								
								 | 
							  
							 
							It's also a lot cleaner to not have "  {1}" in the cost.  
						 | 
					 
					
						
							
								| 
								 | 
							 
								| 
								 | 
								
									 
									Logged
								 | 
							  
							 
							http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF---------------------- SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar ---------------------- noitcelfeRmaeT {Team Hindsight}  
						 | 
					 
				 
			 |  
		 
	 | 
	
		
		
			
				
					
						| 
							Marco
							
						 | 
						
							
								  | 
								
									
									 « Reply #4 on: July 26, 2004, 09:09:17 am »  | 
								
								 | 
							  
							 
							Wow, the original casting cost was XGU, but people were telling me it was too strong. Change made! 
						 | 
					 
					
						
							
								| 
								 | 
							 
								| 
								 | 
								
									 
									Logged
								 | 
							  
						 | 
					 
				 
			 |  
		 
	 | 
	
		
		
			
				
					
						| 
							CmdrSam
							
						 | 
						
							
								  | 
								
									
									 « Reply #5 on: July 26, 2004, 02:33:35 pm »  | 
								
								 | 
							  
							 
							You probably want "up to X" in the card text. 
						 | 
					 
					
						
							
								| 
								 | 
							 
								| 
								 | 
								
									 
									Logged
								 | 
							  
						 | 
					 
				 
			 |  
		 
	 | 
	
		
		
			
				
					
						| 
							Marco
							
						 | 
						
							
								  | 
								
									
									 « Reply #6 on: July 27, 2004, 08:26:22 am »  | 
								
								 | 
							  
							 
							Why? 
						 | 
					 
					
						
							
								| 
								 | 
							 
								| 
								 | 
								
									 
									Logged
								 | 
							  
						 | 
					 
				 
			 |  
		 
	 | 
	
		
		
			
				
					
						
							Matt
							
								Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee. 
								Moderator 
								Basic User
								      
								Posts: 2297
								
								 
								King of the Jews!
								
								
								
								
								
								  
							 
						 | 
						
							
								  | 
								
									
									 « Reply #7 on: July 27, 2004, 01:34:21 pm »  | 
								
								 | 
							  
							 
							I guess so it can burn off excess Drain mana or something, even when there's not enough cards in the graveyard. 
						 | 
					 
					
						
							
								| 
								 | 
							 
								| 
								 | 
								
									 
									Logged
								 | 
							  
							 
							http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF---------------------- SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar ---------------------- noitcelfeRmaeT {Team Hindsight}  
						 | 
					 
				 
			 |  
		 
	 | 
	
		
		
			
				
					
						
							Jebus
							
								Full Members 
								Basic User
								    
								Posts: 1216
								
								 
								Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!
								
								
								
								  
								
								 
							 
						 | 
						
							
								  | 
								
									
									 « Reply #8 on: July 27, 2004, 01:36:34 pm »  | 
								
								 | 
							  
							 
							I guess so it can burn off excess Drain mana or something, even when there's not enough cards in the graveyard. There's nothing stopping you from doing that without the phrase.  
						 | 
					 
					
						
							
								| 
								 | 
							 
								| 
								 | 
								
									 
									Logged
								 | 
							  
						 | 
					 
				 
			 |  
		 
	 | 
	
		
		
			
				
					
						
							Matt
							
								Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee. 
								Moderator 
								Basic User
								      
								Posts: 2297
								
								 
								King of the Jews!
								
