The ruling on cards with X in the casting cost is that while on the stack, X becomes the declared amount. But in cases such as Decree of Justice and Skeletal Scrying, I don't want to declare X until the spell resolves and then pump mana into it.
How does chalice effect this? If chalice is at 1, can I scry with the intent to pump mana into it? If chalice is at 3, can I cycle DoJ with the same intent?
Thanks in advance.
-WhiteMage05
First, cycling Decree of Justice and playing Skeletal Scrying are different beasts. Chalice has no effect on the soldier making part of DoJ, as Chalice only triggers on a player playing a spell. Cycling DoJ isn't playing a spell.
Now, when you play a spell with X in its mana cost, you must declare (and pay) X up front. You cannot pay B for Scrying, wait to see if it gets countered, and then try to pump more mana into it to draw cards. Everybody will know the value of X, and you will have paid BX, by the time you are done playing the spell.
Cycling Decree of Justice to make soliders follows diffferent rules. The solider making part of DoJ triggers off you cycling it. Triggered abilities are usually written "When/Whenever/At <time>, <effect>". When <time> occurs, the ability goes on the stack. The instructions that go on the stack are <effect>. So, with Decree of Justice:
When you cycle Decree of Justice, you may pay X. If you do, put X 1/1 white Soldier creature tokens into play.
<time> is "you cycle Decree of Justice" and <effect> is "you may pay X. If you do, put X 1/1 white Soldier creature tokens into play." That mana payment takes place when the triggered ability resolves. This is why you can (actually, you have to) wait to see if the ability will get Stifled before you put any mana into it.