TheManaDrain.com
September 27, 2025, 07:13:12 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Rack and Ruin resolution question  (Read 1473 times)
Jawman16
Basic User
**
Posts: 68


jawman16
View Profile
« on: January 08, 2005, 10:53:59 am »

I have 2 artifacts in play and a goblin welder as well.  My opponent cast Rack and Ruin targeting my two artifacts.  In response, I weld out one of them for another artifact in the yard.  Does the Rack and Ruin get countered since the original targets are no longer there?  Does it just kill the one artifact that is left?   Does it kill the one original target and the new artifact that was welded in?  Thanks for the help.
Logged
Toad
Crazy Frenchman
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2152


112347045 yoshipd@hotmail.com toadtmd
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2005, 11:15:52 am »

A spell is countered if all its targets are illegal upon resolution. If at least one target is still valid, you try to do as much as possible according to the original choices.

So in your example, the one artifact that is left is destroyed and nothing else happens.
Logged
Jawman16
Basic User
**
Posts: 68


jawman16
View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2005, 01:29:06 pm »

Thanks
Logged
Jawman16
Basic User
**
Posts: 68


jawman16
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2005, 11:41:14 pm »

Another question arose, in a recent game, about Rack and Ruin.  If there is only one artifact in play, can it be destroyed with Rack and Ruin?
Logged
Ephraim
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2938


The Casual Adept

LordZakath
View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2005, 11:46:30 pm »

No. Rack and Ruin demands two targets. If two targets are not available, it cannot be played.
Logged

Did you know that Red is the color or art and music and passion? Combine that with Green, the color of nature, spiritualism, and community and you get a hippie commune of drum circles, dreamcatchers, and recreational drug use. Let's see that win a Pro Tour.
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2005, 02:34:41 am »

Quote from: Jawman16
Another question arose, in a recent game, about Rack and Ruin.  If there is only one artifact in play, can it be destroyed with Rack and Ruin?


On the other hand, if there was a card like this:

Ruin And Rack
Destroy target artifact.
Destroy target artifact.

Then with the recent change in targeting rules it IS possible to destroy one artifact with Ruin and Rack. This change in rules was introduced because of the new splice ability in CHK.
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.037 seconds with 19 queries.