TheManaDrain.com
October 06, 2025, 02:02:55 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Rules quiz  (Read 26839 times)
Gabethebabe
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 693



View Profile
« on: October 19, 2004, 03:12:15 am »

EDIT: more rules quizzes below. Feel free to scroll down the thread and find more of them!

I see you guys like to take the Delphi test. How about a quiz with one specific problem?

Try this scenario:

Sam controls a Warped Devotion.

Frodo has a Squee, Joblin Nabob in his graveyard and he controls an Undiscovered Paradise, that he previously tapped for mana. He has got 0 cards in hand.

Here are the Oracle texts of the cards:

Warped Devotion
{2}{B}
Enchantment
Whenever a permanent is returned to a player's hand, that player discards a card from his or her hand.

Undiscovered Paradise
Land
T: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool. During the next untap step of Undiscovered Paradise's controller, as that player untaps his or her permanents, he or she returns Undiscovered Paradise to its owner's hand.

Squee, Joblin Nabob
{2}{R}
Creature -- Joblin Legend
1/1
If you don´t know what Squee does, press CTRL-ALT-DEL. At the beginning of your upkeep, if Squee, Joblin Nabob is in your graveyard, you may return Squee to your hand.


Now starts a new turn for Frodo. In the untap step the Undiscovered Paradise (UP) returns to Frodo´s hand. The Warped Devotion triggers. What happens now?

A. The Warped Devotion´s ability resolves before the ability of Squee triggers, so Frodo has to discard the UP

B. The ability of the Warped Devotion goes to the stack in the untap step, in the upkeep step the triggered ability of the Squee goes to the stack, Squee´s ability resolves first (FIFO), so Frodo can choose whether he wants to discard the Squee or the UP.

C. The abilities of the Squee and the UP go to the stack simultaneously, the ability of the UP will resolve first and Frodo will have to discard the UP.

D. The abilities of the Squee and the UP go to the stack simultaneously, Frodo may pick the order and he can arrange the Squee´s ability to resolve first and choose which card to discard.

What´s the correct response? Of course you should answer before reading the comments of the ppl.
Logged
Binary
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 63


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2004, 07:46:42 am »

(leaving a few appropriate line breaks for those who don't want to see the answer yet)






I believe the answer is C.

Quote
302.3. No player receives priority during the untap step, so no spells or abilities can be played or resolved. Any ability that triggers during this step will be held until the next time a player would receive priority, which is usually during the upkeep step. (See rule 303, "Upkeep Step.")


Quote
303.1. As the upkeep step begins, any abilities that trigger at the beginning of that upkeep step and any abilities that triggered during the turn's untap step go on the stack. (See rule 410, "Handling Triggered Abilities.") Then the active player gets priority and players may play spells and abilities.


Since the UP trigger is held "until the next time a player would receive priority," and that doesn't happen until beginning-of-upkeep abilities go on the stack, then the UP trigger is resolved first.
Logged
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2004, 08:19:45 am »

E:  None of the above.

No answer correctly describes the situation.

I'd like to see if some resourceful individual can figure out what is wrong.  Smile
Logged
goober
Basic User
**
Posts: 264


Goobady
View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2004, 09:13:32 am »

UP goes back during the untap, then WD waits until the upkeep to go on the stack.  Being the active player you decide which goes on the stack first, Squee or the WD. Then they resolve in that order and the upkeep ends.  So you can either choose between having just the UP or having both in hand when you discard.

Not sure, but it is my guess.
Logged

Team Grosse Manschaft
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2004, 09:32:26 am »

Quote from: goober
UP goes back during the untap, then WD waits until the upkeep to go on the stack.  Being the active player you decide which goes on the stack first, Squee or the WD. Then they resolve in that order and the upkeep ends.  So you can either choose between having just the UP or having both in hand when you discard.

Not sure, but it is my guess.


You made a little mistake. Smile
Logged
Razvan
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 772



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2004, 09:41:10 am »

Since both cards are returned to owner's hand (and it doesn't specify from play), won't the player have to discard twice, since there's 2 triggers?

So discard both?
Logged

Insult my mother, insult my sister, insult my girlfriend... but never ever use the words "restrict" and "Workshop" in the same sentence...
Malhavoc
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 394


Lich Overlord


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: October 19, 2004, 09:44:41 am »

By definition (214.3), a permanent is only a permanent when it is in the In Play Zone. So Warped Devotion won't trigger for Squee.
Logged

Tipo1: Everything about Vintage in Italy.
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: October 19, 2004, 10:17:17 am »

Goober is close. Remember APNAP? Warped devotion is controlled by an opponent, so the squee trigger is put on the stack first (active player), then non-active player stuff is stacked on top of that. So warped devotion resolves first, resulting in a discarded UP. After that, squee returns to the hand of Frodo.

