|
DryCow
|
 |
« on: August 01, 2004, 06:38:22 pm » |
|
Hi.
I have out 25 1/1 Myr Tokens via Myr Incubator:
6, T, Sacrifice Myr Incubator: Search your library for any number of artifact cards, remove them from the game, then put that many 1/1 Myr artifact creature tokens into play. Then shuffle your library.
My opponent casts Echoing Truth targetting one of my Myr Tokens:
Return target nonland permanent and all other permanents with the same name as that permanent to their owners' hands.
Now I believe that I would only lose the one token targetted, as the Myr Tokens are 1/1 Artifact creatures with the creature type - Myr, and have no name, therefore only the second ability of Echoing Truth won't be an issue.
My opponent says that the Myr tokens all share the same name and therefore will all be bounced.
What really happens here?
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Methuselahn
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 1051
|
 |
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2004, 07:41:31 pm » |
|
They all get bounced to nothingness.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 1216
Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!
|
 |
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2004, 07:53:52 pm » |
|
To expand:
The effect that creatues the token also gives the token a name. Myr tokens are not nameless. They have both the creature type and name Myr.
When an effect creates a token, it sets both the name and creature type. If no specific name is set as the creature type.
This excludes tokens that are created through a copy effect, which will be an exact copy of whatever creature they copy.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
LotusHead
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 2785
Team Vacaville
|
 |
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2004, 12:12:37 am » |
|
If you happen to have a Krak Clan Ironworks out, you could sacrifice the targeted Myr token for 2 and the Echoing Truth would fizzle. Right?
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 1216
Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!
|
 |
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2004, 12:25:00 am » |
|
If you happen to have a Krak Clan Ironworks out, you could sacrifice the targeted Myr token for 2 and the Echoing Truth would fizzle. Right? Yes. It would be countered on resolution as its only target is illegal.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
   
Posts: 2297
King of the Jews!
|
 |
« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2004, 05:33:09 pm » |
|
"The only way to get a card without a name is to have it be face-down (either a creature via morph/illusionary mask, or RFG facedown via Memory Jar)."
Is the above statement correct?
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF---------------------- SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar ---------------------- noitcelfeRmaeT {Team Hindsight}
|
|
|
Lockdown
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 179
|
 |
« Reply #6 on: August 02, 2004, 08:16:30 pm » |
|
After a long hiatus, I return.... so Matt, is your question whether or not face-down creatures have no name, or is it whether or not that is the only way? In either case, I believe that statement is correct. Searching the entire comprehensive rules and card database for rulings concerning the term "no name", the result was Morph, Eradicate, and Illusionary Mask, Eradicate only because of the little sidenote Eradicate
Color= Black Type= Sorcery Cost= 2BB UD(U) Text (UD+errata): Remove target nonblack creature from the game. Search its controller's graveyard, hand, and library for all cards with the same name as that creature and remove them from the game. That player then shuffles his or her library. [Oracle 2000/02/01]
A face down creature has no name, so you search for cards that also have no name. Since all cards in the graveyard, hand, and library have names, this is an unmeetable condition and the spell won't do anything other than remove the targeted creature from the game. [D'Angelo 2002/10/15]
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
You have the right to say what you wish, and I have the right to deny it.
|
|
|
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 1216
Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!
|
 |
« Reply #7 on: August 02, 2004, 08:21:44 pm » |
|
I wouldn't count face-down cards in the RFG zone as having no name. It's just hidden information.
The only thing that technically has no name is a face-down permanent.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 593
|
 |
« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2004, 03:08:29 pm » |
|
As a result, wouldn't eradicate remove all face-down critters, since they are all nameless?
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood... as fast as this.
|
|
|
|
riggy
|
 |
« Reply #9 on: August 03, 2004, 03:11:48 pm » |
|
From Crystalkeep and a search for Eradicate:
A face down creature has no name, so you search for cards that also have no name. Since all cards in the graveyard, hand, and library have names, this is an unmeetable condition and the spell won't do anything other than remove the targeted creature from the game. [D'Angelo 2002/10/15]
EDIT: Also, Eradicate doesn't do anything to other creatures that are already in play. It only targets the one creature and then searches the hand, graveyard, and library.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
brianb
|
 |
« Reply #10 on: August 03, 2004, 03:35:56 pm » |
|
Nameless creatures don't have the same name as one another, just as colorless creatures don't have a common color.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 593
|
 |
« Reply #11 on: August 03, 2004, 03:53:13 pm » |
|
EDIT: Also, Eradicate doesn't do anything to other creatures that are already in play. It only targets the one creature and then searches the hand, graveyard, and library. Oops, my bad...
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood... as fast as this.
|
|
|
|