TheManaDrain.com
October 23, 2025, 03:44:54 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: newb question about the dragon combo  (Read 2436 times)
bdg4life
Basic User
**
Posts: 92


georgegoanos@hotmail.com bdg4life bdg4life
View Profile
« on: September 15, 2004, 11:07:46 pm »

Hello,
 I am new to T1, and have a question about stopping the dragon combo.
I know when the animate dead targets the dragon, and the dragon comes back into play, all perms are removed from the game, and the animate spell is removed, thus sending the dragon back to the grave. My question is how would you be able to stop this? If i have a BEB in hand and zap the dragon as he comes into play, would his permanents stay removed or would they come back?
Logged

ARSENAL
Savannah, GA Chapter
THE Vintage Powerhouse of the South.
pox_reborn
Basic User
**
Posts: 111



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2004, 11:34:20 pm »

Think of it like this:

Dragon comes into play on stack
use swords to plowshares on dragon

This then puts leaves play ability on top of comes into play ability.
Leaves play returns nothing.
And then comes into play ability resolves removing all the permanents of the sad little dragon player.

Any creature destruction or things like stifle will stop the combo and remove all of their permanents.
Logged

In Soviet Russia, name for Gorilla Shaman thinks of you!- kl0wn

current deck: Doomsday
Working on: stax builds

There is no i in team but there is an m-e.
everythingitouchdies
Guest
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2004, 03:47:56 am »

Be sure you stifle the right ability... I have had people stifle the come into play ability and I have 7/7 flyer and dont lose my permenants.
Logged
Swordsman
Basic User
**
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2004, 08:13:34 am »

Quote from: pox_reborn
Think of it like this:

Dragon comes into play on stack
use swords to plowshares on dragon

This then puts leaves play ability on top of comes into play ability.
Leaves play returns nothing.
And then comes into play ability resolves removing all the permanents of the sad little dragon player.

Any creature destruction or things like stifle will stop the combo and remove all of their permanents.


So your Swording when it comes into play before the other abilities go on stack? So the Swords resolves last?
Logged
Binary
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 63


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2004, 09:36:27 am »

Quote from: Swordsman
Quote from: pox_reborn
Think of it like this:

Dragon comes into play on stack
use swords to plowshares on dragon

This then puts leaves play ability on top of comes into play ability.
Leaves play returns nothing.
And then comes into play ability resolves removing all the permanents of the sad little dragon player.

Any creature destruction or things like stifle will stop the combo and remove all of their permanents.


So your Swording when it comes into play before the other abilities go on stack? So the Swords resolves last?


No.

You cast Swords to Plowshares after the Dragon's CIP ability goes on the stack, but before it resolves.

This forces the Dragon's leaves play ability to go on the stack, and consequently resolve, before the CIP ability does.

So the leaves play ability resolves first, returning 0 permanents to play, then the CIP ability resolves removing all that player's permanents from the game.
Logged
pox_reborn
Basic User
**
Posts: 111



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2004, 05:02:32 pm »

Quote
Be sure you stifle the right ability... I have had people stifle the come into play ability and I have 7/7 flyer and dont lose my permenants.


Yeah your right.  For stifle it would go like this:

Dragon CIP resolves.
Dragon goes to graveyard because of animate trigger.
Dragon Leaves play trigger on stack.
Stifle Leaves play trigger
No permanents return.
Logged

In Soviet Russia, name for Gorilla Shaman thinks of you!- kl0wn

current deck: Doomsday
Working on: stax builds

There is no i in team but there is an m-e.
wonkey_donkey
Basic User
**
Posts: 382



View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2004, 05:21:27 pm »

Quote from: pox_reborn
Quote
Be sure you stifle the right ability... I have had people stifle the come into play ability and I have 7/7 flyer and dont lose my permenants.


Yeah your right.  For stifle it would go like this:

Dragon CIP resolves.
Dragon goes to graveyard because of animate trigger.
Dragon Leaves play trigger on stack.
Stifle Leaves play trigger
No permanents return.

Often better is to wait until they've floated all their mana, and then stifle the animate trigger on ambassador. Then they burn to death. However, if they've got a bazaar or (worse) compulsion in play, they may well be able to find a necromancy in time to respond by casting that, targeting the ambassador. So be careful with this.

Tom
Logged

The 10 Commandments? ~300 words.
The Declaration of Independence? ~1300 words.
The EU Regulations for Exporting Duck Eggs? ~26900 words.

A true cynic calls himself a realist.

