TheManaDrain.com
November 15, 2025, 12:37:21 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Oracle text on tournament staples  (Read 5804 times)
ELD
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1462


Eric Dupuis

ericeld1980
View Profile
« on: March 12, 2005, 02:35:01 pm »

I am often harsh on players for not knowing the cards that they post about.  When you're online, you have access to oracle text, and should not be making any idiotic statements.  A tournament is different though.  It is not as obvious to check the oracle text, as you come across many differant decks, many with cards you may have never used yourself.

On many of the cards we use, the text is not correct.   I propose an exercise to inform the community.   I'd like to see others post tournament cards that differ from their oracle text to the actual text.  Here are some examples.  

Intuition and Oath of Druids do not target.  Though both cards are printed "target opponent," the oracle text says "an opponent."

Mana Vault does damage at the beggining of the draw step, not during the upkeep.

Mind Twist targets, though older versions do not say "target"

Time Walk does not target (Who could forget all the controversy about this one)

There are a few to start.  What are some others that have come up.
Logged

unrestrict: Freedom
jpmeyer
fancy having a go at it?
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2390


badplayermeyer
View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2005, 03:45:35 pm »

Vampiric Tutor is life loss on resolution, not announcement.
Logged

Team Meandeck: "As much as I am a clueless, credit-stealing, cheating homo I do think we would do well to consider the current stage of the Vintage community." -Smmenen
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2005, 05:12:54 pm »

Sundering Titan only destroys one land of each type. Way too many people get this card wrong and think it destroys all land of any one type, or can't target duals, or any number of wrong interpretations.

Goblin Welder's and Animate Dead's oracle texts are vastly different from their printed wordings. They won't even fit on the card anymore.
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
Tristal
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 233


Knocks you all down


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2005, 08:05:19 pm »

5th Edition Animate Dead isn't terribly far off from its Oracle wording compared to earlier versions.

I'd say Chains of Mephistopheles is a bit different, but it's confusing enough as it is.

Aside from Vampiric Tutor, Blood Moon is my pick.  The 8th Edition supertype changes made it so the affected lands remained non-basic, contrary to what the Dark version says.

EDIT: Oh God, I forgot about Lion's Eye Diamond.  That one's TERRIBLE.
Logged

No longer a DCI Level 1 Judge.  Just a guy who likes rules knowledge.
Aeneas
Basic User
**
Posts: 159


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2005, 12:36:35 am »

Much like Vampiric Tutor, the additional cost of skipping your next turn with Meditate is now part of the resolution.
Logged
Godder
Remington Steele
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 3264


"Steele here"

walfootrot@hotmail.com
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2005, 12:38:49 am »

Illusionary Mask Very Happy.
Logged

Quote from: Remington Steele
That's what I like about you, Laura - you're always willing to put my neck on the line.
ELD
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1462


Eric Dupuis

ericeld1980
View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2005, 12:02:36 am »

Yes, Vampiric Tutor and Blood Moon are exactly the kind of cards I'm talking about.  The subtle differance of the oracle text changes things considerably.
Logged

unrestrict: Freedom
TracerBullet
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 577


TracerBullet1000
View Profile Email
« Reply #7 on: March 14, 2005, 12:31:37 am »

Lion's Eye Diamond
Phyrexian Dreadnought
Tabernacle at Pendrell Vale (Destroy has been changed to Sacrifice)



Time was, The Rack and Black Vise were impossible to keep track of because of the changes in the Upkeep.  They're now errata'd back to the way they're supposed to work.


Can I just say I really miss Crystal Keep?
Logged

The room is on fire, and she's fixin' her hair...
Gabethebabe
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 693



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: March 14, 2005, 02:30:17 am »

Mana Drain.

Drain in your first main phase, means that you get mana in your second main phase, not in the first main phase of your next turn.
Logged
Ender
Basic User
**
Posts: 66



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: March 14, 2005, 09:54:48 am »

Oath of Druids (and the other cycle)
Its at the beginning of upkeep now and the check for the creatures is done before the ability goes on stack and after.

Mind Twist
All versions, aside from 4th ed, errataed to now target.