								
								
								
								
								  
							 
						 | 
						
							
								  | 
								
									
									 « Reply #9 on: July 27, 2004, 01:37:41 pm »  | 
								
								 | 
							  
							 
							Ah, you're right. I thought it said "X TARGET cards". 
						 | 
					 
					
						
							
								| 
								 | 
							 
								| 
								 | 
								
									 
									Logged
								 | 
							  
							 
							http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF---------------------- SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar ---------------------- noitcelfeRmaeT {Team Hindsight}  
						 | 
					 
				 
			 |  
		 
	 | 
	
		
		
			
				
					
						| 
							CmdrSam
							
						 | 
						
							
								  | 
								
									
									 « Reply #10 on: July 27, 2004, 08:17:16 pm »  | 
								
								 | 
							  
							 
							Without "up to X", it is a little confusing what happens when you, say, pay 6 for X and there are less than 6 cards in your graveyard of any one type (or, giving an even larger possibility for confusion, if there are >6, say, lands, but <6 of each other type). This makes the correct answer immediately obvious.
  --Sam L-L 
						 | 
					 
					
						
							
								| 
								 | 
							 
								| 
								 | 
								
									 
									Logged
								 | 
							  
						 | 
					 
				 
			 |  
		 
	 | 
	
		
		
			
				
					
						
							Jebus
							
								Full Members 
								Basic User
								    
								Posts: 1216
								
								 
								Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!
								
								
								
								  
								
								 
							 
						 | 
						
							
								  | 
								
									
									 « Reply #11 on: July 27, 2004, 09:51:07 pm »  | 
								
								 | 
							  
							 
							Without "up to X", it is a little confusing what happens when you, say, pay 6 for X and there are less than 6 cards in your graveyard of any one type (or, giving an even larger possibility for confusion, if there are >6, say, lands, but <6 of each other type). This makes the correct answer immediately obvious.
  --Sam L-L It isn't needed. You do as much as you can.  Just like with everything else. Putting "Up to" just makes it non-mandatory that you return the max amount of cards if you can.  
						 | 
					 
					
						
							
								| 
								 | 
							 
								| 
								 | 
								
									 
									Logged
								 | 
							  
						 | 
					 
				 
			 |  
		 
	 | 
	
		
		
			
				
					
						| 
							MrZuccinniHead
							
						 | 
						
							
								  | 
								
									
									 « Reply #12 on: July 27, 2004, 11:45:50 pm »  | 
								
								 | 
							  
							 
							couldn't you just target the same card several times anyway? 
						 | 
					 
					
						
							
								| 
								 | 
							 
								| 
								 | 
								
									 
									Logged
								 | 
							  
							 
							Scopeless on mIRC I'd like to imprint My Cock on that. If she handles it right, it makes white mana.  
						 | 
					 
				 
			 |  
		 
	 | 
	
		
		
			
				
					
						
							Matt
							
								Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee. 
								Moderator 
								Basic User
								      
								Posts: 2297
								
								 
								King of the Jews!
								
								
								
								
								
								  
							 
						 | 
						
							
								  | 
								
									
									 « Reply #13 on: July 28, 2004, 12:25:58 am »  | 
								
								 | 
							  
							 
							You can't target a card more than once on any given spell/effect (for example, Firestorm). You can choose a card more than once (i.e. Sundering Titan). 
						 | 
					 
					
						
							
								| 
								 | 
							 
								| 
								 | 
								
									 
									Logged
								 | 
							  
							 
							http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF---------------------- SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar ---------------------- noitcelfeRmaeT {Team Hindsight}  
						 | 
					 
				 
			 |  
		 
	 | 
	
		
		
			
				
					
						| 
							CmdrSam
							
						 | 
						
							
								  | 
								
									
									 « Reply #14 on: July 28, 2004, 03:01:51 am »  | 
								
								 | 
							  
							 
							It isn't needed. Right, of course it isn't needed for  rules purposes. I think it's nice for the sake of  clarity, so that it's immediately obvious how it works (and so you wouldn't get questions on it in the Rules forum.) --Sam L-L  
						 | 
					 
					
						
							
								| 
								 | 
							 
								| 
								 | 
								
									 
									Logged
								 | 
							  
						 | 
					 
				 
			 |  
		 
	 | 
	
		
		
			
				
					
						| 
							Marco
							
						 | 
						
							
								  | 
								
									
									 « Reply #15 on: July 28, 2004, 09:23:59 am »  | 
								
								 | 
							  
							 
							Now that we have that cleared up, thanks guys.
  24 hour clock. 
						 | 
					 
					
						
							
								| 
								 | 
							 
								| 
								 | 
								
									 
									Logged
								 | 
							  
						 | 
					 
				 
			 |  
		 
	 | 
	
		
		
