TheManaDrain.com
November 11, 2025, 12:52:44 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mindslaver Stacking  (Read 1830 times)
StarOrc
Basic User
**
Posts: 88


View Profile
« on: December 14, 2004, 02:35:20 am »

I was in a situation in a tournement this past weekend which brought up an interesting question about Mindslaver.

I cast my Mindslaver and my opponent... instead of letting them die responded by activating Slaver targeting me, once my Slaver resolve can I then activate Slaver targeting myself in order to steal my turn back?

This sounded resonable to me but I'm not sure...



Star
Logged
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2004, 02:49:01 am »

You can. It's like using Control Magic to steal a creature taken by their Control Magic. Except instead of fighting over control of a creature, you're fighting over control of your next turn. As always, the most recent control effect (in this case, your mindslaver) "wins".
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
Zelc
Basic User
**
Posts: 118


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2004, 08:20:47 pm »

EDIT: Whoops Sad  I forgot you could target yourself with Mindslaver.

Now if you had targeted your opponent, you'd take control of your opponent's next turn, and then your opponent would take control of your next turn.
Logged

<Guo_Si> Hey, you know what sucks?
<TheXPhial> vaccuums
<Guo_Si> Hey, you know what sucks in a metaphorical sense?
<TheXPhial> black holes
<Guo_Si> Hey, you know what just isn't cool?
<TheXPhial> lava?
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2004, 08:57:50 pm »

Quote from: Zelc
Wait... I don't think so.  Mindslaver allows you to take control of target player's next turn.  Therefore, if both players resolve a Mindslaver effect, you'd take control of your opponent's next turn, and then your opponent would take control of your next turn.


Not if you target yourself.  Please read the question.
Logged
rvs
cybernetically enhanced
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2083


You can never have enough Fling!

morfling@chello.nl MoreFling1983NL
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2004, 03:22:49 am »

Quote from: Jebus
Quote from: Zelc
Wait... I don't think so.  Mindslaver allows you to take control of target player's next turn.  Therefore, if both players resolve a Mindslaver effect, you'd take control of your opponent's next turn, and then your opponent would take control of your next turn.


Not if you target yourself.  Please read the question.


After RTFM, RTFC we now get RTFQ. So good.
Logged

I can break chairs, therefore I am greater than you.

Team ISP: And as a finishing touch, god created The Dutch!
Smmenen
Guest
« Reply #5 on: December 15, 2004, 12:01:24 pm »

Mindslaver is a legendary artifact.  You can't have two in play at the same time.  So no you can't.

As soon as the other one is announced, they both die.
Logged
DEA
Basic User
**
Posts: 384



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2004, 01:37:13 pm »

why would it die upon announcement?
it hasn't even resolved yet
it works for tolarian because you can't respond to a land drop, but mindslaver, yes, because the mindslaver can be popped in response to the actual playing of another mindslaver
Logged

i need red mana
Aeneas
Basic User
**
Posts: 159


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: December 15, 2004, 04:20:03 pm »

The legend rule shouldn't apply until the second Mindslaver has resolved.  

The Legend Rule said:
Quote
420.5e If two or more permanents with the same name have the supertype legendary, all are put into their owners' graveyards.  This is called the "legend rule."  If only one of those permanents is legendary, this rule doesn't apply.


The second Mindslaver would have been a spell, and not a permanent, until it resolved.  At that point, if there are two legendary permanents in play with the name Mindslaver, they both go to their owners' graveyards as a state based effect.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.029 seconds with 18 queries.