TheManaDrain.com
September 09, 2025, 10:59:14 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: More rules strife...  (Read 1601 times)
Upinthe
Basic User
**
Posts: 282



View Profile
« on: November 17, 2004, 02:08:27 pm »

1) Can I put a pebble on top of my deck to remind myself to pay the upkeep on Masticore?

2)
Quote
Q: How does Horobi, Death's Wail interact with the modular ability? I know the placement of the +1/+1 counters is optional, but is the targeting? --Tommy K.
A: Choosing a target for the ability is not optional even though putting counters onto something is. For example, let's say you opponent has oh… three Arcbound Ravagers. If you target one while Horobi is in play, when Horobi's trigger resolves, that Ravager will be sacrificed. Then that player will have to target one of his artifact creatures with the modular trigger [CR 410.4]. Once the target is chosen, Horobi triggers again, and the process continues. If the opponent had an Ornithopter or other non-modular artifact creature, they could stop the cycle of violence by targeting (and thus losing) the Ornithopter.


Does this mean that if my opponent sacrifices a modular creature that I am obligated to remind him or her that they have to target something with modular if they have some other artifact creature in play and they don't say anything?. If yes, then that's pretty stupid, since I will essentially be forced to remind them to move the counters, which is optional. I don't want to cheat, but I don't want to help my opponent strategically either. What's the deal?
Logged

I know this won't happen in a tournament, but if my opponent has Chaos Orb in his hand while I'm controlling his turn from a Mindslaver, who flips the card if I force him to play it and activate it?

"When I saw the announcement of Temple Garden on wizards.com, I knew that I was going to be out of Type 2 for the next two years" - JDizzle
rvs
cybernetically enhanced
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2083


You can never have enough Fling!

morfling@chello.nl MoreFling1983NL
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2004, 02:12:36 pm »

1)No.

2)In a strict rules sense, you are. HOWEVER, I could get away with the explenation that my opponent used a shortcut and apperently didn't want to move the counters, since it's not -must do-. However, when I play myself, I always remind my opponent of this, just because I'm a judge, and I want to be credible(sp?) when I'm not playing.
Logged

I can break chairs, therefore I am greater than you.

Team ISP: And as a finishing touch, god created The Dutch!
Nefarias
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 932


NefariasAndy
View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2004, 02:15:32 pm »

from the DCI Floor Rules

37.   Game Markers
Game markers, such as tokens or reminders of a game effect, may not be designated by cards with identical backs as the cards in a player’s deck if the deck is unsleeved. If the deck is sleeved, game markers may not have sleeve backs identical to those on the cards in the player’s deck.

No game markers of any kind may be placed on top of or in a location that obscures a player’s deck. A judge may disallow the use of game markers that may cause confusion with regard to the state of the game or that are inappropriate or offensive in some manner.

EDIT: rather, from the Universal Tournament Rules.
Logged

Team GG's

Quote from: Young Jeezy
This will be the realest shit you ever quote
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2004, 02:51:14 pm »

Regarding #2:

I see no problem with not reminding an opponent about targeting with Modular if there are no other mandatory effects present (such as Horobi).

If something like Horobi were in play, then indeed you should make sure the modular triggers are carried out properly since the game state is effected outside of just what Modular does.

However, if that is not the case, you don't need to remind them to use their optional abilities even though they always trigger.  This is similar to not reminding them of Disciple loss of life or drawing cards from effects like Compost.
Logged
Moxlotus
Teh Absolut Ballz
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2199


Where the fuck are my pants?

moxlotusgws
View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2004, 05:53:38 pm »

To add on to number 1.

Can i put a piece of paper(or anything really) in play that says "mana drain mana"  to remind myself that I drained something and get the mana?
Logged

Cybernations--a free nation building game.
http://www.cybernations.net
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2004, 06:11:58 pm »

Quote from: Moxlotus
To add on to number 1.

Can i put a piece of paper(or anything really) in play that says "mana drain mana"  to remind myself that I drained something and get the mana?


I'd file that under taking notes and say that's fine, as long as you aren't obstructing anything else.

I'd prefer you not put it in play (just make a note somewhere), but there is really nothing against it if you aren't causing a problem.
Logged
Mykeatog
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 265


Mykeatog
View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2004, 01:23:22 am »

An excellent way to remember you masticore is to put a penny on the back of your hand. That way if you try to draw a card it will fall off, and you will remember-- pay his upkeep.
Logged

Free Agent
BlkXplsn
Basic User
**
Posts: 76


Ethnic_Tortue@hotmail.com
View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2004, 08:57:24 am »

That is just crazy enough to work.
Logged

What part of 'why are you cutting part of the draw engine that makes the deck not suck like all the old goblin decks' are you not understanding? - Vegeta2711

*The artist formerly known as Black Explosion
theorigamist
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 348



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2004, 06:54:44 pm »

The penny idea makes more sense than the paper idea.  If you use a scrap of paper, you run the risk of leaving it lying around, and then thinking you have Mana Drain mana coming when you really don't.  The other thing I saw some guy do at a game next to me once was he put his Mana Drain sideways in his graveyard, and then put it back normally after he used the mana.
Logged

ORIGAMIZED!

Click here:  http://www.freeiPods.com/?r=13329548
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.04 seconds with 18 queries.