PS: Nice flavour in the question Gabe Smile
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
Razvan
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 772



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: October 19, 2004, 10:39:10 am »

Good point Limbo. And Malhavoc.

I am a loser. Sad Razz
Logged

Insult my mother, insult my sister, insult my girlfriend... but never ever use the words "restrict" and "Workshop" in the same sentence...
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #9 on: October 19, 2004, 10:44:38 am »

Quote from: Limbo
Goober is close. Remember APNAP? Warped devotion is controlled by an opponent, so the squee trigger is put on the stack first (active player), then non-active player stuff is stacked on top of that. So warped devotion resolves first, resulting in a discarded UP. After that, squee returns to the hand of Frodo.

PS: Nice flavour in the question Gabe Smile


He caught Goober's mistake.  This is correct.
Logged
goober
Basic User
**
Posts: 264


Goobady
View Profile Email
« Reply #10 on: October 19, 2004, 10:53:55 am »

oops, i thought frodo had both.  nice catch limbo.
Logged

Team Grosse Manschaft
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: October 19, 2004, 12:39:17 pm »

These are cool. And educative. Lets come up with more of these (preferrably in flavour with fishes and furry animals in stealth planes Smile).
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
dandan
More Vintage than Adept
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1467


More Vintage than Adept


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #12 on: October 19, 2004, 04:15:32 pm »

Wow, I'm amazed anyone remembers that thread! I tried searching for it last month but I guess it got lost in the great crash. Shame. I feel Enchantress/Drop of Honey will never again be explained in more detail.
Logged

Playing bad cards since 1995
rvs
cybernetically enhanced
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2083


You can never have enough Fling!

morfling@chello.nl MoreFling1983NL
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #13 on: October 19, 2004, 04:17:02 pm »

Quote from: dandan
Wow, I'm amazed anyone remembers that thread! I tried searching for it last month but I guess it got lost in the great crash. Shame. I feel Enchantress/Drop of Honey will never again be explained in more detail.


Dr Sillyvan's quote page has it.
Logged

I can break chairs, therefore I am greater than you.

Team ISP: And as a finishing touch, god created The Dutch!
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: October 19, 2004, 05:08:42 pm »

Fishes and furry animals in a stealth plane.

Best...Explanation...Ever
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
Gabethebabe
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 693



View Profile
« Reply #15 on: October 20, 2004, 01:47:03 am »

Other scenario:

Paul Newman plays Lobotomy targeting Jack Nicholson. Jack Nicholson doesn´t like to be lobotomized (once is enough) so he plays Misdirection, removing some random blue card, changing the target of Lobotomy to Paul Newman.

Paul Newman has in his hand 2 Islands and 2 BESERK MURDOLONT. BESERK MURDOLONTs are Paul´s only win condition (you don´t need more, do you). There is also a BESERK MURDOLONT in the graveyard and a BESERK MURDOLONT in the library of Paul (part of the game plan, Paul is running a techy Reanimate-MURDOLONT deck)

How many (and which) BESERK MURDOLONTs are going to be removed from the game?

BESERK MURDOLONT
If you don´t know what BESERK MURDOLONT does, please leave this site and do not annoy us with your ignorance.

Misdirection
{3}{U}{U}
Instant
You may remove a blue card in your hand from the game rather than pay Misdirection's mana cost.
Change the target of target spell with a single target.

Lobotomy
{2}{U}{B}
Sorcery
Target player reveals his or her hand, then you choose a card other than a basic land card from it. Search that player's graveyard, hand, and library for all cards with the same name as the chosen card and remove them from the game. Then that player shuffles his or her library.
Logged
Malhavoc
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 394


Lich Overlord


View Profile WWW
« Reply #16 on: October 20, 2004, 02:29:08 am »

It seems just to easy, so I think I'm missing something... but I would say that Paul has the option to not find the MURLODONT in his deck, while he is instead forced to remove from the game all the others. This is because players looking for cards in places (like the libraries) which are not revealed to all players have the option to not find something if they want to. This is just a rule made to avoid calling the judge everytime to be sure that particular cards aren't really in the deck: the player has the option to not find them, and being not forced to find them no judge is needed to be sure he hasn't broken any rule.
Logged

Tipo1: Everything about Vintage in Italy.
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #17 on: October 20, 2004, 01:19:43 pm »

Since you search (optional) grave, hand, and library, Paul can remove just the one murlodont he's forced to choose (not optional) with lobotomy. If he wants, he can remove any of the others, but he doesn't have to.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #18 on: October 20, 2004, 02:34:49 pm »

Malhavoc is correct.

