TheManaDrain.com
December 29, 2025, 12:22:23 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Draw step is now in Upkeep?  (Read 1356 times)
willjcus
Basic User
**
Posts: 2

willjcus
View Profile Email
« on: October 06, 2004, 08:55:19 pm »

I have been told that the "Draw Step" is now part of your upkeep and all card saying "during your upkeep" are erattaed to say "at the begining of your upkeep." I was also told you can float mana from your upkeep to the end of your draw step because of this.  Does that mean you can use the 2 mana from a Thran Turbine to activate a Well of Knowlegde?
Logged
Dante
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1415


Netdecking better than you since newsgroup days

wdicks23
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2004, 11:07:49 pm »

From section 3 on Turn Structure:

300.3. When a phase ends (but not a step), any unused mana left in a player’s mana pool is lost. That player loses 1 life for each one mana lost this way. This is called mana burn. Note that mana burn is loss of life, not damage, so it can’t be prevented or altered by effects that affect damage. This game action doesn’t use the stack.

301. Beginning Phase
301.1. The beginning phase consists of three steps, in this order: untap, upkeep, and draw.


So yes, you can tap mana during your upkeep step and have it available during your draw step.  You would take mana burn at the end of the draw step, because it is the end of the beginning phase.

And yes, most cards now are errated to "At the beginning of your upkeep", which is a triggered ability that goes on the stack as the first thing during upkeep.

303. Upkeep Step

303.1. As the upkeep step begins, any abilities that trigger at the beginning of that upkeep step and any abilities that triggered during the turn’s untap step go on the stack. (See rule 410, “Handling Triggered Abilities.�) Then the active player gets priority and players may play spells and abilities.
Logged

Team Laptop

I hate people.  Yes, that includes you.
I'm bringing sexy back
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2004, 11:15:40 pm »

I'd like to add some futher clarification.

The Upkeep Step and Draw Step are two seperate steps.

However, they are part of the same Phase, the beginning Phase.  Since they are within the same phase, you can float mana from the Upkeep to the Draw step.

Most cards that said "During your upkeep" have received errata to make them triggered abilities with "at the beginning of your upkeep".

This is not always the case, so be sure to check the Oracle text for cards.

For example, Well of Knowledge was changed to an activated ability and is not a triggered ability.

You can use mana from the Turbine to activate your Well.
Logged
willjcus
Basic User
**
Posts: 2

willjcus
View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2004, 06:37:22 am »

fhqwhgads... by any chance  are you an admin on stonecutters militia?, sorry off subject. and thank you for all the info. Smile
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.03 seconds with 16 queries.