GerryMander
|
 |
« on: November 16, 2004, 10:22:32 am » |
|
NAME   Enchantment Each players hand size is reduced to two. At the beginning of each player's upkeep, that player draws X cards, where X is the number of cards in his or her hand. If a spell or ability other than NAME would cause you to draw a card, skip that draw instead. The most that you should be able to draw off this is two. Nothing too broken about that! CURRENT WORDING:Curbed Prowess 2U Enchantment Your hand size is reduced to two. At the beginning of your upkeep, draw X cards, where X is the number of cards in your hand. If a spell or ability not named Curbed Prowess would cause you to draw a card, skip that draw instead.CHANGES:-name and rules
|
|
|
Logged
|
Panoptic Mirror [Imprint Time Stop] + Donate + Mindslaver = Time Walk
|
|
|
Malhavoc
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 394
Lich Overlord
|
 |
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2004, 10:25:15 am » |
|
What if two of these are in play? They would prevent each other from working the way they are intended, or am I wrong?
|
|
|
Logged
|
Tipo1: Everything about Vintage in Italy.
|
|
|
GerryMander
|
 |
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2004, 10:30:15 am » |
|
Maybe. I am not completly godly with Magic rules like how I used to be, but I think that since it refers to a card with the name NAME, it may refer to all instances of NAME in play. It might also refer to itself as NAME and only allow the NAME that is itself to work and prevent all other NAMEs from working.
Either way, I like it.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Panoptic Mirror [Imprint Time Stop] + Donate + Mindslaver = Time Walk
|
|
|
Ephraim
|
 |
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2004, 11:18:40 am » |
|
If a card just says, "If ~name~ would <do something>", then it refers only to itself. If you want to ensure that multiple copies won't prevent each other from working, it would need to be worded differently. Something like, "If a spell or ability except from a card named ~name~ would cause you to draw a card, skip that draw instead."
|
|
|
Logged
|
Did you know that Red is the color or art and music and passion? Combine that with Green, the color of nature, spiritualism, and community and you get a hippie commune of drum circles, dreamcatchers, and recreational drug use. Let's see that win a Pro Tour.
|
|
|
walkingdude
|
 |
« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2004, 11:21:17 am » |
|
NAME as a place holder only refers to the card its on. The phrase "Cards named XNamehere" refer to all cards with that name. See evil eye of orms by gore. With two in play and current wording neither would work.
Also, you could draw more then 2 with this if you used other card draw end of opponents turn.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Team 10111011: too 10100111001 for decimal
|
|
|
Norm4eva
|
 |
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2004, 02:34:32 pm » |
|
The only real issue I have is a template issue... The cards I recall that shrink hand size are the weird little Blue creatures from Odyssey - Thought Nibbler, Thought Courier, and Thought Devourer. They were all undercosted Blue flyers that said "Your maximum hand size is reduced by X." So probably in this instance it is preferable to use that idea when phrasing the card. Otherwise, interesting. @walkingdude: the card has a clause that prevents you from drawing off other means. So no one will be abusing this card with, say, Skeletal Scrying. You can't even cycle when CARDNAME is in play; or if you do you certainly don't draw any cards.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Upinthe
|
 |
« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2004, 02:43:09 pm » |
|
The most that you should be able to draw off this is two. Nothing too broken about that!
Except that you can force your opponent to discard most of his or her hand for 2U...
|
|
|
Logged
|
I know this won't happen in a tournament, but if my opponent has Chaos Orb in his hand while I'm controlling his turn from a Mindslaver, who flips the card if I force him to play it and activate it?
"When I saw the announcement of Temple Garden on wizards.com, I knew that I was going to be out of Type 2 for the next two years" - JDizzle
|
|
|
GerryMander
|
 |
« Reply #7 on: November 17, 2004, 02:56:41 pm » |
|
changes made.
24 hour clock
|
|
|
Logged
|
Panoptic Mirror [Imprint Time Stop] + Donate + Mindslaver = Time Walk
|
|
|
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Moderator
Basic User
    
Posts: 2297
King of the Jews!
|
 |
« Reply #8 on: November 17, 2004, 05:05:24 pm » |
|
Nope, too soon for a clock.
|
|
|
Logged
|
http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF---------------------- SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar ---------------------- noitcelfeRmaeT {Team Hindsight}
|
|
|
GerryMander
|
 |
« Reply #9 on: November 17, 2004, 05:08:37 pm » |
|
Oh, I thought this had been up for more than a day.
72 hour clock then...
|
|
|
Logged
|
Panoptic Mirror [Imprint Time Stop] + Donate + Mindslaver = Time Walk
|
|
|
dandan
More Vintage than Adept
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 1467
More Vintage than Adept
|
 |
« Reply #10 on: November 19, 2004, 05:01:41 am » |
|
Doesn't this mean that you could destroy an opponents hand on turn 2 and Hymn them into submission shortly after (no cards in hand = no more extra draws - meaning you outdraw them 3 to 1, every turn assuming a reasonable number of discard cards and an opponent who needs to play land before he is forced to discard it)?
I don't see this as a card drawer but Blue hand desctruction. Note that it is also a strong Threshold/Madness enabler.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Playing bad cards since 1995
|
|
|
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
    
Posts: 8074
When am I?
|
 |
« Reply #11 on: November 19, 2004, 03:43:11 pm » |
|
Yeah, this is too cheap to be reducing hand size like that.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Team Meandeck: O Lord, Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile. To those who slander me, let me give no heed. May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
|
|
|
GerryMander
|
 |
« Reply #12 on: November 22, 2004, 12:27:58 pm » |
|
what if the card drawing stayed symmetrical, but the hand reduction was only for you?
|
|
|
Logged
|
Panoptic Mirror [Imprint Time Stop] + Donate + Mindslaver = Time Walk
|
|
|
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
    
Posts: 8074
When am I?
|
 |
« Reply #13 on: November 22, 2004, 03:36:54 pm » |
|
What if everything about the card applied only to you? That would be more interesting.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Team Meandeck: O Lord, Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile. To those who slander me, let me give no heed. May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
|
|
|
corncob
Basic User
 
Posts: 65
I have acute Foot-in-Mouth disease.
|
 |
« Reply #14 on: November 29, 2004, 07:53:23 pm » |
|
The most that you should be able to draw off this is two. Nothing too broken about that!
Except that you can force your opponent to discard most of his or her hand for 2U... Yeah, but and as it's currently worded, that only happens after you let them double thier hand size and draw another card. At that point, it's just asking to get Natualized (or worse yet bounced, so you can have the luxury of letting them do it again). Mind you, all of this happens before you get to draw anything off it yourself, but after you've discarded your own hand.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
GerryMander
|
 |
« Reply #15 on: December 03, 2004, 09:14:36 am » |
|
ok, I am going to make it so this thing isn't symmetrical.
24 hour clock
|
|
|
Logged
|
Panoptic Mirror [Imprint Time Stop] + Donate + Mindslaver = Time Walk
|
|
|
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Moderator
Basic User
    
Posts: 2297
King of the Jews!
|
 |
« Reply #16 on: January 17, 2005, 11:13:42 am » |
|
Closed and added.[/color]
|
|
|
Logged
|
http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF---------------------- SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar ---------------------- noitcelfeRmaeT {Team Hindsight}
|
|
|
|