TheManaDrain.com
December 29, 2025, 12:22:38 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Tendrils of Agony at 1 life and Misdirection  (Read 3425 times)
LotusHead
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2785


Team Vacaville


View Profile
« on: August 02, 2004, 12:18:47 am »

My opponent was at 1 life due to card drawing via Bargain.

He goes off for a lot with his Tendrils of Agony, but I happen to have 2 Misdirections + 2 blue cards in hand.

When I misdirect his Tendrils, I am sure that I can make it so the Misdirected copies hit him first.  The question is, will that kill him?  Does he lose life and gain life at the same time?

A level 1 judge said something about state based effects (namely checking to see if a player is alive or not: I was not convinced one way or the other), but we have TMD users and a level 2 judge! What say ye?
Logged

Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2004, 12:27:19 am »

We actually have a few level 2 judges.

However, the judge you spoke with was correct.

During Resolution of Tendrils, he loses 2 life, going to -1.  Then gains 2.  Going to 1 again.

State-based effects are checked before a player receives priority.  They won't be checked again until the entire effect of the Tendril's resolves.  So, he can go below one life, just as long as he is back above life before state-based effects are checked.
Logged
LotusHead
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2785


Team Vacaville


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2004, 12:58:12 am »

So if my opponent had 1 life, and say, cast Healing Salve (to gain 3 life) and I responded with a Shock (to do 2 damage to him), would he live or die? This case has two different spells resolving from the stack, even if it is low-tech.
Logged

goober
Basic User
**
Posts: 264


Goobady
View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2004, 01:09:59 am »

He dies, you recieve priority in the middle, which is when the state based of him being at -1 kills him.
Logged

Team Grosse Manschaft
DEA
Basic User
**
Posts: 384



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2004, 01:39:32 am »

you don't get priority "in the middle"
you get priority after he plays healing salve
at that point he still has one life, and a shock will resolve before the healing salve, bringing him to -1 and he will lose the game due to SBE
don't mix this up with things like corrupt, drain life, consume spirit etc which bring the guy down to -ve life if misdirected
the opponent will not lose the game because SBEs are not checked during the resolution of a spell/effect, but only after, just before anyone would receive priority
Logged

i need red mana
LotusHead
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2785


Team Vacaville


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2004, 01:51:33 am »

So Tendrils of Agony, Ebony Charm and such spells would not (given Misdirection) kill said opponent because the Life Loss and Life Gain happen during the resolution of that particular spell on the stack?
Logged

goober
Basic User
**
Posts: 264


Goobady
View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: August 02, 2004, 02:16:11 am »

Quote
you don't get priority "in the middle"


I meant in the middle of healing salve and shock, which is correct.  After Shock resolves there is a new bout of APNAP then Salve would resolve, if he wasn't dead.
Logged

Team Grosse Manschaft
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 02, 2004, 08:12:57 am »

Quote from: LotusHead
So Tendrils of Agony, Ebony Charm and such spells would not (given Misdirection) kill said opponent because the Life Loss and Life Gain happen during the resolution of that particular spell on the stack?


Correct.

This is the same thing as a Maro surviving during a Draw 7 effect.
Logged
Toad
Crazy Frenchman
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2152


112347045 yoshipd@hotmail.com toadtmd
View Profile
« Reply #8 on: August 02, 2004, 09:21:21 am »

Quote from: Jebus
This is the same thing as a Maro surviving during a Draw 7 effect.


Heeeeey I was going to add that too :<
I'm pretty sure this was a question included in some Delphi test Smile

Emperor Crocodile and Veiled Crocodile? Very Happy
Logged
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #9 on: August 02, 2004, 09:26:21 am »

Quote from: Toad
Emperor Crocodile and Veiled Crocodile? Very Happy


I don't get what you are referring to or asking? Razz
Logged
ProZachar
Basic User
**
Posts: 73


View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: August 02, 2004, 11:42:29 am »

I think he's referring to the fact that, unlike state based effects, triggered abilities are always on the prowl for their trigger condition to occur.
Logged
brianb
Basic User
**
Posts: 73


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: August 03, 2004, 03:28:34 pm »

He's referring to the fact that although Maro survives the wheel of fortune, an endangered armadon (alongside the Maro) would die (and the veiled crocodile wakes up).  Triggered effects can trigger even mid-resolution when state-based effects aren't looking.
Logged
orgcandman
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 552


Providence protects children and idiots

orgcandman
View Profile WWW
« Reply #12 on: August 05, 2004, 11:08:03 am »

Quote from: LotusHead
When I misdirect his Tendrils, I am sure that I can make it so the Misdirected copies hit him first.

Perhaps I'm wrong and perhaps I should start a new thread, but I was under the impression that the copies had new targets chosen for them, and in that case, you can't ever really "misdirect" the full tendrils combo. you can misdirect different instances, but the controller of the storm ability gets to control (after storm resolves creating the copies) the new targets. Am I wrong on this?
Logged

Ball and Chain
Quote from: jdizzle
Congrats to the winners, but as we all know, everyone who went to this tournament was a winner
Quote from: iamfishman
Just to clarify...people name Aaron are amazing
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #13 on: August 05, 2004, 11:19:51 am »

The caster of the storm spell can choose new targets for the copies, but you can then use misdirection to retarget one of those copies (or more, if you have multiple mis-d's).
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
Seifyk
Basic User
**
Posts: 27


seiyfk@hotmail.com m4styler
View Profile
« Reply #14 on: August 06, 2004, 09:32:40 am »

Wait a minute. According to 502.30a in the comprehensive rules.
"502.30a Storm is a triggered ability that functions while the spell is on the stack. "Storm" means "When you play this spell, put a copy of it onto the stack for each other spell that was played before it this turn. If the spell has any targets, you may choose new targets for any number of the copies."

Each copy is a spell on the stack separately. So priority passes in between each resolution of the copies. So a misdirection of the first one would put him at -1, priority passes, game ends due to state based effect.
Logged

01010010010001010101001101010 10001010010010010010100001101 010100
01000100010000010101001001001 011
01010010010010010101010001010 1010100000101001100
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #15 on: August 06, 2004, 09:34:15 am »

Quote from: Seifyk
Wait a minute. According to 502.30a in the comprehensive rules.
"502.30a Storm is a triggered ability that functions while the spell is on the stack. "Storm" means "When you play this spell, put a copy of it onto the stack for each other spell that was played before it this turn. If the spell has any targets, you may choose new targets for any number of the copies."

Each copy is a spell on the stack separately. So priority passes in between each resolution of the copies. So a misdirection of the first one would put him at -1, priority passes, game ends due to state based effect.


Errr...no.

Yes indeed each is a seperate copy.  No one is disputing that.

However, each copy has you lose 2 life and gain 2 life during their resolution.

You won't be at -1 when state-based effects are checked.
Logged
Seifyk
Basic User
**
Posts: 27


seiyfk@hotmail.com m4styler
View Profile
« Reply #16 on: August 06, 2004, 09:45:45 am »

Embarassed meh.. would help if I read the card, eh?
Logged

01010010010001010101001101010 10001010010010010010100001101 010100
01000100010000010101001001001 011
01010010010010010101010001010 1010100000101001100
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.041 seconds with 16 queries.