TheManaDrain.com
November 14, 2025, 04:04:33 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Humility vs. spikes and manlands ?  (Read 2003 times)
Nubi
Basic User
**
Posts: 64


View Profile
« on: July 27, 2004, 06:04:19 am »

I've got a few questions about humility:
a. How big is a mishra's Factory under humility ?
b. Does spikes come into play without counters ? (i.e. Spike Weaer)

Due to the rules of continous effects I'd say that the factory is a 2/2 since it's the last effect applied.

And I'd say that spikes are just 1/1 w/out counters, as the continous effect should be applied before looking for comes into play effects (and by then they're gone)

But I'd rather be sure, thus I ask Smile
Logged
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2004, 08:06:48 am »

Quote
I've got a few questions about humility:
a. How big is a mishra's Factory under humility ?
b. Does spikes come into play without counters ? (i.e. Spike Weaer)


a.  1/1.

b.  They come with counters.  However, they are 1/1s.

Quote
Due to the rules of continous effects I'd say that the factory is a 2/2 since it's the last effect applied.


The effect that sets its characteristics is applied before Humility, not after.  Since Humility is applied afterwards, it is a 1/1.

Quote
And I'd say that spikes are just 1/1 w/out counters, as the continous effect should be applied before looking for comes into play effects (and by then they're gone)


They are 1/1s, but they do have their counters.  The ability that adds counters will add them as it comes into play, before Humility removes any abiliteis.  However, since the counters are applied before Humility, the end result is still 1/1.  If Humility were to be removed, the counters would then work as normal.
Logged
ProZachar
Basic User
**
Posts: 73


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2004, 08:24:18 am »

The Factory is 1/1.

The Factory's animating ability produces an effect that is both a type-changing effect and a power/toughness changing effect.  Continuous effects work in 6 layers; layer 1 is the first applied, layer 6 is the last.  Normally, P/T modifiers are applied in layer 6, but since this one also has a type-changing effect, both are applied entirely in layer 4 with the type-changing effect.  Humility is a P/T modifier (and an "other, non P/T" modifier)[1], so it applies only in layer 6.  Because Humility is always applied last, the Factory is always 1/1.

418.5a The values of an object’s characteristics are determined by starting with the actual object, then applying continuous effects in a series of layers in the following order: (1) copy effects (see rule 503, “Copying Objects�), (2) control-changing effects, (3) text-changing effects, (4) type-, subtype-, and supertype-changing effects, (5) all other continuous effects, except those that change power or toughness, and (6) power- or toughness-changing effects.
          Inside each layer, apply effects from characteristic-setting abilities first, then effects from all other abilities. For power- or toughness-changing effects, apply changes from counters after changes from characteristic-setting abilities. See also the rules for timestamp order and dependency (rules 418.5b–418.5g).

418.5b If an effect other than a type-, subtype-, and supertype-changing effect should be applied in different layers, the parts of the effect each apply in their appropriate layers. If a type-, subtype-, and supertype-changing effect should be applied in different layers, all are applied only in layer four (type-, subtype- and supertype changing effects).


"Comes into play with...", "Comes into play tapped" and their cronies (which do not include "When ~this~ comes into play...") are replacement effects.  They are applied as the permanent comes into play.  Spikes will come into play with the counters.  In this case, you have 2 P/T changing effects (layer 6).  One of them is due to counters.   You start with the printed values (0/0), apply characteristic-setting abilities (none), then apply counters (2/2), then apply Humility(1/1).  It's a 1/1 with 2 +1/+1 counters on it.

[1]418.5b says that we apply Humility's "All creatures lose all abilities" in layer 5 (but that's mostly irrelevant to the discussion), and "All creatures are 1/1" in layer 6.
Logged
Nubi
Basic User
**
Posts: 64


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2004, 01:39:36 pm »

Hmmm a bit more complex than I first thought eh, well thanks for clearing up my mistakes Smile
Logged
Nubi
Basic User
**
Posts: 64


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2004, 02:50:38 am »

Ehm just one last thing: Goblin Recruiter and Ringleader both says "When ~this~ comes into play", so do they work under humility ?
Logged
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2004, 08:05:16 am »

Quote from: Nubi
Ehm just one last thing: Goblin Recruiter and Ringleader both says "When ~this~ comes into play", so do they work under humility ?


No.  Their ability is removed before it can trigger.
Logged
Zhalfirin
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 47


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2004, 11:46:26 am »

How does Humility work with Meddling Mage?  Meddling Mage says "As this comes into play, name a card."  This happens before Humility's effect takes place, right?  However, once the Mage comes into play, it loses the "The named card can't be played" ability and becomes a 1/1.  What happens if Humility leaves play while the Mage is in play?  Does the named card suddenly become unplayable?
Logged
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2004, 11:49:20 am »

Quote from: Zhalfirin
How does Humility work with Meddling Mage?  Meddling Mage says "As this comes into play, name a card."  This happens before Humility's effect takes place, right?  However, once the Mage comes into play, it loses the "The named card can't be played" ability and becomes a 1/1.  What happens if Humility leaves play while the Mage is in play?  Does the named card suddenly become unplayable?

Correct on all counts.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
TracerBullet
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 577


TracerBullet1000
View Profile Email
« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2004, 03:36:54 pm »

Question-

If I were to play Weaver and move one of it's counters to itself, would it then change it's P/T to 2/2?  

There was a time when I understood Humilty and all it's interactions...
Logged

The room is on fire, and she's fixin' her hair...
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #9 on: July 29, 2004, 03:41:19 pm »

Quote from: TracerBullet
Question-

If I were to play Weaver and move one of it's counters to itself, would it then change it's P/T to 2/2?  

There was a time when I understood Humilty and all it's interactions...

Well, it wouldn't have that ability, but let's say you played humility with Vedalken Orrery in response to the weaver activation.

It would still be 1/1. Counters are applied before external effects.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.123 seconds with 20 queries.