All must be removed from any revealed zones.  This includes the hand and graveyard in this case.  The Murlodant in the Library is the only one that is not required to be found.
Logged
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #19 on: October 20, 2004, 04:28:56 pm »

There is one flaw in the explanation. Only few people know this (even some level 4 judges are kept in the dark about this), but the Beserk Murdolont has a secret ability that prevents it from being removed from the game.

WARNING << DONT TRY THIS AT HOME >> WARNING
In order to find this rules text, you need to watch at the card using Ultra-Violet light in a dark room.
If you try doing this without the appropriate safety precautions the Murlodont will arise from the card as a living creature and go beserk on your ass!!!1!one

Only members of the secret society "Masters of the Murlodont" are informed about these special secret powers (yes, I mentioned powers in plural form). I must warn you though, becoming a member of this society is not something that is available to the weak of mind or heart. Also, finding these secret powers is no easy task. Some searches will involve using Trogdor blood, among others.

Hoping to have informed you sufficiently about the correct use of Beserk Murlodont you all receive greetings from :

Limbo, the Murlodont Master
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
Gandalf_The_White_1
Basic User
**
Posts: 606



View Profile
« Reply #20 on: October 20, 2004, 04:46:30 pm »

Not to hijack Gabe's thread, but I have a rules quiz also:

Player A= D4RGON
Player B= PATRIARCH"S BIDDING REANIMATOR (can also be living death, bartuch the bloody, w/e)

Player A has 3 WGD in his grave yard and calls the creature type dragon when the bidding resolves.  What happens to the dragons and player A's permenents as the dragons trigger their RFG effects?  List the progression of the stack with the original 3 dragons in play down to the end result(hint: lable dragons 1,2,3 or A,B,C or something).  This took me a bit of thinking due to all of the triggers to keep track of, even though it is just basic LIFO.

Edit: If you give up or want to double check your answer you can look it up on SCG Wink.
Logged

Quote from: The Atog Lord link
We have rather cyclic discussion, and I fully believe that someone so inclined could create a rather accurate computer program which could do a fine job impersonating any of us.
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #21 on: October 20, 2004, 06:55:39 pm »

That shouldn't be too hard. Lets build the stack in the beginning:

Last
CIP Dragon A
CIP Dragon B
CIP Dragon C
First

CIP Dragon A resolves, resulting in removing dragon B+C, with dragon A on the board:

Last
Leave Play Dragon B
Leave Play Dragon C
CIP Dragon B
CIP Dragon C
First

The last 2 triggers don't do anything, as they haven't removed stuff yet, so the first thing to actually do something, is the CIP from dragon B, resulting in removal of dragon A:

Last
Leave Play Dragon A
CIP Dragon C
First

Dragon A leaving play results in Dragon B + C returning, which yields:

Last
CIP Dragon B or C
CIP Dragon C or B
CIP Dragon C
First

At this moment, dragon A is permanently removed, as it was removed by a dragon that already left play before it removed A. Next this will happen:

Last
Leave play Dragon C
CIP Dragon C
CIP Dragon C
First

Dragon B now removes dragon C from the game. The leave play on top does nothing, and now CIP dragon C resolves, removing dragon B, returning dragon C. Dragon B now is permanently removed from the game as well.

The CIP from Dragon C removes nothing, so in the end, Dragon C removes itself with his first trigger Smile
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #22 on: October 20, 2004, 07:05:17 pm »

Edit: he added the correct ending.

Except Dragon A is gone forever. You need to finish the loop:

Last
CIP Dragon B or C
CIP Dragon C or B
CIP Dragon C*
First

CIP Dragon B resolves:

Last
Leaves Play Dragon C
CIP Dragon C
CIP Dragon C*
First

Leaves Play resolves with no effect. CIP for Dragon C resolves, removing B:

Last
Leaves Play Dragon B
CIP Dragon C*
First

Leaves play for B resolves, returning C.

Last
CIP Dragon C
CIP Dragon C*
First

The first CIP resolves, removing all other permanents. Then the second resolves, removing Dragon C (since it left play and is thus not the same card as the one triggering the ability).

