TheManaDrain.com
August 24, 2019, 11:13:22 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Failing At Waterbury (Jan 15/05) and Having Fun Doing It!  (Read 1260 times)
Mindstab_Thrull
Basic User

Squee must die!!

View Profile
« on: February 04, 2005, 10:07:59 am »

My Horrendous Waterbury Report
Or, How to Fail Miserably at Type 1 (And Somehow Still Enjoy Yourself!)

Alright, let's get one thing straight right here, right now - I have very little experience with Type 1, and in fact with tournament Magic at any level save Pre-Releases, where I am doomed to fail every time due to still not being quite sure how to build a good Limited deck (even though most of the decks I make, my brain keeps telling me, are good decks). It seems I can only do well when I steal someone else's deck ideas, as opposed to building my own creations. And that's a real shame, because I'd rather design my own deck instead of Netdecking. Oh well, I'll get my way through that part at some point. In the meantime.. on with the story.

Six am on Friday morning. I JUST finished my shift, go home and waste much time online trying to get hold of Peter aka dicemanxx to arrange for a ride from Toronto down to Waterbury, and we finally decide he'll pick me up downtown for 7.30 that night. I waste some more time - and keep in mind, I STILL have no clue what deck to play! Lay down at around 11, set my alarm for 3pm, figuring that'll give me enough time to get up, get myself ready and go. Given all the tournament reports I'd read, I figured the drive would be in a decent-sized van (he said he'd rented a van), and I could do deckbuilding and testing on the way down.