			
				
					
						
							Malhavoc
							
								Full Members 
								Basic User
								    
								Posts: 394
								
								 
								Lich Overlord
								
								
								
								
								
								  
								 
							 
						 | 
						
							
								  | 
								
									
									 « Reply #16 on: July 28, 2004, 09:27:15 am »  | 
								
								 | 
							  
							 
							You can't target a card more than once on any given spell/effect (for example, Firestorm). You can choose a card more than once (i.e. Sundering Titan). Sorry for a slight OT question.. that means that if I have a volcanic island, my oppenent has one too, and I welder in a titan I can choose his land both as island and as mountain, and I do not loose mine? Cool!     
						 | 
					 
					
						
							
								| 
								 | 
							 
								| 
								 | 
								
									 
									Logged
								 | 
							  
							 
							Tipo1: Everything about Vintage in Italy.  
						 | 
					 
				 
			 |  
		 
	 | 
	
		
		
			
				
					
						
							Jebus
							
								Full Members 
								Basic User
								    
								Posts: 1216
								
								 
								Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!
								
								
								
								  
								
								 
							 
						 | 
						
							
								  | 
								
									
									 « Reply #17 on: July 28, 2004, 09:29:18 am »  | 
								
								 | 
							  
							 
							Sorry for a slight OT question.. that means that if I have a volcanic island, my oppenent has one too, and I welder in a titan I can choose his land both as island and as mountain, and I do not loose mine? Cool!    That would be correct.  
						 | 
					 
					
						
							
								| 
								 | 
							 
								| 
								 | 
								
									 
									Logged
								 | 
							  
						 | 
					 
				 
			 |  
		 
	 | 
	
		
		
			
				
					
						| 
							Marco
							
						 | 
						
							
								  | 
								
									
									 « Reply #18 on: August 01, 2004, 09:47:58 am »  | 
								
								 | 
							  
							 
							I contacted all three mods to have this thread closed and the card added to the master thread? 
						 | 
					 
					
						
							
								| 
								 | 
							 
								| 
								 | 
								
									 
									Logged
								 | 
							  
						 | 
					 
				 
			 |  
		 
	 | 
	
		
		
			
				
					
						
							Jacob Orlove
							
								Official Time Traveller of TMD 
								Administrator 
								Basic User
								      
								Posts: 8074
								
								 
								When am I?
								
								
								
								
								
								  
								 
							 
						 | 
						
							
								  | 
								
									
									 « Reply #19 on: August 01, 2004, 04:11:38 pm »  | 
								
								 | 
							  
							 
							I contacted all three mods to have this thread closed and the card added to the master thread? We usually add a bunch of cards at once, since it's much easier for the mods to do it that way. It'll get added eventually, but you might have to wait. In the meantime, since this is "done", you can start new threads.  
						 | 
					 
					
						
							
								| 
								 | 
							 
								| 
								 | 
								
									 
									Logged
								 | 
							  
							 
							Team Meandeck: O Lord,  Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.  To those who slander me, let me give no heed.  May my soul be humble and forgiving to all. 
						 | 
					 
				 
			 |  
		 
	 | 
	
		
		
			
				
					
						
							Matt
							
								Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee. 
								Moderator 
								Basic User
								      
								Posts: 2297
								
								 
								King of the Jews!
								
								
								
								
								
								  
							 
						 | 
						
							
								  | 
								
									
									 « Reply #20 on: August 05, 2004, 01:30:32 am »  | 
								
								 | 
							  
							 
							Closed and added.[/color] 
						 | 
					 
					
						
							
								| 
								 | 
							 
								| 
								 | 
								
									 
									Logged
								 | 
							  
							 
							http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF---------------------- SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar ---------------------- noitcelfeRmaeT {Team Hindsight}  
						 | 
					 
				 
			 |  
		 
	 | 
	 |