Ancrestral Recall
Targets player as well.
Logged

Fear the bunnies for they will rule the world one day. Unless George Bush is one of them then we may already be too late....

Protect this world and kill a bunny. The fluffy cute ones are the most dangerous kind.
Pern
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 196



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: March 14, 2005, 03:30:10 pm »

Gilded Drake's ability targets and can't be countered.
Logged

meh.
Upinthe
Basic User
**
Posts: 282



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: March 15, 2005, 09:49:15 am »

Drop of Honey targets the creature it is destroying
Oubliette phases the creature out.
.
Logged

I know this won't happen in a tournament, but if my opponent has Chaos Orb in his hand while I'm controlling his turn from a Mindslaver, who flips the card if I force him to play it and activate it?

"When I saw the announcement of Temple Garden on wizards.com, I knew that I was going to be out of Type 2 for the next two years" - JDizzle
Pern
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 196



View Profile
« Reply #12 on: March 16, 2005, 11:54:32 am »

Meddling Mage does not interact with Isochron Scepter,
since the Mage says the named card can't be played.

If you pop Chromatic Sphere or one of the Eggs during the casting of a spell,
you draw the card but don't get to look at it until the spell has been played.
It's technically in your hand but face down. Heh.
This is to keep you from backing out of playing the spell based on what you drew.
Logged

meh.
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: March 16, 2005, 12:06:36 pm »

Quote from: Pern
Meddling Mage does not interact with Isochron Scepter,
since the Mage says the named card can't be played.

If you pop Chromatic Sphere or one of the Eggs during the casting of a spell,
you draw the card but don't get to look at it until the spell has resolved.
It's technically in your hand but face down. Heh.
Particularly amusing if you're casting Brainstorm.

Wow, finally something I didn't know.
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #14 on: March 16, 2005, 12:18:54 pm »

Quote from: Pern

you draw the card but don't get to look at it until the spell has resolved.
It's technically in your hand but face down.


Actually, you look at it after the spell is played.  You don't have to wait for the spell to finish resolving.
Logged
epeeguy
Basic User
**
Posts: 240



View Profile
« Reply #15 on: March 16, 2005, 01:09:26 pm »

Quote from: Matt
Wow, finally something I didn't know.


This was only recently changed (March 2005 edition of the rules), and was made to match how MtGO handled it.  Before this, you could actually look at the card.

Another card that has been changed to work with the current rules: Mox Diamond.  The original wording of the card makes it appear as if you could use the Mox for mana and then just sacrifice it without discarding a land card.  The Oracle wording requires you to discard a land card as part of the cost of playing the Mox.
Logged

Level 2 Judge

It's the wood that should fear your hand, not the other way around. No wonder you can't do it, you acquiesce to defeat before you even begin. - Pai Mei

(Retired Poster)
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: March 16, 2005, 09:26:44 pm »

Quote from: epeeguy
Quote from: Matt
Wow, finally something I didn't know.


This was only recently changed (March 2005 edition of the rules), and was made to match how MtGO handled it.  Before this, you could actually look at the card.

Another card that has been changed to work with the current rules: Mox Diamond.  The original wording of the card makes it appear as if you could use the Mox for mana and then just sacrifice it without discarding a land card.  The Oracle wording requires you to discard a land card as part of the cost of playing the Mox.

That reminds me: all the Alliances' colored lands, plus Lotus Vale.

Also Phyrexian Dreadnaught. As printed you could Stifle it into play!
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
Ender
Basic User
**
Posts: 66



View Profile
« Reply #17 on: March 17, 2005, 10:57:33 pm »

Chalice for 4 counters the original copy of tendrils of agony but the storm trigger still is put on the stack.

Same goes with brain freeze, etc.
Logged

Fear the bunnies for they will rule the world one day. Unless George Bush is one of them then we may already be too late....

Protect this world and kill a bunny. The fluffy cute ones are the most dangerous kind.
Aeneas
Basic User
**
Posts: 159


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: March 17, 2005, 11:51:20 pm »

How can you activate Chromatic Sphere's ability in the middle of casting a spell?
Logged
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #19 on: March 17, 2005, 11:57:18 pm »

Quote from: Aeneas
How can you activate Chromatic Sphere's ability in the middle of casting a spell?