There is no loop.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
Gabethebabe
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 693



View Profile
« Reply #23 on: October 21, 2004, 12:57:25 am »

OK, another one.

Bush has an untapped Island in play and no creatures. He has a Morphling and a Grizzly Bears in his graveyard.

Kerry has Blastoderm, Scragnoth and Clone in his graveyard and Serra Angel in play.

Kerry plays Living Death. After it has resolved and the next player gets priority to play spells, where is the Clone and if it is in play, what are its possible shapes?

Living Death
{3}{B}{B}
Sorcery
Each player removes all creature cards in his or her graveyard from the game, then sacrifices all creatures he or she controls, then puts into play all cards he or she removed this way.

Clone
{3}{U}
Creature -- Clone
0/0
As Clone comes into play, you may choose a creature in play. If you do, Clone comes into play as a copy of that creature.

Blastoderm, Serra Angel, Grizzly Bears, Morphling
Yeah right.


I hope the thread will not be closed for political content Smile
Logged
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #24 on: October 21, 2004, 03:38:27 am »

The two most important things here are:

Quote
Clone is not a targeted creature spell.


Quote
Both players remove their creature cards at once. Then both players sacrifice all creature they control at once. Then both players put all creatures they removed into play. If there are any choices involved for a given step, the current player makes their choices first, then the other player, and finally you do the action all at once.


So what happens considering clone, is that the serra angel leaves play before the other creatures enter play, so it can't be chosen as a copy. Since the clone ability is not targeted, Kerry can pick one of these: Morphling, Grizzly Bears, Blastoderm, Scragnoth and Clone (yes, the clone can pick itself, but then it comes into play as a clone, and tries to clone again). With a vesuvan doppelganger this would be the same. However, the doppelganger copy ability at the start of each turn is targeted, so it can't become a scragnoth, blastoderm or morphling (provided it becomes untargetable) then.
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
Tristal
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 233


Knocks you all down


View Profile
« Reply #25 on: October 21, 2004, 08:07:06 am »

I believe the Clone must come in as a 0/0, as no creatures are in play when you must make its copy decision.  The Clone then stabs itself in the eye and dies.
Logged

No longer a DCI Level 1 Judge.  Just a guy who likes rules knowledge.
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #26 on: October 21, 2004, 08:18:57 am »

Quote from: Tristal
I believe the Clone must come in as a 0/0, as no creatures are in play when you must make its copy decision.  The Clone then stabs itself in the eye and dies.


Nope, this is the same as casting replenish with opalescense and pandemonium in the yard. In that case pandemonium and opalescense enter at the same time, so the pandemonium will trigger on itself to deal damage. In this case, all creatures enter play at the same time, so all creatures entering play are legal targets for the clone.
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #27 on: October 21, 2004, 08:19:07 am »

Quote from: Tristal
I believe the Clone must come in as a 0/0, as no creatures are in play when you must make its copy decision.  The Clone then stabs itself in the eye and dies.


This is the correct answer.
Logged
Gandalf_The_White_1
Basic User
**
Posts: 606



View Profile
« Reply #28 on: October 21, 2004, 08:44:34 am »

I beilive the key word is "AS" in determing this conclusion.  It's not a trigger that happens after it enters play, so there are no legal targets at the time when you must choose.  Poor clone Sad.

Edit: Limbo: Did you notice that Tristal's sig says  dci lvl 1 judge Wink?
Logged

Quote from: The Atog Lord link
We have rather cyclic discussion, and I fully believe that someone so inclined could create a rather accurate computer program which could do a fine job impersonating any of us.
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #29 on: October 21, 2004, 09:10:50 am »

Quote from: Gandalf_The_White_1
I beilive the key word is "AS" in determing this conclusion.  It's not a trigger that happens after it enters play, so there are no legal targets at the time when you must choose.  Poor clone Sad.

Edit: Limbo: Did you notice that Tristal's sig says  dci lvl 1 judge Wink?


Hmm, I missed the "AS", as most of those abilities start with "When", which would make it a triggered ability. In this case, it indeed is no triggered ability, so my remark about being able to clone clone can be regarded as not being written, and Tristal is indeed right.

And yes, I noticed that his sig says level 1 judge, but that is not a 100% guarantee for a correct answer. Not too say I don't trust him as a judge, just saying judges aint God (at least most of them aren't).
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.043 seconds with 18 queries.