Success is a matter of luck - ask any failure...
Kaiser von Hugal
Basic User
**
Posts: 119


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2004, 08:01:07 pm »

What happens when you naturalize/disenchant the animate dead?  I assume that when the dragon player casts animate dead and targets said dragon - that is when you naturalize the animate dead.  The CIP effects go on the stack once the dragon is targetted with animate dead and the naturalize removes the animate dead.   The CIP effect of the dragon coming into play removes his permanents from the game and naturalizing the animate dead puts his dragon in the graveyard.  Is this correct?  The reason I ask, is that I did this in a tournie and the judge ruled that the dragon remains in play and all of his other permanents are removed.  I'm wondering if I just didn't play naturalize in the right sequence of the stack.
Logged
Toad
Crazy Frenchman
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2152


112347045 yoshipd@hotmail.com toadtmd
View Profile
« Reply #8 on: September 17, 2004, 04:31:32 am »

When Animate Dead comes into play, if it's in play, it becomes an enchant creature. Put target creature card from a graveyard into play under your control enchanted by Animate Dead.
Enchanted creature gets -1/-0.
When Animate Dead leaves play, destroy enchanted creature. It can't be regenerated.


Opponent casts Animate Dead, which resolves and comes into play. He choses to target his WGD. If you Naturalize at that time, the Animate Dead leaves play, then its trigger resolves and WGD CIP. All the opponent's perms are RFG but the Dragon stays in play since as the Animate Dead is not in play, its LP ability wont be checked.

Correct moment to Naturalize the Animate Dead is to let its trigger resolve so the WGD CIP. Then Naturalize with the WGD trigger on the stack.

Edited for clarity, thanks Ephraim
Logged
Ephraim
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2938


The Casual Adept

LordZakath
View Profile
« Reply #9 on: September 17, 2004, 05:39:18 am »

Toaddy, I think there's a typo in your post that reduces clarity:

Quote
Opponent casts Animate Dead, which resolves and comes into play. He choses to target his WGD. If you Naturalize at that time, the Naturalize leaves play, then its trigger resolves and WGD CIP.


I think instead, the last sentence ought to be: If you Naturalize at that time, the Animate Dead leaves play...
Logged

Did you know that Red is the color or art and music and passion? Combine that with Green, the color of nature, spiritualism, and community and you get a hippie commune of drum circles, dreamcatchers, and recreational drug use. Let's see that win a Pro Tour.
Dante
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1415


Netdecking better than you since newsgroup days

wdicks23
View Profile
« Reply #10 on: September 17, 2004, 09:21:05 am »

Quote from: wonkey_donkey
Quote from: pox_reborn
Quote
Be sure you stifle the right ability... I have had people stifle the come into play ability and I have 7/7 flyer and dont lose my permenants.


Yeah your right.  For stifle it would go like this:

Dragon CIP resolves.
Dragon goes to graveyard because of animate trigger.
Dragon Leaves play trigger on stack.
Stifle Leaves play trigger
No permanents return.

Often better is to wait until they've floated all their mana, and then stifle the animate trigger on ambassador. Then they burn to death. However, if they've got a bazaar or (worse) compulsion in play, they may well be able to find a necromancy in time to respond by casting that, targeting the ambassador. So be careful with this.

Tom


Or if they have a second animate, or intuition, or tutor, they could get another animate spell.
Logged

Team Laptop

I hate people.  Yes, that includes you.
I'm bringing sexy back
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #11 on: September 17, 2004, 09:52:18 am »

Quote from: Toad
When Animate Dead comes into play, if it's in play, it becomes an enchant creature. Put target creature card from a graveyard into play under your control enchanted by Animate Dead.
Enchanted creature gets -1/-0.
When Animate Dead leaves play, destroy enchanted creature. It can't be regenerated.


Opponent casts Animate Dead, which resolves and comes into play. He choses to target his WGD. If you Naturalize at that time, the Animate Dead leaves play, then its trigger resolves and WGD CIP. All the opponent's perms are RFG but the Dragon stays in play since as the Animate Dead is not in play, its LP ability wont be checked.

Correct moment to Naturalize the Animate Dead is to let its trigger resolve so the WGD CIP. Then Naturalize with the WGD trigger on the stack.

Edited for clarity, thanks Ephraim

Toaddy, you're ignoring the "if it's in play" clause on animate dead. If you kill the animate before the dragon comes out, the animate's ability will NOT happen.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #12 on: September 17, 2004, 02:38:46 pm »

Jacob is right. For the animate to work, you need both the dragon and the animate dead in play for it to resolve. Just like you can fizzle a goblin welder's ability by removing either target from play, you can "fizzle" an animate dead by removing either the animate or the dragon. Remember that when you remove the dragon with a tormod's crypt or something, that the animate dead will remain in play as a normal enchantment. When the dragon player succeeds in triggering a new animate loop with a new animate effect, the dragon player can use the animate dead already in play to loot all graveyards for creatures and put them into play.

Edit: Removed typo.
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
c hurrle
Basic User
**
Posts: 16


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: September 23, 2004, 08:15:01 pm »

This entire discussion is why good Dragon decks run Xantid Swarm. If they run STP, they'd better have two. If they run Stifle or Naturalize/Disenchant, they're stuck. Protecting your combo is how combo wins games...

This discussion is about rules, not strategy
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.048 seconds with 19 queries.