It's a mana ability, so you can use it when you're paying the costs for the spell.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
Aeneas
Basic User
**
Posts: 159


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: March 18, 2005, 02:45:46 pm »

Thanks for the clarification.
Logged
Pern
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 196



View Profile
« Reply #21 on: March 18, 2005, 04:58:10 pm »

Humility was finally reworded to make Humility/Opalescence simple.
The current Oracle wording is:

All creatures lose all abilities.
Humility gains "All creatures are 1/1."
Logged

meh.
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #22 on: March 18, 2005, 05:15:30 pm »

Since this has come up countless times:

Cloud of Faeries
1U
Creature -- Faerie
1/1. Flying
When Cloud of Faeries comes into play, if you played it from your hand, untap up to two lands.
Cycling 2 (2, Discard this card: Draw a card.)
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
virtual
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 203



View Profile
« Reply #23 on: March 18, 2005, 09:13:09 pm »

I know there was a thread on this topic a long time ago... but I'd like a small amount of clarification:

Quote

Aeneas wrote:
How can you activate Chromatic Sphere's ability in the middle of casting a spell?

It's a mana ability, so you can use it when you're paying the costs for the spell.


LED is a mana ability.  I think at the end of the last thread someone said that it can only be played as an instant, but I didn't see that on the errata on mtgpics...

A follow up.  can you play a lotus, cast frogmite, then sacrifice the lotus to pay for it?  (no other artifacts in play) I believe yes, based on the fact that cost is calculated first, then you get an opportunity to pay the cost, before the spell goes on the stack.  If LED's ability is played as an instant (as per the old thread), then why isn't lotuses....

-Virtual
Logged

Team White Lotus:  Out Producing U since 1995.

Anyone near LA who wants to play, TWL tests about once a week, send me a PM.
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #24 on: March 18, 2005, 09:20:38 pm »

If mtgpics doesn't have that errata, then it's wrong. Always check sites that have the current oracle wording (eg gatherer):
Quote
Lion's Eye Diamond
0
Artifact
Sacrifice Lion's Eye Diamond, Discard your hand: Add three mana of any one color to your mana pool. Play this ability only any time you could play an instant.

You are correct with your lotus example (the T2 version was using chrome sphere to both reduce the cost and provide the U for thoughtcast). However, because LED can only be played at instant speed, you cannot use it in the middle of announcing a spell.

Lotus is not played at instant speed because it does not say so on the card.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
Pern
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 196



View Profile
« Reply #25 on: March 21, 2005, 10:17:27 am »

You can find as few cards as you wish with Gifts Ungiven.
Logged

meh.
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #26 on: March 21, 2005, 10:21:29 am »

Gaea's Blessing triggers during the resolution of Oath of Druids, but doesn't go on the stack until Oath is finished.

You reveal the cards for Oath one at a time, but they don't actually go the the graveyard until you find a creature or run out of library--so you can put them in the grave in whatever order you like.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
Toad
Crazy Frenchman
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2152


112347045 yoshipd@hotmail.com toadtmd
View Profile
« Reply #27 on: March 21, 2005, 10:40:25 am »

Quote from: virtual
but I didn't see that on the errata on mtgpics...

[card]Lions Eye Diamond[/card]

Just drop me a PM when you find some serious text errors Smile
Logged
Sytupal
Basic User
**
Posts: 138


zXRaiNeyXz
View Profile Email
« Reply #28 on: March 24, 2005, 07:11:05 am »

Goblin Charbelcher

- Do you choose a target first or after the cards have been revealed?
Logged

Signature, Smignature, Isn't this where people should write there name illegibly?

Team CCC.

Minsc And Boo And You!.
Jujulautre
Basic User
**
Posts: 41

93579329
View Profile
« Reply #29 on: March 24, 2005, 08:04:33 am »

Quote from: Sytupal
Goblin Charbelcher

- Do you choose a target first or after the cards have been revealed?


When an ability specify a target, you ALWAYS choose the target(s) at the time you play the ability (or put it in the stack if it's a triggered)
Same as spells in fact...
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.053 seconds with 20 queries.